Find companies:
VT Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

VT Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Out for themselves
Provisioning Asset Analyst III (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALOctober 20, 2014
Pros: i made some good friends.
Cons: everything!
I worked with VT for over a year and I new the day I started that I should have never taken the job. They could have cared less about us as employees. They do not care about what you do for the company they just care about the check they get from the government. I thought it was going to be a great job but from management down there was childish behaviors. – more... A manager that will pick up your cell phone to browse through your personal information to a supervisor that will stab you in the back to make himself look good in managements' and the government's eyes. Never work for them. They only care about themselves. Tech Data Division / Blackhawk office. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A multitude of travel opportunity and diverse work force
Electrician III (Former Employee), Home office Jacksonville, FloridaSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: above average pay, excellent benefits
Cons: some jobs required lengthy stays away from home
Day-to-day operations were that similar to any mission success minded corporation. I could be installing fiber in WA one day, the next a Uninterruptible power source in Afghanistan. The management team worked diligently to find projects and assign essential personnel to that project. Most all of my former colleagues are hard workers, one-minded and – more... knowledgeable. Being away for long periods ( 6 months+) at times was the hardest part of this job. Some locations throughout the world offered difficult circumstances when trying to procure material. Interaction with people from our armed forces abroad and people of different cultures was the most enjoyable part. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Maintenance and Upgrade of Nurse (Current Employee), Honolulu, HIAugust 21, 2014
very busy place to work, but everyone is so hard working and fun to be with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ruthless job culture/terrible management
Tech III (Former Employee), Charleston SCMarch 28, 2014
Pros: money
Cons: management, culture, inexperienced workers
The company does not hire workers that meet the skill level required. The culture is ruthless due to the lack of experience, the workers blame each other for bad job performance and management blames the experienced techs on why it happened. Management is to quick to react without finding the facts, very stressful environment. Good money if you can – more... outlast the politics/management. They are more concerned with filling spaces than hiring quality workers and then the quality workers are pushed out due to ineffective management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work. Stay Away
Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Arlington, VAOctober 23, 2013
Pros: good medical benefits.
Cons: employees hard to deal with. dead end job
Management is very poor. Dead end job with annoying micro management. Does not give adequate training for new employees. One of the worst companies I have ever worked for. Leadership does not know what they are doing in terms of business growth and is a dead end job. I wouldn't even call the job a career. Co workers are hard to deal with. Stay away – more... at all cost. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Job
Temporary Contract Laborer/Helper (Former Employee), North Charleston, SCOctober 15, 2013
Fabricated custom cables and sorted hardware into bags for later use
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An intriguing experience for my first contractor job.
Labor Helper (Current Employee), North Charleston, SCAugust 1, 2013
Pros: consistent hours, ability to have 401k, interesting work environment
Cons: a bit of a rough environment, as there are ex-military working there
As a basic labor position, it really is perfect to be able to get used to the general workflow as a contractor. The job interview process was pretty painless for the most part.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VT Group
Awards Coordinator, PEO Ships Front Office (Current Employee), Arlington, VAJuly 22, 2013
The company was sold and bought 3-4 times in the 3 years that I worked there. Each time it was purchased a new executive management team came in to replace the last one. The talk was big, the action was not. Fairly disorganized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Accounting Clerk II (Former Employee), Fort Sill, OKJuly 16, 2013
Management is very easy to work with. Great co-workers. Customer service is a priority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor for the Defense Department
Senior Maintenance Manager (Former Employee), Rock Island, ILJuly 16, 2013
I worked for this company for approximately 1 year. They were a sub-contractor to the prime contractor (SAIC). SAIC assumed all poistions from VT Group. I would work for them again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead-end job no room for growth
general maintenance worker electrical shop (Former Employee), lawton, okJune 14, 2013
Pros: if you like sleeping on the job
Cons: everything
I worked at VT group at Lawton fortsill Oklahoma as a GMW for the electrical shop. The starting pay was 15 an hour and the next position was an alarm tech which required you to be in the GMW for three year to get 17 an hour. The people that work here tend to think they own the place and have been there for years and will not give up there slot so others – more... can move up. The manager is an incompetent retired service member. A lot of favoritism is shown amongst employee so there's no equal opportunity. My days of work consisted of riding with someone who would only like to sleep on the job I soon came to find out everyone would hide out in soldiers barracks to take there naps on company time. The company threatens to fire you for anything but I didn't really see much being done. As a service member looking for a career this not the place to be I only lasted two months. But if you need a job and make some easy cash give it a try other than that all the benefits are no good – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an okay job, but they elected not to hireme back this year. Job was seasonal.
Laborer (grounds) - seasonal (Former Employee), Ft Sill, OKMay 4, 2013
Mostly mowing,weedeating,edging,trimming trees and/or shrubs.Teamwork is very valuable. You have to be a team player or situations occur. I tried to take a job inside that was open and I have an Associate's dgree in Data Processing, but they told me they closed the job and then ended up giving it to someone else. The hardest part of this job was everyone – more... getting on the same page...just didnt happen. I like working outdoors and making something look good that makes you proud. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ownership uncertainities
Employee (Former Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: healthcare
Cons: lack of training & support
Since 2009, VT Milcom has been spun off 3 times too various companies; BVT/BAE, Babcock and now equity firm the Jordan Group. Massive turn overs and training nonexistent. Job security is not a sure thing at this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VT Group was a job at Virginia Beach inspecting arriving materal and cargo for damage. A positive experience working with this group of pros.
Logistics Technician II (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VADecember 28, 2012
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: working with military civilians with lazy work habits.
Enjoyed going to work with Civilian personnel at the VT Group in Virginia Beach. I was determined to show this group that a positive attitude did accomplish to make a good place to be. Learned to met the requirements of Government contracts without much supervision. The training was simple to do this job and they make it easy to learn quickly. Management – more... was good once they knew you could do your job well they only did walk throughs once every two weeks and checked the paper work to ensure all was in order. VT workers were much more professional than the civilian personnel working in the Navy Bases we had to coordinate with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a quality Assurance team member I helped improve the production of the various installs
Quality Assurance Technician (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAJune 30, 2012
Pros: flexible and independent schedule, direct access to management and information, friendly environment to work
Cons: more travel involved than i liked, lack of compensation for milage while driving personal vehicle for work
Usually I would be assigned inspect several installs on various navy ships. So one day I could visit 2 or more ships. I would meet with the task leaders, review their Installation Quality book and inspect various items based on the percentage the installation was at. From my management to my coworkers there was a very good communication to help complete – more... a job efficiently. The hardest part of my day sometimes would be gaining access to a military command after submitting all the proper paperwork. That is something out of my control. The most enjoyable part of my day is when I am actually out inspecting the jobs interacting with my coworkers and knowing that the jobs are progressing the way they should. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working conditions
Analyst IV (Former Employee), Hunstville ALFebruary 26, 2012
Overall, VT Group has outstanding management and offers a great benefit package.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ability to motivate staff in multi-cultural situations
HV Technician vt comms (Former Employee), Southampton, ENG falkland islands south atlantcMarch 6, 2014
Pros: bonus culture
Cons: bonus culture
set agenda and targets for the day

appoint appropriate skills to the outstanding job requirements

fallow through any ongoing issues-spares -labour etc

liase with client

liase with sub- contractors