VT Milcom Employee Reviews in United States

Found 32 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Electronic Technician (Former Employee) –  North Charleston, SCAugust 24, 2016
Work for them for many yrs until company got sold and the jobs started to dry up however the pay we great and we travel nine months out of the yrs. The owner started to lay off employees to save money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
suppy specialist (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAApril 18, 2016
government contracting which was great involved a lot of traveling. worked on military bases remolding offices and dorm rooms. learned how to read blue prints and build almost anything.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good employer
Electrician Technician (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAMarch 31, 2016
They do not want to pay for experienced electricians. They paid me 15.00/hr as a marine electrician and my experience requires more than that.
Pros
Traveling was an option
Cons
Low Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was in a state of mis-management at the top level
Network Administrator III (Former Employee) –  VirginiaMarch 17, 2016
Due to poor leadership and lack of training the Business Development team and project management team failed to win contracts from the US government.

Project managent failed to complete ANY contract on time thus causing massive cost over runs. This forced the company to close down 5 divisions laying off hundres of employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and safe work experience
Cable Installer 2 (Current Employee) –  Pensacola, FLFebruary 1, 2016
word can be difficult yet rewarding
steady work through out the year
learn and understand how the telecommunications infrastructure works bringing connections through out a business
co-workers are easy to get along with
Pros
paid training
Cons
healthcare plans are expensive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work and fun work place
Fire watch/Welder Helper (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLOctober 3, 2015
ive gained a lot of knowledge from vt employees . because of vt group team i know have a lot of experience that i will be able to carry with me through my journey and also learn more and grow through my career path.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work environment and exceptional training
Electronics Tech II (Current Employee) –  Charleston, SCOctober 2, 2015
After being assigned to a project you fill in a position within a team that will accomplish a given task. That task may be in Japan, or Alaska, or Italy. I learned I like to travel and work around the world. Most of my co-workers become friends. If ever you have any friction with a co-worker, the project usually is over in a matter of weeks and then you move on to another location, another project and another crew.
The best part is learning new skills that you never thought would be needed and using them repeatedly. It is not hard to move up if you desire.
Pros
Travel, new skills, new aquainteces
Cons
some locations are not the best, i.e. Afghansistan and government politics can affect the yearly work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vt milcom is a good place to work
ET 2 (Current Employee) –  3185 Industry Drive North Chelston sc 29418September 16, 2015
I have worked for 21 years for them. Good fun work place all over the world travel, places like Japan, Kuwait, Diego Garcia. Work is getting slow.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job with lots of travel both nationwide and overseas
Telecommunications Tech 2 (Current Employee) –  Pensacola, FLMarch 16, 2015
it is a good company with many benefits lots of travel. management at the local level is not so good. Co workers are good to work with. Not much room for advancement
Pros
great benefits packages
Cons
frequent lay offs
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
personaly enjoyed my work
Electronics tech 2 (Current Employee) –  Charleston, SCJanuary 28, 2015
biggest down side is working with spawar. I enjoyed plenty of travel and generly a good work environment in shipyards and submarines. most of my work was in submarine radio rooms.
Pros
great benifits
Cons
slow advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, team work and very efficient tasks.
Welder i (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAJanuary 9, 2015
Overall great work environment and co-workers. A typical day at work would consist of a job briefing, material sheets, teamwork, reviewed blueprints, followed the blueprints, and built model tanks for the military to practice on. The hardest part was gathering the materials needed for the project. All in all it was a very laid back and comfortable work environment. The most enjoyable part of the job was working alongside my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Telecommunications Mechanic II (Former Employee) –  Middle EastJanuary 8, 2015
12 hr days, learned alot about OSP techniques, management was supportive, worked with a great group of people, hardest part was having the contract come to an end, most enjoyable, the whole experience in Afghanistan, Kuwait, UAE, & Jordan
Pros
the whole experience
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very low turnover of personnel. As a tech, much travel.
Electronics Technician (Current Employee) –  Pensacola, FLNovember 18, 2014
Seniority counts little in promotions but it will get you laid off often because contract bids can't place you.due to your pay.
Pros
excellent health benefits
Cons
too many lay-off periods during the year.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Laborer Helper (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCOctober 17, 2014
I wish it was not so short when it became part time. The job itself was easy to do.
Pros
good hours
Cons
no overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive yet stalled by rework
Electronic Technician 2 (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VASeptember 17, 2014
a typical work day: various cable install,com equipment,computers,painting,wielding and,electrical.Its a constant learning curve.Theres no comfort zone.Management simply depends on who you work for on any given job.Co-workers are in the same as management depends on the crew.The hardest part of the is rework,no-shows,"i cain't see it from my house" attitude.THE MOST ENJOYABLE part was when the job is finally completed to the customers satisfaction.
Pros
vacation and good co-workers
Cons
rework
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Electronic Technician II (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 20, 2014
My Experience with this company is amazing they are like a close nit family who look out for each other
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Laborer
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAJanuary 7, 2014
Working with company was a great experience and I gained more experience than what I had before
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad
MECHANICAL ASSEMBLER I (Former Employee) –  North Charleston, South CarolinaJanuary 4, 2014
company is good to work for, pay isn't that competitive. not the best career choice
Pros
co-workers
Cons
job security, pay
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Assembler 2 (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VADecember 25, 2013
I love working here great people to both work with and work for
Pros
good pay
Cons
different crew for every job you go to
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Electrical Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VADecember 12, 2013
Large defense contractor with decent engineering support and a very poorly ran management team. Relies on a core of technicians and fills in manning requirements with unskilled labor leading to poor quality and huge cost over runs.
Pros
payroll is on time, support is decent
Cons
80-100 hour work weeks
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 35 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6