VT Milcom Employee Reviews

Found 23 reviews matching the searchSee all 26 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
personaly enjoyed my work
Electronics tech 2 (Current Employee) –  Charleston, SCJanuary 28, 2015
biggest down side is working with spawar. I enjoyed plenty of travel and generly a good work environment in shipyards and submarines. most of my work was in submarine radio rooms.
Pros
great benifits
Cons
slow advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, team work and very efficient tasks.
Welder i (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAJanuary 9, 2015
Overall great work environment and co-workers. A typical day at work would consist of a job briefing, material sheets, teamwork, reviewed blueprints, followed the blueprints, and built model tanks for the military to practice on. The hardest part was gathering the materials needed for the project. All in all it was a very laid back and comfortable work environment. The most enjoyable part of the job was working alongside my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Telecommunications Mechanic II (Former Employee) –  Middle EastJanuary 8, 2015
12 hr days, learned alot about OSP techniques, management was supportive, worked with a great group of people, hardest part was having the contract come to an end, most enjoyable, the whole experience in Afghanistan, Kuwait, UAE, & Jordan
Pros
the whole experience
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very low turnover of personnel. As a tech, much travel.
Electronics Technician (Current Employee) –  Pensacola, FLNovember 18, 2014
Seniority counts little in promotions but it will get you laid off often because contract bids can't place you.due to your pay.
Pros
excellent health benefits
Cons
too many lay-off periods during the year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Laborer Helper (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCOctober 17, 2014
I wish it was not so short when it became part time. The job itself was easy to do.
Pros
good hours
Cons
no overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive yet stalled by rework
Electronic Technician 2 (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VASeptember 17, 2014
a typical work day: various cable install,com equipment,computers,painting,wielding and,electrical.Its a constant learning curve.Theres no comfort zone.Management simply depends on who you work for on any given job.Co-workers are in the same as management depends on the crew.The hardest part of the is rework,no-shows,"i cain't see it from my house" attitude.THE MOST ENJOYABLE part was when the job is finally completed to the customers satisfaction.
Pros
vacation and good co-workers
Cons
rework
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Electronic Technician II (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 20, 2014
My Experience with this company is amazing they are like a close nit family who look out for each other
Was this review helpful?Yes No 1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Laborer
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAJanuary 7, 2014
Working with company was a great experience and I gained more experience than what I had before
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad
MECHANICAL ASSEMBLER I (Former Employee) –  North Charleston, South CarolinaJanuary 4, 2014
company is good to work for, pay isn't that competitive. not the best career choice
Pros
co-workers
Cons
job security, pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Assembler 2 (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VADecember 25, 2013
I love working here great people to both work with and work for
Pros
good pay
Cons
different crew for every job you go to
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Electrical Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VADecember 12, 2013
Large defense contractor with decent engineering support and a very poorly ran management team. Relies on a core of technicians and fills in manning requirements with unskilled labor leading to poor quality and huge cost over runs.
Pros
payroll is on time, support is decent
Cons
80-100 hour work weeks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small company with a lot to learn
Program Analyst (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAOctober 17, 2013
VT Milcom is a small company that is still trying to find its way. Their management team is not capable of making the long term decisions that would keep the company growing and, most importantly, stable. I believe VT Milcom will be a company worth working for in about 5 to 10 years. The current management team will need at least that long to prove they can provide sound, stable management.
Pros
good office location
Cons
poor management, unstable leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Work
Staff Assistant III (Former Employee) –  North Charleston, SCAugust 13, 2013
The company was a fast paced, friendly work enviornment. I learned about training concepts and taught new hires training. Such as HIPPA, OSHA, and FPR APR travel paper work. I also input data and reviewed in Deltek time sheet information.
Pros
there was a lot to learn.
Cons
not enough work
Was this review helpful?Yes No 1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
MECHANICAL ASSEMBLER I (Former Employee) –  North Charleston, South CarolinaJune 18, 2013
Management is all about family, great place to work and travel
Pros
family oriented
Cons
pay is a little low
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for, lack of work.
Field Service Engineer (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMarch 4, 2013
Gained experience on Naval vessels with electronics. A typical work day included installing cable, and building multi-pin connectors. The hardest part of the job was the structural part of the job; grinding, removing paint. I would say I enjoyed this job for the most part because I interacted with a lot of people and I like my coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good job to work and gain experience on
CABLE RUNNER (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VADecember 11, 2012
Going to the desired site to begin cable installations. Follow and reading blueprints to complete job tasks. I learned to read blueprints and use time management. My co-workers here were great, we worked good together. I would say the hardest part of the job was redoing cables that someone else from another company put in wrong. The most enjoyable part of the job was being your own supervisor
Pros
travel, pay, bonuses
Cons
working in tight corners of a ship
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and learn
Quality Manager (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VANovember 29, 2012
Company brought by British firm after 35 years local management. Became a publically traded company which shifted from customer focus to proffits.
Pros
people actively persuing same ideas, values and goals
Cons
loss customer focus trying to grow unsuccessfully into different markets
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of job traing
Supply Specialist (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCSeptember 22, 2012
A day at work included warehouse duties as well as shipping and recieving. Learned more computor skills, management was not very helpful. Co-workers often frustrated. Lack of training was hardest part of job. Learning some new skills was the most enjoyable part.
Pros
pay rate
Cons
lack of training
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work. very educational
Electronics Technician (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 27, 2012
Great place to be as you go day to day working on some of the nations most powerful weapons and ships in support of the worlds strongest military
Pros
excellent benefits and great place to work
Cons
harsh conditions in some areas of work, alot of travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting working for a government contractor.
Staff Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 28, 2012
I was able to learn and apply so many new job skills - working directly with our Quality Manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture