Waco ISD Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
COMMUNITY AND PARENT INVOLVEMENT SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXDecember 9, 2017
I enjoyed working with the students.
I love the parents.
The overall culture of the campus was good, however districtwide it was poor. The administration has very little support to the employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment
Teacher (Former Employee) –  TxNovember 20, 2017
Poor discipline, stressful working environment, lack of parent involvement, teachers blamed for everything, students not held accountable, poor leadership
Pros
teacher comaraderie
Cons
listed in review...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful because of the position.
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXJuly 28, 2017
Being a substitute teacher can be stressful and intimidating because of the none-relationship between the teacher and the students. Most students do not respect substitute teachers.
Pros
You can pick and choose your work days.
Cons
No respect for being a substitute.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
must love students.
Behavior Specialist (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXJuly 13, 2017
You have to have a love for children to work here for the school spending so many hours with the students.At the end of the day you build a strong bond with the students are work is a pleasure!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved this job
Site Base Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXJuly 12, 2017
At Waco ISD, my title was PDS site based coordinator. I worked with Baylor elementary education majors. The students were placed on our campus and I worked with them and the teachers they were placed under.
The students wrote lesson plans, presented the lesson to their assigned class. The purpose of the program was to "better prepare the students for actual classroom experiences."
The teachers loved the program, the students were wonderful to work with.
Loved doing this job.
Pros
Working with young adults
Cons
Sometimes being pulled from my duties to cover classes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supportive admin
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Waco, TXMay 31, 2017
Supportive admin and caring staff; kids are fun and want to learn; good schedule for being able to teach children; fun environment to work in; good co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXMay 26, 2017
if you like to work with kids, it's great! I would tutor students individually or in groups and it was fun to be able to help them with their learning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best teaching experience
teacher (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXMay 14, 2017
Teachers have no support when it comes to behavior in their classroom.
There is hardly any chances of advancement opportunities.
The best part of the job is the students and teachers.
Administration, paperwork and testing are the hardest part because learning should be fun where you dont know you are learning.
Pros
salary
Cons
unsupportive administration
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reflection
Literacy Aide (Current Employee) –  Waco, TXMay 8, 2017
Great place to learn about children in an educational setting
I learned about myself and the type of work ethic it take to work with others in a professional setting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work envriomen, with great and fun peaple
Literacy Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waco, TXApril 28, 2017
Waco ISD has been a great place to work. I work with a group of people that are like family to me. It is a great job with benefits.I like working where I can have my holidays and summers off to enjoy with my family.
Pros
holidays off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible support
Teacher (Former Employee) –  ElementaryApril 27, 2017
The lack of support is appalling. I never received helped and was blamed for issues. The student abused me for two years, leaving me with marks and bruises.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job security and compensation for math/science teachers!
Math Teacher (Current Employee) –  Waco, TXMarch 30, 2017
The district also gives you a lot of time to manage your work, so you have a great work/life balance. It pays particularly well if you teach math or science, but due to the management and culture issues, it tends to have trouble keeping teachers around from year-to-year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job
Clerk (Current Employee) –  Waco, TX 76706March 3, 2017
I work in a great place with wonderful people. The kids come and go but they always come back to visit and they tell us how much they miss us. We get to help them grow up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Cafeteria Worker (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXFebruary 20, 2017
Loved everything about this place. Got to go from school to school and meet all people. working with children has always been a hope of mine. Would strongly recommend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not so productive
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Waco, TXJanuary 13, 2017
Not a fun environment the managers do work with your schedule and you always do something different also every day is productive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, fun
PEIMS Specialist (Current Employee) –  Waco, TXJanuary 10, 2017
A typical day consist of parents enrolling their children. At times we can have just 1 to enroll, but normally when we return from holiday breaks, we usually have around 5. With registering, doing attendance, doing discipline referrals I also help out with answering the phone and dealing with parents. It can be a very hectic day at times and then it could be very peaceful. I say hectic because with everything going on in the office, there are times when us in the office have to deal with troubled students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of money for interventions
Teacher 4th (Former Employee) –  JH HinesJanuary 9, 2017
Students are hard but most want to learn
Administration wasn't strong
Parents want best for students but not all support the school or teachers
Pros
other teachers
Cons
not much support
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Primary Literacy Aide (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXDecember 30, 2016
I liked working for Waco ISD. Great staff and loved the kids. I learned something new every day. I was responsible for a curriculum called Saxton Phonics to get the kinders back on reading grade level.
Pros
Staff Lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough workload but awesome workplace
4th Grade Classroom Teacher (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXDecember 12, 2016
I loved working for Waco ISD. I made friends that I will keep for a lifetime working there. If not for some issues at my home residence and family, I would have continued working in Waco. My principals were top notch and I would recommend anyone new to try to apply with them!
The hardest part of the job was the workload. I was never done with my paperwork, and I kept up on it constantly! My principals were great, but expected top notch work also. It was my first year as a teacher and I learned a ton of information.
The most enjoyable part of the job is working with the children. They are a handful but can be such a blessing. They try to give you their best as long as you give them yours.
Pros
Salary
Cons
high workloads
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning.
Clerk / Procurement Clerk (Current Employee) –  Waco, TXNovember 17, 2016
A typical day at work. Can be very busy ,on the computer, on the phone a majority of the time dealing with employees and customers. We can multi task. Co-worker is easy to get along with. Management is usually out at School campuses.
Pros
Off when the school is out.
Cons
Lunch breaks are to long. Can do other things.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Waco ISD. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 39 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5

Waco ISD Reviews by Location