Find companies:
Walgreens
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,019 reviews

Walgreens Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Environment
Photo Lab Technician (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALSeptember 20, 2014
Mainly cash handling, i.e. working a cash register. Also, cleaning, reorganizing the store (resets), refill ink cartridges, developing film.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could of learned much less.
Cashier/Asst (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVSeptember 20, 2014
Retail is a kind and mental place. treated me well. Shared meany moments lost no time was able to relocated when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active, productive environment
Photo technician (Former Employee), Roswell, GASeptember 20, 2014
Pros: fun work environment
Cons: inconsistant shifts
The managers were always very upbeat, and quick to step up and help out. When something unplanned happened, the team always took care of it quickly and efficiently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walgreens was a good company to work for. The employees and customers were friendly and management was their for you when needed.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: there was plenty of work that needed to be done so i was kept busy.
Cons: there were not enough hours.
A typical day at work involved professional and friendly customer interaction, a clean and inviting environment, and accuracy with all transactions on the computer.

I learned how to scan for product and worked other departments such as cosmetics and photos when needed.

Management was encouraging and worked with me when needed.

The co-workers were – more... friendly and helpful.

The only thing that took some time and effort was leaning how to use their computerized cash register.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the customers and making sure everything ran smoothly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive atmosphere with a positive outlook on helping others.
Sr. Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Lake Bluff, ILSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: occassional catered lunches, performance bonuses.
Cons: negative people and late hours
A typical day would be walking into a shift and communicating with co workers and superiors on the days challenges. Assessing the work load and prioritizing what areas need more immediate attention. The Pharmacy manager at the time was awesome in communicating on what needed to be accomplished and would usually allow flexibility in workflow as most – more... all the staff shared in a customer first approach. The hardest part would have been during a rush hour where there are people waiting in store for their prescriptions and we would receive systems issues. I enjoyed being able to help others both internally and externally on a daily basis. I love problem solving and being solutions focused. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work was okay
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: discounts, employees, benefits
Cons: the paying suck!
They want you to work hard but not pay enough. It was a fast pace environment. time would go fast. It was also a very diverse location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and well balanced working environment with great core values
ASSITANT STORE MANAGER (Former Employee), San Gabriel, CASeptember 18, 2014
Pros: discounts on merchandise, small crew, one to one customer care.
Cons: occasional heavy lifting.
There is always something new to learn while working at Walgreens.
a typical day starts off as i walk in through the door. After working for a while with the company, I have created my own personalized walk through that allowed me to give the store a quick review before I stepped out to the floor and manage it. From public safety to customer care and – more... invoices to inventory control there was never a dull day. Here you get to know your co-workers and your customers on a first name basis. The hardest part about the job is having to address my co-workers about assignments left undone or unfinished. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to fun the store as you see fit. i enjoyed creating separate task to better improve the store with sales and inventory as well as making it appealing to the customer. I always enjoyed everyday here. Walrgeens is a great company for your first job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with great training department and trains staff well
Facilities-Management Engineer (Former Employee), Deerfield, ILSeptember 18, 2014
Responsible for the maintenance and up keep of 300 buildings through out the US. Had to travel a great deal to see them and make sure they are running efficiently and operational.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work if Store Management is Great.
Photo Specialist (Current Employee), Coachella, CASeptember 18, 2014
Work environment can be hit or miss depending on each store management. I was fortunate enough to have an outstanding Store Manager. Her "can do" attitude led to a great place to work where everyone is similar to a family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fast paced and challenging fun place to work
equipment operator, order selector (Former Employee), Bethlehem, PASeptember 18, 2014
Each day associates had the opportunities to learn more about the production aspect of the work we completed. we had the chance to be very diverse by working in virtually all areas offered by the company. co-workers were very personable and always willing to help another associate with any tasks requiring such. overall the most enjoyable part of the – more... job was the great co-workers and the overall positive attitude the company set in place for everyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, lots of changes
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Smyrna, TNSeptember 18, 2014
I have loved working for this company, but with new restructuring the potential for advancement has decreased significantly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Senior Beauty Advisor (Current Employee), Des Moines, IASeptember 18, 2014
Pros: work day hours
Cons: standing all day
Help customers and learn new things each day, either by the customers or assigned tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very dedicated to going beyond the customers needs.
Photo Specialist (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: healthier life choices, discount
Cons: work holidays
A typical day at work depends on the day; I love that when we get to work there is already a plan laid out for us. They let us know what they expect for us to get done so there is never a question of well why wasn't this done. I have learned so much from Walgreen, from handling a cash register to moving on the pharmacy there is so much to gain from – more... being there. I love the people that I work with for the most part we all get along and are always trying to help each other out not only in the work place, but personal life as well. The hardest and the best part of my job is the customers. There are days when I have the best people in the world come in and make my day. Then there are other day when no matter what you do you can't make the person happy. I just try to remember the wonderful customers that make it all worth it. I love what because I work with photo's peoples memories I have people who come in and laugh and tell me all about this photo like I'm apart of the family than there are times when I have to help people make photos for a death. I enjoying helping people above all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: love pleasing the customers
Cons: crazy hours
Working at here taught me a lot about working with people. Enjoyed putting smiles on my customers face as the enter and leaves the store
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intership
High School Pharmacy Intern (Former Employee), Slidell, LASeptember 17, 2014
I worked in the Pharmacy department as a intern. This job was very interesting and I definitely learned a various amount about medicine. I enjoyed most was interacting with customers and being able to help others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, interactive
Customer Service Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Bellevue, WASeptember 17, 2014
Pros: learn new culture and traditions, great compensation
Cons: working with kids gets overwhelming
Great place to work, and learn about culture. Very open and inviting staff working to make curriculums entertaining for the younger students. Work with helpful and nice people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a leader to motivate others.
shift lead (Former Employee), Lexington, SCSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: $10 gift cards at walgreens
Cons: clean bathrooms everyday of week
I as a shift lead at Walgreens it is my duty to make sure customers are satisfied as well as my team. I have boosted others by making a chart to earn points for my team members so by the end of the month they can win a special reward. By doing this event, my team members were very motivated to push our internet ordering in the store and also customers – more... were very happy to know that they could come into a store and regardless if we had the product in store, we took the extra time to look it up online and order it straight from the warehouse. At the end of the day, my team members and customers were very happy within our store and community. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeps me busy and enjoyed interacting with customers
Cashier (Former Employee), Glasgow, KYSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: interacting with customers
Cons: low pay
I enjoyed working here. My hours were cut and my car was in severe accident that prevented me from getting to work. The people there are hard workers and very kind. I miss working here
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Round Rock, TXSeptember 17, 2014
Walgreens is a great place to work. good training, benefits, and reasonable pay. If one has the desire, one can become a store manager within a few years. Walgreens provides all the training you need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive workplace
Photo Specialist (Current Employee), texasSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: flexable schedule, always room for advancement if you want it
A typical day at work is mainly taking care of the customers...I have always enjoyed that. I have never had a problem with the management but I am a hard worker and tend to enjoy what I do. The hardest part of my job is not having enough of me to be able to help everyone.

1 2 3 4 5

About Walgreens

At Walgreens, we help people get, stay and live well. That is our core purpose and the difference we make in people's lives every – Read more