Find companies:
Walgreens
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,598 reviews

Walgreens Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee), Mesquite, TXJuly 20, 2014
Pros: 30 min lunch
Cons: no benefits
Great people and management, very understanding. Only downfall was having to be on your feet constantly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Service Clerk (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLJuly 20, 2014
Great place to work and employees are friendly.
Great place to work and employees are friendly.
Great place to work and employees are friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with a strong foundation
Pharmacist (Current Employee), Washington StateJuly 20, 2014
I have worked at Walgreen's in multiple states and multiple positions from staff pharmacist, to manager, to most recently graveyard pharmacist. Being that I now work by myself, I have mastered the skill of multitasking, working under high stressful conditions, and being self disciplined to complete all the work before the next shift arrives. I strive – more... on providing friendly, efficient customer service and do everything from compounding to administering vaccination. I enjoy being a part of such a great company while it continues to change with the times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walgreens
Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee), Petersburg, VAJuly 19, 2014
Pros: customers
Cons: bad schedules
I loved working for this company they are good people and I learned a lot from management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Burlington, IAJuly 19, 2014
Great place to work. Hours are long, but the pay and benefits make up for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not satisfied with my employment
Staff Pharmacist (Former Employee), Wilmington, DEJuly 19, 2014
Walgreens does not treat their employees well at all. The pharmacist are very overworked and the management does not care. The hardest part of my job was keeping up with the work flow with minimal help and decreased staffing. The coworkers I had were awesome but very frustrated with the lack of staffing and budget cuts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I've enjoyed my time
Assistant Manager/Shift Leader (Current Employee), Anaheim, CAJuly 19, 2014
Walgreens is constanly seeking to improve itself, employees, and customer experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with the employees
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Current Employee), palm bayJuly 19, 2014
Pros: stable place to work
Cons: just took a huge pay cut.
Fast pace, always busy. Enjoy working with the employee and store managers. Hardest part of my job, doing the same job for less money. I love the customers!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfortunately not what it should have been.
Service Clerk (Former Employee), Lowell, MAJuly 18, 2014
It was probably just the store that I had been employed at. Other stores had much better reviews and happier customers and employees. Training was practically non-existent, and the employees were less than helpful to give pointers or advice. Leaving me to fend for myself in a job I have never done before. Six months into the job I was still learning – more... things I should have known within my first week there. It was very disappointing in comparison to other places I have worked. And frankly, embarrassing to watch most of my co-workers and management in how they handled their daily or nightly routines. The most difficult thing to deal with was working with people who simply did not care for their job, or the customers.
However, the best parts of the job was the time I spent making the customers happy when I could and doing my job to the best of my abilities and making the store as presentable as I could. I love to organize, so it was a lot of fun to do that and have the time and space to do so. I liked working the overnights, even if the shifts were long. I would work for the company again, absolutely. But not that store in particular! Walgreens is still a good store! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience for a first job
Retail Sales (Former Employee), Baldwin Park, CAJuly 18, 2014
Learned to develop professional skills. Learned to deal with different types of customer service situations in the photo department, cosmetic department, and service clerk department. Great experience working with the store manager. The store manager taught me the importance of how every department contributes to a great and successful company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
walgreens jobs-easy system to work with and fast workers.
Internship (Former Employee), Dripping Springs, TXJuly 18, 2014
I like working at walgreens but they weren't hiring. they had to many employees. I'm looking to work at a place with a friendly atmosphere. also, hard workers, I want to work in a permanent pharmacy. further my education when I learn everything at work. I'm not afraid to ask for help. I want everything done correct and complete before the end of my – more... shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee), Banning, CAJuly 18, 2014
Pros: employee discounts
Cons: not an enjoyable job.
You never knew what you were doing from day to day. They expect women to work like men with a lot of heavy lifting, and they are not very aware of safety issues .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Customer Service/Beauty Advisor (Former Employee), Sumter, SCJuly 18, 2014
Pros: nice management
Daily duties were cleaning,stocking,operating cash registers, helping customers when needed. Also creating displays. Opening/Closing duties. I learned a lot about retail. Co-workers were very fun to work with, if you need any help they are there to help. I found this job enjoyable because I could go to work every day with a smile on my face,and leave – more... with that same smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, friendly work place
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Franklin, MAJuly 18, 2014
I really enjoy working for Walgreens, it is a very professional place to work. the customers always come first, the management is great and very structured, which I like
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A++++++
Store Associate (Current Employee), FloridaJuly 17, 2014
its a fun & great job in the beginning its hard but once you learn its a piece of cake!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quite stressful to be so simple
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Lawrenceville, GAJuly 17, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling
Cons: short breaks (30 min), low pay, shaky company policies
I started this job as a way to keep income while in college. It was great at allowing for me to tailor a schedule that is conducive to my scholastic commitments.
Co-workers can build great relationships... but mostly because we all have the same complaints. For the pay, they work you to the bone. Again, this would be a great part-time job for a student – more... but for people that need it to support a family, not so much. Walgreens constantly cuts the amount of hours that the store has to schedule employees leading to positions not being covered or an employee having to leave the company all together.
Also, Walgreens is open 365 days a year. Do not expect to be able to take vacation around the holidays, or even before school starts in your community. It is very likely a request that will be denied. Also, it is no longer a standard, time-and-a-half vacation pay. It's based off of your average hours worked. Unfortunately, this screws over the part-time workers, who undoubtedly will get scheduled on the holidays. Fair warning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Cashier/Beauty Consultant (Former Employee), Bastrop, TXJuly 17, 2014
There was never a dull moment while working at Walgreen's. The team always had a great attitude and enjoyed coming to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BEST PLACE TO GROW
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Miramar, FLJuly 17, 2014
Receive written prescription or refill requests and verify that information is complete and accurate. Maintain proper storage and security conditions for drugs. Answer telephones, responding to questions or requests. Fill bottles with prescribed medications and type and affix labels. Assist customers by answering simple questions, locating items or – more... referring them to the pharmacist for medication information. Price and file prescriptions that have been filled. Clean, and help maintain equipment and work areas, and sterilize glassware according to prescribed methods. Establish and maintain patient profiles, including lists of medications taken by individual patients. Order, label, and count stock of medications, chemicals, and supplies, and enter inventory data into computer. Receive and store incoming supplies, verify quantities against invoices, and inform supervisors of stock needs and shortages. Transfer medication from vials to the appropriate number of sterile, disposable syringes, using aseptic techniques. Add measured drugs or nutrients to intravenous solutions under sterile conditions to prepare intravenous (IV) packs under pharmacist supervision. Supply and monitor robotic machines that dispense medicine into containers, and label the containers. Prepare and process medical insurance claim forms and records. Mix pharmaceutical preparations according to written prescriptions. Operate cash registers to accept payment from customers. Compute charges for medication and equipment dispensed to hospital patients, and enter data in computer. Deliver medications and pharmaceutical supplies to patients, nursing stations or surgery. Price stock and mark items for sale. Maintain and merchandise home health-care products and services. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at Walgreen's
Registered Pharmacist(Floater) (Former Employee), North Ft. LauderdaleJuly 17, 2014
Pros: state of the art computer software, very competitive pay, friendly staff
Cons: inflexible with scheduling, difficult to reach contact with supervisors, limited technician assistance
A typical day at Walgreen's would generally consist of product verification, inventory management, and discussion and evaluation of patient therapy. I took a particularly strong liking to counselling patients and discussing in detail their drug therapy. Walgreen's also offered free blood pressure monitoring and blood sugar monitoring and this was something – more... that I was passionate about promoting. My co-workers were generally very friendly and productive. Management was often very supportive of me whenever I had an issue or problem that I couldn't resolve. The hardest part of my job was handling high prescription volumes with limited assistance from my staff. However what was most rewarding was the look of genuine relief and happiness on the face of each customer that I counselled. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive fast paced workplace
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee), Photo departmentJuly 17, 2014
Pros: stress free enviorntment
Cons: short breaks and no set schedule
A typical Day at work for me, I usually get to work at 7am every morning. Once I arrive and clock in I start my daily notes. I work well with all of my co-workers. the most enjoyable part of my day is interacting with my customers. Most of my customers are regular customers so I usually know them by name and have gained a trust worthy relationship with – more... them. My management team is usually there to assist us if there is a problem. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Walgreens

At Walgreens, we help people get, stay and live well. That is our core purpose and the difference we make in people's lives every – Read more