Find companies:
Walgreens
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,605 reviews

Walgreens Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Tyler, TXJuly 21, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: stores are open 24 hours
Great place to gain retail experience. The company has bee in existence for over 100 years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 21, 2014
I learned a lot about customer service while being here and the managers were extremely helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work with decent benefits
Senior Pharmacy Technician Certified (Current Employee), Tacoma, WAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: reimbursement for licensing
Cons: short breaks, vacation/time off pay shifts are not eight hours and hours are frequently being cut
Typical day at work is pretty fast paced. You learn a lot about third party insurances and brand/generic drug names. Management is very cooperative and ready to help out wherever they are needed. Co-workers are easy to get along with and reliable. Hard part of the job is being able to keep your composure with angry costumers. Most enjoyable part of – more... the job is getting the customers what they need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Formerly a great place to work at
Shift Lead (Current Employee), Springfield ILJuly 21, 2014
The management mainly means well, but most of the management titles have been eliminated, so they're waiting for theirs to be as well. Most of the staff make minimum wage and are told they must say and do things a certain way and that "this isn't going away"; then a few months later it changes. This does not make for a stable or productive envirement. – more... I did learn a lot of things over the years, but there seems to very little time to do anything but try to keep your head above water anymore. Enjoyed interacting with most of the employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very good
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), VirginiaJuly 21, 2014
Pros: they are none
Cons: bad place to work
No hours, no pay, not stable, stressful, heavy work load. Never again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company with growth potential
Sr. Pharmacy Technician Walgreens Pharmacy (Former Employee), Milpitas, CAJuly 20, 2014
Pros: paid time off amount, overtime, pay rate, being able to transfer if needed
Cons: short staffed
A typical day at work varied on the length of the shift, anywhere from eight to twelve hour day. Working in the pharmacy with minimal staff made some days tougher than others. What I learned was team work is very important and communication is key to any position within any company/organization. Being part of the management/supervisor team made me a – more... stronger employee and helped me grow and strengthen my weakness. My co-workers were great! We worked as a team to get through the days tasks and we all were a phone call away if needed.
The hardest part of the job was seeing patients having to pay for medication (before Medicare Part D), that broke my heart.
The most enjoyable part was helping patients feel better, receiving a prior authorization for an expensive medication, and making the patients experience enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High volume and fast pace store
State Certified Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), el paso, txJuly 20, 2014
Pros: amazing customer service...
Cons: when your day begins with a mad patient, down fault was not called in.
A typical day at work would be taking care of the customers who come into the pharmacy at seven am. This store is non stop, and rated ElPaso's busiest pharmacy . The pharmacy manager is a good person
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee), Mesquite, TXJuly 20, 2014
Pros: 30 min lunch
Cons: no benefits
Great people and management, very understanding. Only downfall was having to be on your feet constantly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Service Clerk (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLJuly 20, 2014
Great place to work and employees are friendly.
Great place to work and employees are friendly.
Great place to work and employees are friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with a strong foundation
Pharmacist (Current Employee), Washington StateJuly 20, 2014
I have worked at Walgreen's in multiple states and multiple positions from staff pharmacist, to manager, to most recently graveyard pharmacist. Being that I now work by myself, I have mastered the skill of multitasking, working under high stressful conditions, and being self disciplined to complete all the work before the next shift arrives. I strive – more... on providing friendly, efficient customer service and do everything from compounding to administering vaccination. I enjoy being a part of such a great company while it continues to change with the times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walgreens
Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee), Petersburg, VAJuly 19, 2014
Pros: customers
Cons: bad schedules
I loved working for this company they are good people and I learned a lot from management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Burlington, IAJuly 19, 2014
Great place to work. Hours are long, but the pay and benefits make up for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not satisfied with my employment
Staff Pharmacist (Former Employee), Wilmington, DEJuly 19, 2014
Walgreens does not treat their employees well at all. The pharmacist are very overworked and the management does not care. The hardest part of my job was keeping up with the work flow with minimal help and decreased staffing. The coworkers I had were awesome but very frustrated with the lack of staffing and budget cuts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I've enjoyed my time
Assistant Manager/Shift Leader (Current Employee), Anaheim, CAJuly 19, 2014
Walgreens is constanly seeking to improve itself, employees, and customer experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with the employees
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Current Employee), palm bayJuly 19, 2014
Pros: stable place to work
Cons: just took a huge pay cut.
Fast pace, always busy. Enjoy working with the employee and store managers. Hardest part of my job, doing the same job for less money. I love the customers!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfortunately not what it should have been.
Service Clerk (Former Employee), Lowell, MAJuly 18, 2014
It was probably just the store that I had been employed at. Other stores had much better reviews and happier customers and employees. Training was practically non-existent, and the employees were less than helpful to give pointers or advice. Leaving me to fend for myself in a job I have never done before. Six months into the job I was still learning – more... things I should have known within my first week there. It was very disappointing in comparison to other places I have worked. And frankly, embarrassing to watch most of my co-workers and management in how they handled their daily or nightly routines. The most difficult thing to deal with was working with people who simply did not care for their job, or the customers.
However, the best parts of the job was the time I spent making the customers happy when I could and doing my job to the best of my abilities and making the store as presentable as I could. I love to organize, so it was a lot of fun to do that and have the time and space to do so. I liked working the overnights, even if the shifts were long. I would work for the company again, absolutely. But not that store in particular! Walgreens is still a good store! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience for a first job
Retail Sales (Former Employee), Baldwin Park, CAJuly 18, 2014
Learned to develop professional skills. Learned to deal with different types of customer service situations in the photo department, cosmetic department, and service clerk department. Great experience working with the store manager. The store manager taught me the importance of how every department contributes to a great and successful company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
walgreens jobs-easy system to work with and fast workers.
Internship (Former Employee), Dripping Springs, TXJuly 18, 2014
I like working at walgreens but they weren't hiring. they had to many employees. I'm looking to work at a place with a friendly atmosphere. also, hard workers, I want to work in a permanent pharmacy. further my education when I learn everything at work. I'm not afraid to ask for help. I want everything done correct and complete before the end of my – more... shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee), Banning, CAJuly 18, 2014
Pros: employee discounts
Cons: not an enjoyable job.
You never knew what you were doing from day to day. They expect women to work like men with a lot of heavy lifting, and they are not very aware of safety issues .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Customer Service/Beauty Advisor (Former Employee), Sumter, SCJuly 18, 2014
Pros: nice management
Daily duties were cleaning,stocking,operating cash registers, helping customers when needed. Also creating displays. Opening/Closing duties. I learned a lot about retail. Co-workers were very fun to work with, if you need any help they are there to help. I found this job enjoyable because I could go to work every day with a smile on my face,and leave – more... with that same smile. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Walgreens

At Walgreens, we help people get, stay and live well. That is our core purpose and the difference we make in people's lives every – Read more