Walgreens Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people but not enough of them
Senior Certified Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Sioux City, IAOctober 16, 2017
In short: they asked us to do more faster with fewer people and punished us when customer satisfaction went down. Hours were cut despite rx totals going up.
Pros
discounts, pto, benefits
Cons
understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hours, pay and staffing inadequate.
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Brookfield, WIOctober 16, 2017
Scheduling can include short shifts, 10 hour shifts, part/full-time, turn-around shifts, mornings, evenings, weekends -- all in one week. They expect a smile on your face all day long while you multi-task like a maniac -- answer the phone, wait on customers, get drive, enter, fill and sell the script -- there are not enough words to describe how chaotic it is. They cut your breaks and constantly work short-handed. You go home exhausted mentally and physically. You go home frustrated because none of the tools where you work WORK -- not the software, hardware, scales, cash registers, phones. The stores are dirty because they cut the cleaning budget and expect the employees to clean the bathrooms, floors, walk-off mats, etc. The windows haven't been cleaned in 2 years. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked Walgreens
Receiving Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Nazareth, PAOctober 16, 2017
With Walgreens you knew what was expected from you each and everyday.
Friendly work place with co workers and management team.
Advancement within company was possible.
Pros
Working as a team
Cons
Unsure when company was going to down size again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wrong information
Director (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 16, 2017
Walgreens is a very stressful retailer. They have a lot of turnover and are under stress to get as much funding from manufacturers whether it makes sense or not. A lot of Walgreens associates do not like this and leave
Pros
big company
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overachievers
Certified Senior Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 15, 2017
Walgreens team members always set goals for every store and district. Walgreens make sure that every store is satisfying their customers. Walgreens team member make sure that they have enough items in stock to sale, have customer to do receipt survey, making sure medication are ready on time, ect. Basically everyday Walgreens team members come up with better ideas to improve customer services.
Pros
meeting store goals gives team member free breakfast and lunch, starbuck and pizza
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours
STORE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Duluth MNOctober 15, 2017
Work long hours and often feel underappreciated. Decisions are made from corporate and made on the backs of the people in the store. Culture swings from employee friendly and back to task and operations focused. Hard to work there in this position and have a family at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Council Bluffs, IAOctober 15, 2017
It could be stressful at times but it was overall a fun place to work. The pay was low and there were no benefits for part time employees. Great managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty laid back
Photo Specialist and Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYOctober 15, 2017
management from the store manager all the way up to ceo was very poor. work on all holidays. they do not care about your life at home or with family. Got nice discounts though
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun first job
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee) –  Streamwood, ILOctober 15, 2017
teaches you how to take responsibility. the hardest part was remembering where everything was. the beauty advisers had to clean bathrooms, which can be gross to some people.
Pros
easy
Cons
hard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very easy going job
Photo Specialist/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 15, 2017
It was a simple job to do mostly stock the store to keep it well maintained. I think the hardest part of the job was closing because of the location we were in it was a bit dangerous and had no security to protect us.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best location
Cashier (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAOctober 15, 2017
The Store is overrun by homeless people . Homeless people steal things. nothing regarding the People Stealing items. Management does nothing about it.
Pros
You get a paycheck
Cons
disorganzied. No back up assistance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Communication Associate (Current Employee) –  Middleton, WIOctober 14, 2017
good place to work, not much pay. good way to advance in the hospital field. The staff members are nice and knowledgeable. Also able to get certified through there training programs.
Pros
training program
Cons
short breaks, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  2A Grandview PlzOctober 14, 2017
Walgreens has plenty work to accomplish if you want to keep busy.

Plenty of customers to help and keep happy.

One of the best experiences i had with Walgreens was the opportunity to set up abrand new Walgreens Store for open business.
Pros
Drive-thru
Cons
Customers not being patient
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walgreens does not pay well for their employees.
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  West Bend, WIOctober 14, 2017
You start at minimum wage and probably won't get a raise for about 2 years and that would be lucky if that occurs. They are very, very stingy with the pay for good employees. It doesn't matter if your're the best they've ever seen - you're not going to be paid for that.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Cruddy pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I just did my Extern here
Pharmacy Tech Extern (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALOctober 14, 2017
It was only for 3 months I did my Pharmacy Externship there. The people I worked along side of was really cool and I learned a lot.
I'm looking forward to working in the Pharmacy Tech field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Pharmacist (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLOctober 14, 2017
Definitely a fast paced and stressful environment. Lots of technology and room for growth. Difficult to balance if you do not have multi tasking as part of your skill set. Definitely an experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a job, not a career
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Royal Oak, MIOctober 13, 2017
If you’re looking for a job to get you by, this is it, I don’t have any huge complaints only that there was nowhere to go upwards to, I mean you could but as a first job to me it just seemed meaningless. So I recommend it as a job, but not a career
Pros
Decent lunch, 20% discount on all items
Cons
My gm was a d**k
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my job inspite of constant stress, challenging
Pharmacist (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNOctober 13, 2017
Great company in the beginning until change of hands
then benefits were diminished, more stress and pressure
to increase number of rx's filled to make certain wait times,
while trying to simultaneously give immunizations, counsel,
resolve insurance problems and you're wanting to answer
patient concerns/problems to keep them compliant and
maintain their health with no mistakes. I am up for the
challenge but often difficult when there is often a lack of help.
I love retail because I like teeo help patients. Very rewarding,
but management could have been more understanding to
our needs. Technicians and clerks should be paid commensurate
to their responsibilities. Productive.
Pros
Pay was okay. Comfortable work environment.
Cons
Lack of breaks, often very stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good starting point
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Louisa, VAOctober 13, 2017
Walgreens trained me and certified me for PTCB. great place to start off if you are looking to get into the pharmacy industry. Being a retail chain there are many locations so transferring is easy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to Work for
Store Manager and Area recruiter (Current Employee) –  IllinoisOctober 13, 2017
I really enjoy my time at Walgreens and it will depend on who your direct supervisor is to determine how you like it here. Some will be amazing and really buy into the bottom up leadership where as some others say they adapt to change but are still doing top down management.
Pros
Pay and your peers
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walgreens. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 18,869 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5