Find companies:
Walgreens
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,503 reviews

Walgreens Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walgreens, at the corner of lies, greed, and retaliation.
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Mount Airy, NCNovember 21, 2014
Pros: a paycheck so i could pay my bills, my co-workers, the customers.
Cons: short breaks, horrible assistant manager, not enough money, greedy company, no appreciation whatsoever.
I truly enjoyed working at Walgreens for about the first 4 months, but that changed. A typical day at work included greeting customers, ringing orders, stocking merchandise, helping customers, keeping the store clean, etc. When hired, I was promised room for advancement, and given praise from a lady who was training management saying "She saw me emerging – more... as a leader within the company". I really believed her, but the management at my store were determined to not let that happen. The company as a whole really needs to get their moral values in line, because (at my particular store at least) it was horrible. Now, the most enjoyable part of my job was all my co-workers and the customers. We all got along, the customers gave me praise reports, my store manager bragged on my performance to all his bosses including HR, the district manager, and the vice president of marketing; but the assistant manager however did not like me whatsoever and I never understood why, because I was one of the nicest and easiest people to get along with in the store and, in my opinion, the hardest worker. She made the job absolutely miserable for me and I began to wake up everyday when I had to work with her, miserable and stressed out, whereas I used to be happy and jubilant every day before work. After a while, Walgreens started putting more and more meaningless tasks on the customer service associates, and the wage didn't go up at all. What started off as a good experience and a place I wanted to stay for a long time, turned into a horrible experience and I had to quit the job because of the daily verbal and metal abuse endured by my assistant manager. On a positive note however, a lot of lessons were learned by working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
walgreen's.
Associate (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLNovember 21, 2014
Great company to work for. I loved working for this company as I was able to determine my own schedule as per what was available to me
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family-like environment with low budget.
Pharm Tech (Current Employee), CaliforniaNovember 21, 2014
Everyone gets along well in the store itself and treats each other like family, but job security is not guaranteed. A full-time Sr. tech gets cut to 30 hours/ week, losing out on $700+/ month. Corporate does not care about anyone on the store level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a Close family type work condition
Cert Senior Pharmacy Tech (Current Employee), Raymore, MONovember 21, 2014
Pros: always learning something new on the job
Cons: just not enough hours in the day
A typical day involed printing patient leaflets and labels, typing in multiple script either e-scribe or had written. Filling those orders. Taking care of patient needs and any concerns that may arise. Handling insurance claims and trying to resolve any issues in a timely matter. Contacting doctors to either verify a script or just to get a new script – more... for the patients medication therapy. Being able to work in a close working environment and working as a team. Helping each other out to fulfill the daily goals that have been set. The hardest part of the job is sometimes being able to read doctors handwriting and trying to keep all patients happy. The best part about the job is getting to know the patients and making them feel like they are part of my family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard place to see myself at long term
Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 20, 2014
Management, other than myself, was not very goal orientated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Cleveland, TNNovember 20, 2014
Good for keeping busy. Have to have tough skin to work in a Walgreen's environment. Stressful but it has a lot of fun good days with all the different people that you meet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Internship (Former Employee), El Cajon, CANovember 20, 2014
Pros: enjoyed most of the co workers
Cons: had troulble remembering where somethings went.
At Walgreens I stocked the shelves, I worked in the refrigerator, I helped customers find what they were looking for. Also I organized a shelf of shoes and a stand of sun glasses. Another thing i did was go outside of the store and collect all the carts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Receiving Clerk (Former Employee), Perrysburg, OHNovember 20, 2014
A typical day was being around great coworkers and management, nothing negative to say.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 20, 2014
Stocking and packaging answering phone. Cleaning assisting customers with store related issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Photo Specialist (Current Employee), batavia, ilNovember 20, 2014
Pros: lunch breaks
Cons: health benefits, atmosphere, management
We keep busy at walgreens within our given departments and where we are at for the day. The management is ok but not the best as we don't have a team atmosphere or open communication. My ideal place would be somewhere where you are respected and treated as part of a team and can give feedback without fear of retaliation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace place
Pharmacy Tech Externship (Former Employee), Gary, INNovember 20, 2014
The work place was very fast pace. My co-workers were very helpful in me learning new material. I enjoyed the fast pace environment at my work place. Walgreen's was a great experience for me because I enjoyed learning new medication and knowing how they worked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Festus, MONovember 19, 2014
All I can say is don't work here if you can keep from it. When you hear about corporation that do not care about any of their employees? This is one of them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company with strong sense of culture
Assistant Store Manger Trainee (Current Employee), La Palma, CANovember 19, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, good pay, benefits
Cons: a lot of multitasking, not a set schedule
typical day consists of customer service, working the register, answering calls, stocking shelves, organizing the stockroom, and receiving merchandise deliveries . I learned how to work with a team and to train new staff members. I learned patience and how to deliver good customer service in all situations. The hardest part of the job is having a different – more... schedule every day and every week. The most enjoyable part is working with a team and getting to know people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced and simple tasks.
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Cornelius, ORNovember 19, 2014
Pros: 15% discount on almost everything in store.
Cons: slow paced.
A typical day at work consisted of me greeting all customers, ringing them up as a cashier, assisting them with finding anything they needed, stocking the shelves, and cleaning the store. The cons to working at Walgreens is there isn't much variety to what you do, however is was nice to not have look for something you needed to put away because the – more... layout of the store was easy to memorize. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walgreens
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Lake Wales, FLNovember 19, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
A typical day in the Pharmacy at Walgreen's involves serving each customer efficiently and making sure they receive the correct medication. There wasn't actually anything I didn't like doing and I learned all type of knowledge about filling the prescriptions I had no idea of. My managers were always wiling to help me out in any way possible when my – more... mom had health issue. Excellent company to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
asmt job
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALNovember 19, 2014
Pros: decent pay, health insurance 401k
Take in vendors stock the store with merchandise and etc... help pharmacy when they need help... You will be tired at the end of your shift very physically demanding no need for a gym membership....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
time goes by fasty when you are having fun
Assistant Manger (Former Employee), McAllen, TXNovember 19, 2014
Pros: great team work
Cons: 30 min lunch breaks
great company to work for with great benefits. I t's really sad that the company is down sizing and cutting staff and management in order to stay open. they are going to hurt the customer service part of it since there a lot of customer who need assistant with products and information
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
walgreens
Cashier (Former Employee), anahiem caNovember 19, 2014
great company to work for has promotion opportunities all employees are nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very straight forward no nonsense retail job.
Photo lab Specialist (Current Employee), Marrero, LANovember 19, 2014
Pros: decent supply of hours, short commute, very nice store discount.
Cons: consistently changing goals and expectations, no training
It's a decent job to hold while looking for a something better. The hours are good, if you need more all you need to do is simply ask. Very nice 25% discount on Walgreen brand items.

The start of the day is usually making sure you're up to date with the photos that need to be printed. After that it's usually working on totes which is essentially stocking – more... shelves. You get an hour break if you work more then six hours which is nice, I also enjoyed stocking in the freezer. The end of my day was usually changing the store's exterior trash cans as well as the photo section's. Which is then followed by straightening my share of isle which was 6-9.

What I enjoyed most about working at Wal-greens was that you were allowed to snack using the discount while working.

Hardest part of the job for me personally was straightening at the end of the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Saugus, MANovember 18, 2014
Awesome people to work with. Very flexible schedule. However the pay was not great and did not look like it was going to get any better.

1 2 3 4 5

About Walgreens

At Walgreens, we help people get, stay and live well. That is our core purpose and the difference we make in people's lives every – Read more