Find companies:
Walgreens
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,971 reviews

Walgreens Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, poor corporate
Photo Technician (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VASeptember 13, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: poor corporate, lack
Walgreens was a good company, how ever being fairly expensive compared to other businesses, and the pharmacy garnering many a complaint, dampened their reputation. I learned how to provide excellent customer service, and how to print photos clean the store etc.

Management was ok, but they were forced by corporate to make poor decisions, and were rushed – more... to have things completed. The hardest part of the job was dealing with customers who felt entitles and refused to leave the store if they didn't get their way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walgreens
Beauty Advisor/ Register (Former Employee), Bettendorf, IASeptember 13, 2014
Pros: awesome teamwork, great atmosphere
A typical work day would be clocking in and starting with putting new items on shelves or re organizing. I learned so much from this company i learned register and customer service!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
MANAGEMENT/FUNCTIONAL LEAD (Former Employee), maspeth, NYSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: team work
Cons: long hours-15hrs
fun and happy place to work. Dealing with customer was the best part. The team building was very good and safety consciousness was good
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Customer Service/Cashier (Current Employee), Pompano Beach, FLSeptember 12, 2014
It is very, I work as a customer service rep. I also work in organizing and fixing the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Photo Technician (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: supervisors were awesome and understanding occasionally bought employees lunch as a reward
I loved this job. My co-workers were amazing and management was fine for the most part. It wasn't until an employee became favored by the former store manager and was not reprimanded for his inappropriate behavior that every female (employee/customer) made complaints about.
If I could go back for rehire I would most definitely go back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good staff but there is no advancement up the ladder
Photography Lab Technician (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: a good work team
Cons: healthcare, management is not great, no real advancement
I work in a busy store with customers who need assistance finding items and they have questions on items that may be for their health or not. We do a great job at offering the customers quick service and answers to any problems. The work crew is great and they become good friends with your time there. Ive learned a great deal about products and information – more... that i can take with me not just in a working environment but in life. I've learned about health products on a large scale so i can assist or give an opinion on various medical supplies. Ive learned how to deal with upset customers and how to calm people down and figure out things at the moment so everyone is happy. I've learned marketing tactics, hot to promote items, and the push to want more from a company and myself. I enjoy helping people find solutions everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Beauty Advisor
Senior Beauty Advisor (Former Employee), West Palm Beach, FLSeptember 12, 2014
Recognized for excellence in interpersonal communications, teamwork, customer service,flexibility and reliability
Recognized for superior performance and dedicated service commitment through award of "Employee of the Month"
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Care
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee), Gilbert, AZSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: lunch and breaks
Cons: health care benefits
I was a beauty advisor for Walgreen's, I performed essential store services including cash and credit transactions, ordering of merchandise, customer service, and employee supervision. I interacted with 350 customers to ensure quality of service and resolved any complaints or issues. On special occasions I would solicited sales of new and additional – more... products and services. Hardest part of the job was I had to work some weekends but I always enjoyed working with customer and employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home away from Home
Photo Specialist (Former Employee), Wyandotte, MISeptember 12, 2014
Working for walgreens was a great experience. It was a busy fast paced environment. There were some customers that were hard to deal with but the regular customers and their postive attitudes make the day much better and to go by much faster. I learned a lot working for walgreens. I learned how to present myself, gained self esteem and positivity in – more... my work ethic. There was never a dull moment. Plenty of room for advancement, but it takes a lot of time and effort. I really enjoyed every aspect of working for walgreens and am sorry I had to leave the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Work Day
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Hammond, La 70403September 12, 2014
Pros: hours working with school and single parent
Cons: not enough pay for work or hours, staff
A typical work day has many customers and few staff on hand. Checking in items and ringing up angry customers. Calling insurance companies and being hung up on
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy work environment with constant personal communication
certified pharmacy technician (Former Employee), Fair Lawn, NJSeptember 11, 2014
prescriptions, doctors phone calls, customer assistance.

learned to management my time and be personable with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love that my co-workers are very helpful and reliable
pharmacy and photo tech (Current Employee), La Plata, MDSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: i was able to become a register pharmacy tech with the help of walgreens
Cons: it can definitely get stressful at times
Great team members and everyone is always prepared to get the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my time working with this company.
Photo Technician (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LASeptember 11, 2014
I enjoyed interacting with customers on a daily basis and also got along very well with all of my co-workers and members of management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Portland, ORSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: friendly staff that became to feel like family, incredible team work, the management cared about you rather than just being their employee
Cons: repetitive at times, favoritism of specific employees from management
At walgreens I was cross trained. I was cross trained in the Cosmetics dept, Photo dept and trained as a Cashier. A typical day up at the front register included ringing up approximately 150-200 customers in an 8 hour period. I answered the phone and directed customers to aisles and to specific departments based on their needs and wants. I learned a – more... great deal at Walgreens. I learned how to become a better multi-tasker, how to answer the phone professionally, to be more outgoing, to be more assertive, how to make the store clean and pleasing to the eye, how to design displays to maximize profits and much more. My co-workers at Walgreens were my absolute favorite co-workers out of all the other jobs I've had. I actually became super close friends with one of my co-workers and she is now my best friend. The staff were super friendly and very helpful. They all wanted you to succeed and they would help you do just that. I would have to say the Cosmetics department was the hardest to learn because of all the information that you learn. The most enjoyable part was the customers. I loved meeting people and hearing their stories or about their day during their transactions with me. I enjoyed making most of my transactions or interactions with them, personal in some way. When working at the Front Register, you met at least 90% of the clientele. I was a very shy person before I started working at Walgreens and working there helped me come out of my shell. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Fort Myers, FLSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: meet new people
The most enjoyable part is meeting new people. Co-workers were great group of people . the harest part was not have a set schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work environment and always a pleasant work day
Cashier/Photo Lab Specialist (Former Employee), Port Huron, MISeptember 11, 2014
I never had any problems with management and managers are always willing to help and answer your questions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Cosmetician/Pharmacy Trainee (Current Employee), white settlementSeptember 11, 2014
pharmacy is a mess.
co-workers for the most part where alright
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service cashier and cosmetic specialist
Cosmetic Consultant and Cashier (Former Employee), p.g and sandySeptember 10, 2014
cashier and sales helped customers gave advice checked them out happy friendly I had 100 % customer service from secret shoppers and walgreens
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On the line with this one
Pharm Tech (Former Employee), Gaffney, SCSeptember 10, 2014
I believe Walgreens in general is a geat place to work...Each store has a personality...Find the one thats right for you...And you will love it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intership
Pharmacy Technician (Internship) (Former Employee), PRSeptember 10, 2014
I made my intership of Pharmacy Technician. The intership consist only of 1000 hours.

1 2 3 4 5

About Walgreens

At Walgreens, we help people get, stay and live well. That is our core purpose and the difference we make in people's lives every – Read more