Find companies:
Walgreens
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,526 reviews

Walgreens Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that I was able to grow-up with.
Head Photo Specialist (Former Employee), Portland, ORJuly 9, 2014
Pros: benefits, being comfortable with my position and knowledge of the company.
Cons: no advancement in the photot department.
I had been with Walgreen's for 7 years and during my time there I had worn many hats. I started out as a front end cashier, worked in the cosmetics department before settling into the photo department where I really found my niche. Customer service was the biggest priority where I excelled at helping customers find what they were looking for either – more... in the store or online. I performed cash handling, stocking the shelves and in the warehouse, I ordered for my department (snacks, groceries and drinks), I would train new employees on how to use the photo lab equipment, I would also instruct others on how to work the new machines that would arrive from time to time. As the Head Photo Tech, it was my job to maintain the machines once a month, make sure the chemicals were drained and replaced, fix any problems that occurred in the printer and general cleaning of the lab. I feel that during my time with Walgreen's I became a more confident woman who knew what I wanted and that I was able to go out and work for it. The last year I worked for Walgreen's, I was going to school. I worked there full-time and attending class part-time. I felt that if I was able to work that hard at two jobs, then there was nothing stopping me from moving forward into a bright new career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Cashier (Former Employee), Dallas,TxJuly 9, 2014
Pros: 40 hours a week
Cons: unfair with schedules
I will help customers to find products around the store and check them out when there were ready.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy fast paced job
Cashier (Former Employee), Corinth, TXJuly 9, 2014
was pretty laid back and easy, dealt with tons of customer's and figured out what suited their needs. I also stocked items and labeled prices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced pharmacy with very high volume, always busy and always moving. I love a challenging environment.
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), American Canyon, CAJuly 8, 2014
I learned so many valuable skills in this position. A typical day would include everything from worker's comp claims, TAR completions to filling 200 or more prescriptions daily, all while answering phones. Walgreen's pharmacy was a very fast paced environment and multitasking is essential to the workplace here. Here I learned a lot about insurances, – more... formularies, Medicare, Medi-Cal, and a lot of the clerical duties that come with being a PT, including inventory maintenance.

My co-workers wee always very easy to work with and well trained making the work flow go smoothly. Management was always encouraging. They were always available and willing to step in when needed. They were nothing short of supportive.

I enjoy working in a pharmacy setting because I love to help people. I enjoy the fast paced work environment and the challenge of multitasking perfectly without error. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome management
Photo Technician/Cashier (Former Employee), Caldwell, IDJuly 8, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: short breaks
great company to work for and i learned quite alot from them. would highly recomend.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lazy management
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Columbia, TNJuly 8, 2014
Pros: clsoe to home
Cons: poor employee's
Management lacked in job scope. Employee attitude was also aggressive when asked to do duties at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love it when it busy
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJuly 8, 2014
Pros: luch was 45 mintues
Cons: c-ii days
it was really fun working with everyone at that walgreen because everyone was so nice and helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the same company
Store Manager (Current Employee), MIJuly 7, 2014
Cons: work 55 hrs per week, 70 hrs per week in december
Not the same company as it once was, no longer family oriented but pure profit oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
produtive and fun work place
Cashier/photo (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 7, 2014
excited to work
cutomer service skills, computer skills
very outstanding mangement team,understanding
silly,teamwork,and very easy to get alone with
there was nothing hard about this job
the best part about this job was making sure every customer was happy and could find everything they need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional business that allows each employee to apply their own creative niche to benefit the company's success
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 7, 2014
Pros: i have developed a professional relationship with my coworkers
Cons: when coworkers are being lazy
Working for Walgreens has enhanced my customer service skills. I am able to interact with people and connect with them in numerous ways such as creating a friendship, adding loyalty, and showing appreciation for their personality that is beneficial for me and Walgreens. There is always something new I learn at my job. The store manager is willing to – more... teach each employee in their own level of understanding to conduct his assigned task. My coworkers are fun to work with and we are able to express our feelings about situations that may occur, good or questionable. The store manager gave me an opportunity to become a manager internship when I was a senior in college. I learned how the company operates beyond being a customer service representative. He taught me about payroll, schedule formation, business goals, assigned tasks given by managers and how they must be accomplished in a given time period, and how a manager is the supervisor of all store operations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Service Cleerk (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 7, 2014
no room for a raise or a higher position the people are nice and the company under pays you but expects you to work harder than what they pay you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome experience
Pharmacy Technician( Customer service rep) (Former Employee), Springfield, ILJuly 7, 2014
Pros: discount on walgreens items and pharmacy closes at 6pm on sundays.
Cons: low pay, minimal hours
The pharmacy was an awesome learning experience. Other than the poor leadership exhibited by one of the newer pharmacist, the job was a great learning experience. The upper management were insightful and encouraging. I enjoyed working for this company. I only left because of how I was being treated by one younger pharmacist. I should have stood my ground – more... and stuck it out! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
greet place to work very nice co workers
Cashier (Current Employee), Pittsburg, CAJuly 7, 2014
Pros: they work with you schedule
Cons: some customers are very rude.
It's a very fast pace job you have to very detailed and alert to make sure you help everyone accordingly. Management work with my schedule during the time of me going to school. The hardiest part of the job is making sure every customer is happy and satisfied. I like the job because you meet to so many different people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shift Leader
Sr. Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Jacksonville,FlJuly 7, 2014
morning shift opening up the store get safe counted and ready for registers set up 5 min meeting,prepare TO DO LIST for the day..... The biggest thing a learned was Multi Tasking been able to get my assignments done The hardest part of my JOB is to get my TEAM to follow and believe we can get it done as a TEAM....

My Goal at the end of the day and – more... what I enjoy the most is Making all my CUSTOMERS happy!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive learning environment for cosmetics
Cosmetics Sales/ Consultant (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLJuly 7, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: unorganized management
daily quota , small consultations for make up or skin care ,building and taking down end stands
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I find it rewarding working directly with the patients
Pharmacist (Current Employee), Dedham, MAJuly 7, 2014
Pros: working one-on-one with the patients
Cons: lack of breaks, lack of support staff
A typical day involves many pharmacy related tasks. To name a few, I administer vaccines, monitor patient blood pressure, monitor adherence, conduct data and drug utilization review on all prescriptions, tightly monitor inventory, train new employees, work cash registers, and conduct comprehensive medication reviews. I enjoy learning new skills and – more... new facts on a daily basis. The support staff is limited, therefore, I excel at prioritizing and multitasking in order to provide excellent customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 6, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, meeting new people.
Cons: short breaks, filling in on days off
A typical day at work starts off by turning machines on, then I process photo orders developed overnight. I learned how to use the equipment, teamwork and cash handling. Management was not the best, but I made the best out of it. My co-workers were the best! They were like family to me. The hardest part of the job is when you get multiple tasks thrown – more... at you and not having sufficient time. The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with customers and getting to know them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best places I've ever worked.
Photo lab Technician (Former Employee), Evansville, INJuly 6, 2014
Pros: great mgmt, fun environment.
Cons: low starting wage
Management is very friendly and understanding, work is entertaining and allows for creativity, interesting locations, and great atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJuly 6, 2014
Pros: co-workers are great
Cons: no lunch breaks
Co-workers are great. I learned a lot. A typical work day working with customers and filling rx.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
limited possibility for advancement/ no real benefits
Senior Certified Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Pearland,TXJuly 6, 2014
Being a Pharmacy Technician used to have more benefits in the past. I use to be able to work over time which would allow me to get paid time and a half but that is no longer allowed. Holiday hours are no loner time and a half either.

1 2 3 4 5

About Walgreens

At Walgreens, we help people get, stay and live well. That is our core purpose and the difference we make in people's lives every – Read more