Find companies:
Walgreens
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,521 reviews

Walgreens Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked my way into management from a cashier
Assistant Store Manager, ASM (Current Employee), Jacksonville, NCNovember 25, 2014
I have learned what kind of manager I want to be by working under seven different store managers in the last 8 years. A typical day at work consists of dealing with customers, coaching employees, checking in vendors, making a list of things to do for the day, and managing payroll. The hardest part of the job is disciplining the employees who do not – more... follow instruction and firing. The most enjoyable part of my job is coaching and developing my employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
walgreens a great work culture
Senior Certified Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZNovember 25, 2014
worked here and went to college at the same time. managers flexible with my schedule. appreciated that the most.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Store associate (Former Employee), Key Largo, FlNovember 25, 2014
Pros: fun environment, great co workers
Cons: short breaks.
A great place to work and the company is constantly looking for ways to improve. There are new initiatives coming out all the time to improve customer relations and experiences. After merging with Alliance Boots to save itself, the new company is located in over 20 countries and has over 360,000 employees worldwide.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Moreno Valley, CANovember 25, 2014
i enjoyed working with the employees at walgreen's. I got the experience working with customers and patients. I got to know more about transcribing and filling prescriptions and seeing how i can help the patients/customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good place to Learn and grow
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), New Orleans, LANovember 24, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: not enough hours
I learned how to talk to people and be very patient with people, I learned how to handle money and be able to work at a fast pace .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
 6 years of experience in IT industry performing Database Administration, Design and Development using SQL Server 2005/2008 R2/2012.  Expertise work
SQL/ BI Developer (Current Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 24, 2014
 6 years of experience in IT industry performing Database Administration, Design and Development using SQL Server 2005/2008 R2/2012.
 Expertise working with SQL Server 2005/2008 R2/2012 tools Such as Management Studio, Query Analyzer, SQL Profiler, SQL Agent, SSIS and SSRS.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Shift Manager/ Head of Photo Dep. /Pharmacy Tech (Former Employee), Marietta, GANovember 24, 2014
Open and close store
Cash handling
Responsible for all employee
Manager of the photo department
Provides a courteous, helpful and enjoyable shopping experience
Performs all duties of cash register operation, customer service merchandising and manages store inventory
Responsible for ensuring displays and products are in line with our corporate vision
Ensuring – more... product resets and pricing signage to promote efficient reset
Answer phone lines and provide customer service
Receive and process incoming inventory through computer system and set shift displays – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Store Team Leader (Former Employee), Newton Corner, MANovember 24, 2014
Pros: flexibility, great benefits, opportunities for advancement.
Cons: short breaks, management changes often, salary is low.
Working with this company for several years I had a variety of different roles. I learned a great deal in every position and had advancements often. There is always opportunity for growth at this company and opportunities to work in several locations or on different projects. I learned customer service skills, interpersonal skills, and was able to connect – more... my education in business management with my managerial role at this company. Management would change often and co-workers were loyal and reliable. I loved learning as much as I could and sharing my knowledge with my team. I loved working in a productive team environment and meeting new people when I worked in different stores for special projects. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
one summer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 24, 2014
i learned a lot of thing . my co-workers are nice. a typical day at work was fun and fast
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Pharmacy Technician Extern (Former Employee), Chino Hills, CANovember 24, 2014
Pros: very professional
Cons: not hiring
It was a wonderful learning experience.
The Pharmacy managers' instructions were thorough and complete.
If I were given an opportunity of employment, I am sure that I would become a valuable asset to the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great first job
SIMS Coordinator (Former Employee), Brandon, flNovember 24, 2014
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: low pay wages
great place to start out in the workforce. working face to face with customers you have to have a pleasant demeanor. typical day was helping customers locate what products they needed, as well as taking care of any pricing concerns at check out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast paced environment.
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Spencer, IANovember 24, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: work environment, under staffed, work schedule.
Productive fast paced environment, training lacked coordination, schedule changed from week to week, senior technician was to mentor new employees but was not willing to do so. Was unhappy with this position and would not want to work for this company again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent with customers
Sales Floor Manager (Current Employee), Green Bay, WINovember 23, 2014
Walgreen's puts their customers needs above all else. The best part of my day is helping customers find products to help them feel better. Walgreen's has many repeat customers and it is great building rapport. Helping customers with their medical needs, photo needs and beauty needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a nice clean place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Rockingham, NCNovember 23, 2014
Walgreens is definitely a wonderful environment to work in, my managers and coworkers were all friendly. I didn't like the fact that most of the time there were only a few people working the whole store not including in the pharmacy, that was hard and unusual to me. I learned a lot working there, when I worked in the photo department I learned how to – more... operate the photo machines, and everything that comes with that, and I really enjoyed it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced distribution facility.
Maintenance Tech (Former Employee), Jupiter, FLNovember 22, 2014
Repair conveyors and automated cranes. clear jams and affect repairs by using fork lifts and harnesses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of communication skills used at this job
Cashier (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCNovember 22, 2014
I worked the front register 7:00am until 3:00pm. I learned how to deal with different type of people. The management and coworker were pretty decent people. The hardest part of the job was stocking shelves and running a register at the same time. The enjoyable part was helping senior citizen and putting smiles on faces.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst job
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Kearney, NENovember 21, 2014
this is the worst job i've ever had. store manager was a jerk, pharmacy manager was a jerk, a few of the techs in the rx were rude and not helpful when i was trying to learn. breaks short. a very high volume store/pharmacy with not enough staff/fte to support volumes. very stressful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walgreens, at the corner of lies, greed, and retaliation.
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Mount Airy, NCNovember 21, 2014
Pros: a paycheck so i could pay my bills, my co-workers, the customers.
Cons: short breaks, horrible assistant manager, not enough money, greedy company, no appreciation whatsoever.
I truly enjoyed working at Walgreens for about the first 4 months, but that changed. A typical day at work included greeting customers, ringing orders, stocking merchandise, helping customers, keeping the store clean, etc. When hired, I was promised room for advancement, and given praise from a lady who was training management saying "She saw me emerging – more... as a leader within the company". I really believed her, but the management at my store were determined to not let that happen. The company as a whole really needs to get their moral values in line, because (at my particular store at least) it was horrible. Now, the most enjoyable part of my job was all my co-workers and the customers. We all got along, the customers gave me praise reports, my store manager bragged on my performance to all his bosses including HR, the district manager, and the vice president of marketing; but the assistant manager however did not like me whatsoever and I never understood why, because I was one of the nicest and easiest people to get along with in the store and, in my opinion, the hardest worker. She made the job absolutely miserable for me and I began to wake up everyday when I had to work with her, miserable and stressed out, whereas I used to be happy and jubilant every day before work. After a while, Walgreens started putting more and more meaningless tasks on the customer service associates, and the wage didn't go up at all. What started off as a good experience and a place I wanted to stay for a long time, turned into a horrible experience and I had to quit the job because of the daily verbal and metal abuse endured by my assistant manager. On a positive note however, a lot of lessons were learned by working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
walgreen's.
Associate (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLNovember 21, 2014
Great company to work for. I loved working for this company as I was able to determine my own schedule as per what was available to me
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family-like environment with low budget.
Pharm Tech (Current Employee), CaliforniaNovember 21, 2014
Everyone gets along well in the store itself and treats each other like family, but job security is not guaranteed. A full-time Sr. tech gets cut to 30 hours/ week, losing out on $700+/ month. Corporate does not care about anyone on the store level.

1 2 3 4 5

About Walgreens

At Walgreens, we help people get, stay and live well. That is our core purpose and the difference we make in people's lives every – Read more