Find companies:
Walgreens
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,668 reviews

Walgreens Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repetitive
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLDecember 25, 2014
Pros: brought my own lunch
Cons: 30 min. lunch breaks
A typical may be stressful and repetitive you will performing the same task over and over again. You must be very detail oriented because you have to watch out for label duplicates. Walgreen management is good. The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with customers and your co-workers.The hardest part of the job is dealing rude customers and – more... their insurance company's.What I learned is to focus on getting all my tasks on time throughout the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work at with great employees
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), Wayne, NJDecember 24, 2014
Pros: christmas party
Cons: working on the holidays
A typical day at work is counting money, building end-stands, side- panels, and merchandising the promotional aisle, checking in vendors, taking control over the store when the store manager is not there, giving employees tasks to do while working, paper work, loss prevention, always moving on my feet, helping and greeting customers, ringing up on registers, – more... printing photos, posters, canvas, calendars, etc. Making signs for the end-stands, side-panels, and merchandising the store, putting up sale price sale signs, filling prescriptions, filing prescriptions, and working in the pharmacy when it is busy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Hillsboro, ORDecember 23, 2014
A typical day at Walgreens was getting tasks to complete while helping assist customers through their shopping trip.Management are very good at communicating what was expected of the day.Co-workers worked as a team to get things done.Hardest part of a day at Walgreens would be complaints. i enjoyed interacting with customers through out the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Concerned with safety of workplace
Certified Pharmacy Technician (CPhT) (Former Employee), Oak Lawn, ILDecember 23, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: not enough help to produce better customer service
Corporate policies not conducive to good customer service.Very little interaction from supervisors is a great concern to all of us. High turnover. Pharmacy Techs no longer properly trained to assume duties. I loved my co-workers however. We worked together well to produce the best outcome and keep the workplace less stressful by helping each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Wentzville, MODecember 23, 2014
I loved the job if I was able to be paid more to afford living on my own I would have stayed but 8 an hour isnt going to keep me in a 700 a month town house.... I loved management they helped me when I needed it the most. They gave you time off if they could and warned you ahead of time if you cant get off. Some co-workers were wonderful, but others – more... drove me nuts in the way they worked. They werent very fast, and did not take to change very well at all, then there was others that were wonderful and got things done that needed to be done. The hardest part of the job was trying to remember the different pass codes because they changed so frequently but at the same time I loved it because it kept my mind going, while keeping me on my feet. The most enjoyable thing was counting the money and closing up the store. I also enjoyed helping people to an extent that the were incredibly thankful. A typical day I would work for the photo department on an eight hour shift. I would help customers to the best to my ability, and fix photos when others on the staff wouldnt. I would re-stock shelves, and pull expired products, I got to count drawers at the end of the night and help close down machines and the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a good job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Fort Worth TexasDecember 22, 2014
A typical day a Walgreens come in prepare your self for your shift.
I always make sure all my numbers are correct before i go out to the floor. When I go to the floor i check in with all my assocaites, make sure they are taken care of. I do my walk thru's to see what needs to be done. I go to the back and check inventory see what needs to be odered – more... and stocked out on the shelves. All while doing these things i would provide excellent customer service and made theyre shop comftable as possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Opportunities and directions in the company
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Tallahassee, FLDecember 22, 2014
Pros: different days off
Cons: roller coaster schedule
- Always a new day
- Always something new to learn
- Lots of growth & opportunities with the company
- Meet a lot of new people everyday
- The most challenging part of the job is Time Management
- The most enjoyable part of the job is the season changes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management and team involvement(Distribution center in Illinois)
Senior Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), Mount Vernon, ILDecember 21, 2014
Pros: it's a job
Cons: everything that makes a person happy at work they don't have.
The leadership will lie to get you to work for them. You will have to provide your own tools and will only pay 18.90/ hr starting out and takes 3 years to top out. Insurance is horrible. They will make you take a test over things you will not be performing. You will mainly be doing preventative maintenance on conveyors or fork trucks. If you want a – more... job the requires a thought process this is not it. Also leaders in the maintenance department sit at a computer all shift and falsify company documents to make it look like they do something they will also try their hardest to find a reason to fire you because they are scared little boys in real life so the little power they have at work they exploit so be prepared for that. I still work there but am looking at other opportunities and a lot have quit already that's why there is openings. Good luck, but my advice is look elsewhere if at all possible. Also they only give 4% into your 401k almost everywhere else gives 6%. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in
Sales Lead (Former Employee), MilwaukeeDecember 21, 2014
Pros: discounts and sales.
Cons: no free lunches and rare breaks
A typical day at work was extremely fun. Nothing makes me more happier than being able to help someone else out. Customers loved me, because I was always jolly, happy, and helped them with the things they needed help finding. I knew my regular customer by name and they also knew me by name. My managers were great and they loved me. We've had many potlucks – more... and crew outings. The hardest part of my job was not being able to give my customers exactly what they needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You cant trust them
sales associate, asst. manager,manager (Former Employee), Faison, NCDecember 21, 2014
Cons: everything and everybody
They are undoubtfully the worst people to work for. The owner, is very self centered and greedy. They will stab you in the back. They want you to work off the clock. The pay is not worth the problems, back stabbing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a busy place where you explore a lot
Customer Service (Current Employee), 1 N ELMHURST RD, PROSPECT HEIGHTSDecember 21, 2014
Pros: two 15 minute breaks
Cons: expectatoins are a lot
Good place to work, can get crazy

Management is ok but they really don't really care how you can get the work done.

Its a diverse job where you do a lot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 21, 2014
Pros: meeting new people and faces
I love working at Walgreens because I love to help customers and im very friendly everyone loved my personality I was always bubbly and wanted to help. My job was very easy for me the job consist of stocking, cleaning, and making sure customers was satisfied.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORK AS A HEAD CASHIER
Head Cashier (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVDecember 21, 2014
WELL I LOVE WORKING FOR THE COMPANY LEARN A LOT OF SKILLS HERE HOW TO MANAGER OTHERS, STOCK SCAN WAREHOUSE RESET BY PLANOGRAN BALANCE SAFE BANK DEPOSIT . ETC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting workplace
Service Clerk (Former Employee), nycDecember 21, 2014
the time i spent at Walgreens was probably the most insightful time ive ever had in life it gave me the ability toncommunicate with a wide range of people from different backgrounds and culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Environment
Associate (Current Employee), Saint Paul, MNDecember 20, 2014
Pros: co-workers are friendly.
Cons: don't have good security.
Most of the time, I work at the photo lap. My everyday task is smart count, check out date of certain product, price change, release order from internet order or in store and last of all customer service. I also do vendor check and gives my co-workers break. I would say the hardest part of the job is helping a customer who only wants manager's assistant – more... not from a regular service clerk. The most enjoyable part of the job is when the store is busy and I jump to other departments and keep myself busy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and fun place to work
Pharmacy Technician/Clerk (Current Employee), Merrill, WIDecember 20, 2014
Filling and entering customer scripts. Dealing with insurance problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to learn retail from and all entails.
Merchandiser/Cashier (Current Employee), Anderson, SCDecember 20, 2014
Pros: healthcare when you reach 30 hours or more.payed holidays as well.
I've learned customer service is number one daily and first. Doing resets, putting up product settings displays and new product placement comes after. Co-workers work in a team effort to get the job done in a timely manner.For myself the hardest part are the hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Co-host/DJ (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYDecember 20, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedule
Cons: reliable co-workers
Like any average retail company walgreens has their good and bad days. My co-workers are not so supportive when it comes to working as a team. Overall I'll learn leadership, responsibility, and providing excellent costumer service. patience is definitely essential while working for this establishment and it developed as a person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and organized work place
pharmacy technician (Former Employee), Malden MODecember 20, 2014
Pros: benefits and insurance
Cons: prices on medications
While working at Walgreens a typical day at work would consist of all of us going to our stations and getting the drawers and computers up and running for the day. We would open up the drive thru window and get that ready for the day. We would check the phones messages, check to see if there was any refill requests in the system, we would make calls – more... to the customers and return phone calls to the doctors office, then we would start typing out the scripts and filling the medicines and getting them ready for pick up or delivery. I was trained by Walgreens to become a pharmacy technician. I learned how to work in the pharmacy and what medicines were what and how everything worked. The hardest part of all of our jobs I believe were the customers, not all of them and not all the time did the customers give us a hard time. Also when we were out of stock on a medicine and had to break it to the customer that it would be the next day before their medicines would be in. I absolutely love working in the pharmacy, it is a professional place to work and great experience. Working with the public and getting to know new people on a day to day basis to me is great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard co- workers who like to have a fun time while getting their job done
Sales Support/Stock Clerk (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILDecember 19, 2014
Pros: worked with fun and hard working co-workers, made friends that i still am in contact with today
Cons: they store manager always had something to complain about
A typical day at Walgreen consist of me ringing up customers, taking in returns, issuing refunds, maintaining organization of the store, and handled minor customer disputes as well. When working with Walgreens I learned how to do returns as well as worked very briefly on a couple of revisions in the store. Management was very good, each manager had – more... their strengths and weaknesses but where on person lacked something another manager would make up for it. My co-workers and I loved to have a good time and the majority of my co-workers worked really hard as well. If one of us were falling behind on a certain night my co-workers would help the co-worker that was falling behind. They hardest part of my job was to satisfy the store manager, no matter how well of a job we may of done the store manager always had something to complain about and rarely thanked us for the great job we had done. They store manager never really had anything positive to say. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Walgreens

At Walgreens, we help people get, stay and live well. That is our core purpose and the difference we make in people's lives every – Read more