Walmart Employee Reviews

Found 62,436 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wal-Mart
MERCHANDISE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Moscow, IDMarch 28, 2016
Worked most places within the store, with the exception of upper management. Benefits such as pay are decent if you move into Assistant manager position or higher. Initial compensation is okay for starting out.

Management does not want associate feedback on how to make the company a better place to work. Anonymous concerns are not kept private. Safety is not taken seriously from their own policies and procedures and reports of violations are often glossed over.

Job security is good as long as you go with the flow. Requested time off is often granted as long as there is coverage and is submitted in a timely manner. Will work around a student or family schedule.
Pros
Can move up quickly and relocate
Cons
No overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes55No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great compensation and advancement opportunities
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Madison, ALApril 5, 2016
I worked with Walmart for 19 years and was able to advance rapidly in the company. As long as you have drive and work hard, anyone can advance. The compensation once you reach management is above what most retailers offer. The drawback is that work/life/balance is nonexistent once you go into management. The higher you advance, also the more political the position becomes.

Pros: Advancement opportunities, compensation, culture
Cons: Work/life/balance
Pros
Advancement opportunities, compensation, culture
Cons
Work/life/balance
Was this review helpful?Yes57No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, Horrid management.
IMS/ Associate (Former Employee) –  Auburn, INMarch 28, 2016
I was hired in February of 2015 as part-time. When I had graduated, they offered me a full-time position, which I took.

The first months of working at Walmart were good, I had a great group to work with. But after August 2015 everything started to go downhill very quickly. Being a IMS/ GM unloader mean't that we were to do everything in the store and our original job as well. We were usually always understaffed in the backrooms, but management would tell us they needed most of us to go elsewhere in the store. And if our stuff didn't get done after we did everyone else's work, we would all get put down while the people up front were praised on getting all their work done.

They would hire more people, but the new hires were always in an area that already had enough people instead of places that actually needed them. And management would add more and more work onto the rest of us.
Pros
The people you get to actually work with are amazing.
Cons
Management doesn't know what they are doing.
Was this review helpful?Yes50No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employees given little credit.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Port Angeles, WAApril 1, 2016
Tolerable yet I felt as if we as employees are expendable.
I didn't really feel that we were genuinely appreciated/cared about.

I learned to be more patient.

Management was okay, some of them need to work on their communication skills though. (Not an insult, just constructive criticism.)

I enjoyed the co-workers that actually conversed with me, most didn't speak to me at all.

The hardest part was being temporary rather than part-time, I didn't make enough money to support my family. (I had no transportation so I had to walk several miles to work/back daily on top of having health issues and being really pregnant.)

The best part of the job was the smiling, happy and understanding customers.
Pros
Workplace discount
Cons
No benefits, Workplace discount is small and you have to work there at least 2 months before you qualify for it.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employment at Walmart
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Russellville, ARApril 1, 2016
Years ago, I worked for this company and I was still a student in high school. I had to be out of there by 10, so they said, but there were nights I would not get home till nearly 11:15. The management team directly above me was horrible, inconsiderate, and hardly had a smile the whole time I could remember. Not only that, but they did not care about their cashiers. I can recall on several occasions that I was left with a line of customers while I needed manager override or change from the cash drawer (which usually took about 10 minutes, God willing.)

If you can handle customers with a lack of respect for you as a person and managers who couldn't care less about what you are doing or needing, then this company is for you.
Pros
Flexible schedule, Good compensation
Cons
Horrible management, Horrible experience
Was this review helpful?Yes16No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mechanicsburg, PAMarch 10, 2016
I was employed with Wal-mart for 1 year and 3 months. In that time frame I learned my job as a cashier. I failed to learn all the policies at work and left me out of a job one day. I tried my best to communicate with management on issues at work. They wrote me up a few times and when a customer tipped me at work not knowing the policy of not accepting tips I accepted the $10.00 tip from the customer when he told me to spend it on lunch. When management found out I took the tip I got called into the managers office and had to explain what happened.
When I lost my job I filed for unemployment for 10 months and went to my hearing that was schedule in Harrisburg with Walmart. I won my case and they paid for unemployment. The money didn't last and I was still looking for employment but not getting hired.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
no raises
Was this review helpful?Yes52No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job, is one of those that you would take if you had no other choice.
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Calhoun, GAMarch 29, 2016
You will have to work different departments, besides the one that you were hired for. The hours are ridiculous and they change day by day. The pay is about around 7.66 and up or down, and the benefits are not all that good unless you are full time employee. The only plus is the people are quite nice and understanding most of the time, Plus the co-workers are pretty cool. The problem is that they will find just the littlest thing then you are done. It is how they keep getting so many temps.
Pros
Co-workers, somedays they're are functions, etc.
Cons
hours, pay, management, and no job security etc
Was this review helpful?Yes24No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work/life balance
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Kennesaw, GAMarch 7, 2016
They typical day at Walmart would be to provide customer service, merchandise, and pinpoint areas for profit losses and adjust accordingly. I learned a lot about the inner workings of retail, and got a better understanding of company financials and trends. As a salaried member of management, the expectation is that you are at work everyday including off days with no real compensation. On the off chance of an illness, upper management shows no concern for the health or wellbeing of the associate and strongly suggests that if one is not on their deathbed, they should be at work (this is to include scheduled off days). The hardest part about my job at Walmart is working between 10 and 20 hours a day, spending a few hours resting at home only to do it again the next day. I really enjoy the bond created when working towards a common goal with others while teaching and training.
Pros
The salary is very good
Cons
No work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes28No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, energetic, and friendly environment.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Suisun, CAMarch 23, 2016
A typical day at Walmart for me would be energetic, keeping my patience, greeting each customer with a smile, and offering the best customer service ever. What I've learned so far is to learn as much as I can about the store and what we offer. Management is excellent, we get a lot of positive feedback from the customers regarding the store. The co-workers are team players and hard workers. The hardest part of the job would be not being able to meet all the customer needs. Some things may be out of the control of a cashier. The most enjoyable part of my job is when I can put a smile on a customers face and they thank me for excellent service.
Pros
I'm working in a field doing something that I enjoy.
Cons
Not working fulltime with all the benefits and healthcare the job offer.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a stable environment
Maintenance Associate (Former Employee) –  Milan, TNMarch 31, 2016
Though Walmart claims to be a family business, that is far from the truth. There are no excuses at walmart, there is no compensation, you are on your own throughout the development of your career there.
Typical day to day work is easy work for the pay you get, but management is highly unprofessional and will skip steps and go out of their way to single you out, regardless of how good of work you do. Management is often times full of narcissistic people on a 'power' high just because they 'can' even though it is against policy.
0/10 would not work there again.
Pros
Easy work
Cons
Terrible bosses
Was this review helpful?Yes29No7Report

Want to know more about Walmart?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 18, 2016
I started at Walmart as a pharmacy cashier and within about a year moved up to pharmacy technician trainee and then certified pharmacy technician.

In all honesty, I think it comes down to finding a good store because I unfortunately work for a really bad one. The customers are complete jerks, co-workers love to take behind your back, and the management is absolutely horrible. Get to know the people you work with ASAP and make a break for it if you get a bad vibe. Almost all of my co-workers including myself want to quit because of our manager. Walmart sure knows how to pick them...

I will admit that it IS retail and no matter where you go in retail, you will most likely encounter rude customers but I have never seen anything like Walmart customers. Absolutely disgusting.
Pros
Opportunity for a raise in the pharmacy, works well with my school schedule
Cons
VERY stressful, beyond rude customers, horrible management, your opinions and thoughts don't matter, company cares more about profit than its employees
Was this review helpful?Yes30No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to start.
Inventory Control Specialist (ICS) (Former Employee) –  Bayonne, NJFebruary 29, 2016
A typical day at Walmart is a busy day with plenty to do. There is always something to new to learn and plenty of work to do. You learn everything from the cash register to the computer system used by Walmart. Management pushes very hard to keep the store in good shape but they are very mean to the workers. I have seen managers curse out the employees and the employees will go right back at the managers. The breaks are very good and are about every two hours making the shift fly right by. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to work with customers for parts of the shift and also being able to work alone doing backroom work. Overall Walmart had a good balance of everything.
Pros
Breaks every two hours, good benefits, discount card, raises, good starting wages.
Cons
Management is rough, shift schedules inconsistent
Was this review helpful?Yes31No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work while in college
Courtesy Associate (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILFebruary 25, 2016
My typical day at Wal-mart is to deal with Customers in the parking lot leaving carts where they are not suppose to be, Customers parking where they are not suppose to and once in a while catch a few solicitors

I have learned about retail and how they put out products that will sell.

Management at Walmart was pretty decent when it came to answering questions or responding to issues that may arise.

I enjoyed working with all my co-workers. Some of them, we became close.

The hardest part of the job, was to try to get promoted. it seemed like the other guy gets promoted for slacking off and I did not for working hard and going out of my way of helping customers when I was not even asked by my supervisor.

I enjoyed getting to know new people and the interaction I had with the customers.
Pros
raises, decent management
Cons
unfair promotions
Was this review helpful?Yes27No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management, can be fun at times,
Automotive Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Springfield, TNMarch 23, 2016
My stores management team all dislike each other for the most part, besides a few that get in there clicks or groups, and of course they have their favorite employees and the favorites get away with things that would normally end with a write up or being let go, like coming in late or missing more days than allowed. The co-workers as a whole are pretty good, but as an employee at walmart you really aren't made to feel like part of the company, in fact it's pretty much the opposite kind of like they are trying to push you out the door, if your not part of their click/group that is.
Pros
1-hour lunch, fun at times, a few friendly faces
Cons
pay, benefits, management, depressing environment
Was this review helpful?Yes12No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High-stress work environment with little to no positive re-enforcement, reward or adequate compensation.
Department Manager (Current Employee) –  Westerville, OHMarch 27, 2016
A typical day for a department manager at Walmart is being given a list of assigned tasks and requirements that are "the most important part of your job," and then given neither the time, staff or resources to accomplish them.

Management expectations typically exceed the ability of the individual to accomplish, and when some "project" is completed on time and on target, there is little to no positive feedback. Only negative.
Pros
Tasks are easy to understand as are policies and procedures.
Cons
Low compensation, bad hours, poor working conditions, high stress level, managerial incompetence.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walmart
Meat Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Westfield, INFebruary 25, 2016
Worked part time as a sales associate in the fresh area, mainly in the meat department.

The management team asked me if I was interested in advancement, and there were discussions, but the average time to become a manager was 15 years from what I was informed.

Also, I would have to relocate but would not have any options at my choice, and would have to go where i would be needed with the possibility of no notice.

I did apply to some open corporate jobs at the Bentonville, AR location with no reply back from the corporate office.

Overall, the people were good to work with and there were opportunities if one was willing to take a long period of time in order to build a career.
Pros
Work quality, teamwork, communications
Cons
Work to employee pay, benefits, advancement comes with little pay and more hours
Was this review helpful?Yes20No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better as a Customer
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Nacogdoches, TXApril 6, 2016
Make sure you want to do the position you start as because they will not move you to another department. They will put a new hire in that position before they move you. The open door policy does not work. The managers will ignore your schedule availability. If you do not have an open availability you will not be favored for anything like changing departments or a promotion. Do not listen to managers promises they do not keep them. The management pretends to care and listen to your concerns but overall it is about them and store profit. You will hear how good the company is and all the positive changes ahead but do your research. The benefits, insurance, and paid time off are best for full-time or salaried employees. Most are hired part-time so they don't have to give you benefits and insurance. Shift or department leaders forget about breaks and meals so you go late. If they remember they send you too early so by the end of an eight hour shift you work 3 to 4 hours without break. Then they forget to send you home so you're there another 30 minutes before you clock out.
Pros
Having a job
Cons
Better to shop here than work here
Was this review helpful?Yes18No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
IMS/Cashier/Modular Team (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSMarch 22, 2016
a typical day at work would be going in and getting all your tools needed for your job, checking your task menu, and getting started. You will learn a lot. You will learn about the register and the promps you may have to do for different transactions. You will learn how to change labels make flags and set moduler's.Inventory the items in the back and to be able to help run a department or more. the co-workers are very friendly, Management is there when you need the help. The most enjoyable part of the job was when we got to do in store fun raisers for Children's miracle network.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would not recommend.
Courtesy Clerk (Current Employee) –  Anchorage, AKMarch 16, 2016
If you are looking for a part time job, you will not find it at your local walmart. they overload you with hours dispite your part time status. but they cut your hours once a month to avoid giving you full time benefits. you are constantly forced into tasks you were not hired for. you are also given shift times that prevent you from getting any daily tasks done such as any medical appointments or visiting the Dmv. but it has its good days however, the job overall is simple and you rarely have to deal with people. the fresh air is amazing and the exercise is great. if you can get past the favoritism and all the forced overtime, then maybe this job is for you.
Pros
exercise, fresh air, and independant work
Cons
overloaded hours, immature management
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to work hard, this can be a rewarding company
CAP1 (Current Employee) –  Rogers, ARFebruary 16, 2016
Experiences within this company vary by location. I've had great treatment at some stores, and made life-long friendships. And I've also felt unwanted and under-appreciated at others that employ rude, hateful employees that work the bare minimum because there is a lack of incentive to work harder. In some cases the harder you work, the more is expected, and when you have an off-day when things are just not going right for you, there is a chance for coachings. I think the culture is not what it used to be, and definitely not what Sam Walton wanted. It's sad to see the look of despair on people's faces when they leave work. But, if you are looking for something to pay bills while going to school or just looking for extra cash to pay bills, it definitely fits that purpose.
Pros
discount card, healthcare benefits, earned paid time off, potential quarterly bonuses
Cons
no more paid holidays, lack of performance-based raises, no incentive
Was this review helpful?Yes53No3Report

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 72,043 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4