Walmart Employee Reviews

Found 82,246 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing environment, you find some forever friends.
Baker (Current Employee) –  Alabaster, ALMay 25, 2017
Walmart is a wonderful place to work! The company has amazing benefits and opportunities. At times, it can be a fast paced job, and other times it can be laid back. It really depends on what type of experience you are looking for in order to decide if Walmart is your "forever place of employment."
Pros
Your discount card gives 10%.
Cons
The lack of employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my job and the people I worked with
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, COMay 25, 2017
I liked working for Walmart,It was a great company to work for. the people were excellent and my managers were great. The only complaint I have was it's hard to juggle your home life due to the rotating hours. I was sad when I left due to the hours not being steady.
Pros
Discount card, good Managers
Cons
Rotating hours, not so friendly customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job with money coming in
Department Manager (Current Employee) –  Hermitage, TNMay 25, 2017
Overall it lacks important team building and personal development points. promises are never really met and department managers are the only ones really held accountable for anything.
Pros
Some benifits, some retail trainig, income
Cons
poor pay, unfrieldly work envoirment, and lack of personal growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintenance
Maintenance Worker (Current Employee) –  Audubon, NJMay 25, 2017
I clean restroom, sweep and mop floors, remove empty boxes. Other then that I have to do other people jobs, and I have to beg management to approve my vacation time.
Cons
Holiday pay was taken away, you get in trouble for work overtime, the pay is low, the lack of promotion, and they well cut your hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really diverse workplace, Can be very overwhelming cold there, People are easy to get along with.
Unloader/Processor (Former Employee) –  Mankato, MNMay 25, 2017
I worked here for about a year and two months. Ever since then my mind has been on a search the next best thing can compete with Walmart and there hasn't been much to find.
Pros
I got to work with like minded people, You can do a lot here if you know your potential.
Cons
Short breaks, Odd hours, Bundle up for winter wear while working or can get Frostbite.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad place
Ref # Assist (Current Employee) –  Orange City, FLMay 25, 2017
The worst place to work no management or leadership whatsoever.. a lot of favoritism personell department don't care all raises and reviews are decided from corporate office in Arkansas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workflow, but underpaid
Unloader/Stocker (Former Employee) –  TexasMay 25, 2017
Enjoyed the job just wasn't happy with the pay but was the only job I could get at the time. Management was great and worked well with me and the employees but once again the pay wasn't so great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSMay 25, 2017
It was once again just very bad experience. The people were rude. They always snatched money and debit cards and when asked nicely to place their card in the right direction to swipe, they rudely got upset and offended me.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lot of drama
Deli Associate (Current Employee) –  Lodi, CAMay 25, 2017
There is a lot of drama in all departments and the management is very slow and does not handle things to the professional level as they should. I recommend thinking twice before applying
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with great co workers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Martinez, CAMay 25, 2017
I had help from almost every employee so i was able to learn very quick and fast and the training was very well detailed also so i was very comfortable and settled with my workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a horrible job, but gets stressful
Claims Associate (Current Employee) –  Mill Hall, PAMay 25, 2017
Overall, none of the jobs I have had were bad. Generally the other associates were nice. Main issue was being told different things by different managers that conflicted when it came to work.
Pros
Decent Pay, Generally easy work
Cons
Management sometimes, little raises that are not based on peformence
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked the pay.
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Troy, ALMay 25, 2017
A typical day at work would be Unloading Frate to the sales floor.
I learned how to sort frate.
Management was okay, required to work long hours.
The hardest part of the job was unloading the frate.
The most enjoyable part of the job was talking to the people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Ironwood, MIMay 25, 2017
Walmart corporation is a satisfactory company to work for in a small town like I live in. However being a retail environment has it's limitations for advancement unless you are willing to relocate.
Pros
Insurance, 401k, stock options
Cons
Scheduling, Limited advancement options
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Benton, ARMay 24, 2017
they expect you to work every weekend as if you have no life. Then you have to put in for a day off at least 1 month in advance or you might not get it.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
No weekends off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with people everyday
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Broken Arrow, OKMay 24, 2017
Walmart was a great job I got to meet people and start climbing the corporate ladder, I was working extremely well with management and customers. I only wish that i could have been full time.
Pros
Met with new people everyday
Cons
only worked part time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast work days and flexible hours
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMay 24, 2017
They let me work as many hours I wanted as long as it didn't make it over the part-time requirements. The work day usually went fast because the store is usually busy. I liked the relationship I had with my co-workers. The hardest part of the job was standing in one place all day long.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work.
Cap team 2 (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAMay 24, 2017
I absolutely loved working there but unfortunately I had to move to a different city. The management team truly looks out for employees and helps in any way possible.
Pros
Room for growth.
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Anxiety Inducing
Walmart Cashier (Former Employee) –  Port Orchard, WAMay 24, 2017
Wasn't really trained to start with. Just basics then tossed in. So all registers would be having issues, and it'd be for ever till help arrived. Making clients upset.
A lot of the cashiers were cranky, and kept to their self. Not many talkative friendly people who work at Walmart.
Store Manager was nice, very friendly. Loved my smile which made me happier.
But it upset me, that they would not listen too what time I could work. They'd always put me working till Midnight. Which I had to walk home for an hour. Down the dark streets, with barely any lights.

The thing I loved the most was when a client would ask if I was new. Just cause I was still smiling.
Cons
discounts do not start till 90 days working.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was friendly
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVMay 24, 2017
It's a good first job. Everyone is nice and a friend. They have the right amount of breaks and a good time of lunch. They explain everything very well so you understand
Pros
2 breaks 1 Lunch
Cons
Would forget about you when your light was flashing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with opportunity for growth
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Greer, SCMay 24, 2017
I enjoyed working for Walmart. I spent 4 years with the company. I started as a shoe department associate and was eventually promoted to a customer service manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 95,263 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4