Walmart Employee Reviews

Found 91,487 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work meeting new people.
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Mansfield, PAAugust 17, 2017
It was a comfortable place to work and the employees were friendly. It was a great place to meet new people and learn from them.
The hours were up to the employee upon being hired.
Whenever we had a birthday, the manager would order a cake and give free lunches.
Overall it was a good place to work.
Pros
Free lunches on special opccasions such as birthdays.
Cons
A few customers were rude to the employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cart pishingvwas a laid back job, collecting carts and keeping He lot clean of debris.
Cart Pusher (Former Employee) –  Webster, TXAugust 17, 2017
From afternoon until closing, or morning until evening I pushed and collect the carts around The lot, also picking up trash as I saw it, I often helped with groceries, and did door greeting
Pros
Long breaks, listening to music
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walmart
Cashier / Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Lake City, FLAugust 17, 2017
It was a good place to work other then not getting very many hours. Never took my breaks on time. And if you didn't then your break was cut short. Did not pay very well to be able to support a family.
Cons
short break, not good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's decent at best
Electronics Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tooele, UTAugust 17, 2017
Assuming that you know little to nothing about the department you're working in it's alright. Pay is fair under those conditions, also has decent benefits. However if you are more skilled in an area, the pay is lack luster.
Pros
Manditory Lunches/Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review summary
Wal-Mart Associate (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYAugust 17, 2017
the job itself isn't to bad and it can be a fun place to work however the pay is not enough the workload and the expectation placed upon employees is to high for such a low wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very customer orient enviroment
Stocker/Custodian (Former Employee) –  Waseca, MNAugust 17, 2017
I worked a year and a half as a stock man and was required to down stack pallets of merchandise and place on the sales floor, while taking overstock to the back to taken care of. I worked a year and a half as a Janitor, which required cleaning the sales floor and bathrooms, along with retrieving carts.
Pros
three breaks per 8 hour period, pleasant coworkers
Cons
favoritism among management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow
Deli Associate (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAAugust 17, 2017
I had plenty experience in this field, but this store was never very busy when I was working. Therefore I didn't get very many hours. They would also leave me to work by myself for 6 hrs at a time.
Pros
discounts
Cons
no hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Sikeston, MOAugust 17, 2017
The hardest part of my job is the management. I have learned how to strip and wax floors, and to make sure that the bathroom are clean. I also know how to make cardboard and plastic bells.
Pros
job security
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and demanding
Customer Service Associate and Cashier (Former Employee) –  West Lebanon, NHAugust 17, 2017
I worked in just the cashiering and customer service desk. I met all kinds of people and had good days and bad days. It is a very fast-paced environment.
Pros
the competetive wages
Cons
lack of employees at any given time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHAugust 17, 2017
very fast paced but productive experience. Hardest part was dealing with some customers who never saw anything good in your services no matter how hard you tried to serve them
Pros
learned a lot on the job
Cons
lack of career progression in my profession
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a way to make a living
PRODUCE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Siloam Springs, ARAugust 17, 2017
Walmart gave me the opportunity I needed to get ahead in everything I wanted to accomplish I owe everything to the managers that gave me a chance to work for this company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun unloading the truck we have coming in daily
Cap 2 Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Pine Bluff, ARAugust 17, 2017
I have about 8 associates that help me unload the truck and then we stock the freight that comes off the truck everyday. I'm also in charge of 15 to 20 other associates that works on the grocery side of the store they also stock the freight that we have coming off the grocery truck.
Pros
We are allowed 1 hour lunch and 2-15 minute breaks
Cons
No longer breaks are allowed and I have dental insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Associate (Former Employee) –  Webb City, MOAugust 16, 2017
Overall I thought it was a great place to work. Everyone is very nice and the management was very good. I enjoyed working as a team there. I think there could be better pay though.
Pros
Teamwork, clean, management
Cons
Pay, part time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it!!!
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Bowling Green, KYAugust 16, 2017
Sometimes you get smelly customers and the computer systems are extremely bad but thats fine ... i loved the people I worked with but most of all the the fact that customers that come in all the time was always talking to me.
Pros
15 minute break and a 1 hour lunch, stock options, and 401k options.
Cons
Customer sometimes are rude
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very relaxed workplace
Overnight Stocker/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Rome, GAAugust 16, 2017
It is a very relaxed workplace. Great ppl. Great management. Good benefits. Paid vacations. Its a pace of your own. Very easy to learn. If not they will train till you figure it out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work interacting with the public
Fuel Attentant/Sale (Current Employee) –  Columbus, GAAugust 16, 2017
sometime fun learn how to deal with the public..management needs improvement..The work place is high risk...the hardest part of the job is watching out for robbers, but you will enjoy meeting new peoples everyday
Pros
bonus
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Sebring, FLAugust 16, 2017
I was a seasonal employee and they were so busy that they extended the seasonal so I was there for about a year. Everything is very scheduled and structured it's a fast-paced environment to work.
Pros
Very structured / managers for every department
Cons
Fast paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with many advancement opportunities
Store Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZAugust 16, 2017
Great company
Strong culture
Hard work/life balance
Management can be tough at times
Really good benefits and compensation
There will always be a job at Walmart no matter the position and responsibilities wanted.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Cake Decorator (Current Employee) –  TexasAugust 16, 2017
Filled and stock merchandise worked only weekends due to school which the assistant manager was not willing to work with schedule. Loved when I decorated cakes that I was proud of
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Merchandise, Greeter, Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Clinton, UTAugust 16, 2017
Enjoyable meeting people, but were monitored by a TV camera every minute of the day,

Difficult to say at any one time who the supervisor was. There were three levels of supervisors on duty and each liked to give conflicting instructions
Cons
Erratic Schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 106,574 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4