Find companies:
Walmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32,844 reviews

Walmart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright for temporary work
Cashier (Former Employee), Granbury, TXJuly 23, 2014
Overall inefficient with a lack of communication. However most employees are very friendly and willing to help each other out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They treat their employees terribly
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Shakopee, MNJuly 23, 2014
They preach respect for the individual, and open door policy. But in reality if you have a complaint about a manager or specific issue, they cite rules and always side with the manager. Concerns do not get heard. Also they do not except doctor's notes as an excuse to miss work. My husband was in the ICU in a hospital and got a written warning for it, – more... they would not except his hospital stay as an excuse to be absent from work. Horrible experience and horrible place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic Company
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Peoria, ILJuly 23, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: short breaks, long hours
I was in charge of three different departments within the store. I supervised over 20 associates. I helped to open new stores. I hired, trained, and did performance reviews of associates. I had the opportunity to work with a variety of people from different cultures. I was involved with Risk Management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walmart is a great place with great benifits an great associates
customer services (Former Employee), 3500 Glenschool RdJuly 23, 2014
I love working with the public learning different pesonalities an team work is the best type of work I enjoy working with my fellow associates I felt the support from my fellow associates when it came to customer services we got it done the hardest part of the job to me was getting support some of the management team yes the moto is customers always – more... right but customers also lie well I did have a great experience I love working with the public. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always things to do
Cashier/Sales (Former Employee), Bryan, TXJuly 23, 2014
Pros: we look out for one another
Cons: management does favortism
I enjoy going to work everyday. I got along with everybody. I always got my job done on time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being able to enter act with the customers.
Customer Service and cashier (Former Employee), Texarkana, TxJuly 23, 2014
Pros: your coworkers
Cons: if you were not full time you didn't get health care.
A day at work was fun. I learned that you have to have patients. Sometimes management seem to be stressed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the people I worked with and the shift that I worked
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Beloit, WIJuly 23, 2014
Pros: the money, some benefits
Cons: wal-marts management treatment of employees.
I was the firs over night shocker in the toy department. started at $8.75 a hour and there was no training really. I think I worked there for about 2 weeks before someone came over and helped me to learn what to do. By that time the department manager came to the overnight shift to train me. By my first year I was at $10.00 an hour because I became – more... a weekend worrier which meant I worked 4 days including all weekend day from 8pm to 7am and had 3 days off during the week. when Wal-Mart got ride of the shift I kept my pay and moved to the front as a cashier which I loved because I had much more interaction with the customers. In time i would help train new cashiers and help the front end managers when they went on vacation. I was asked to be a front end manager but I didn't think I could do the job the way I thought it should be done so I turned it down. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay company
Backroom Associate (Current Employee), Anderson, CAJuly 23, 2014
Cons: to much call ins
A easy day at work is when no one calls in and we are staffed. I learned alot from working at Walmart. Management are all different. Some are strict and go by the book while some are easy going and likes the rules followed but they aren't on you all the time. You just have to learn to adjust to the different management we get. The hardest part of the – more... job is when your coworker on your team doesn't ever show up to work so it makes us short staffed. I like to get the job done not partial. The most enjoyable part about my job is I learn a lot of new information that I never did before. I'm always learning something new every now and then which is a good thing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team played, fast pace on environment
Order Filler (Former Employee), Louisa, VAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: advancements
Cons: not part time
I loved this job, if I could go back I would If they offered part time employment. Gave over time any time and loved working with other employees. I learned how to use an electrical pallet jack. Picking orders was the most enjoyable part of the day and working in the freezer from time to time was fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work
Logistics Manager (Former Employee), Pageland, SCJuly 23, 2014
Pros: building relationships with assoicates
Cons: work/ life balance
Was promoted in a year from Supervisor to area manager. Working with an awesome team of associates. Team building, time & attendance, scheduling P.O. control, audit /bill of ladings. Small team so if people called out I had back fill positions. Working with a great team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staying busy, mostly clean and somewhat safe place
Lawn & Garden Sales Associate (Former Employee), Cartersville, GAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: hour long lunches, plus an additional 2 15-minute breaks.
Cons: management.
Your usual day consisted of a good amount of work, slack was not to be involved, you were held at a pretty considerable standard.

Depending on your co-workers, however, you could be stuck at a register and helping customers all day by yourself.

Management is very poor in my opinion.

The hardest part of the job was getting your tasks done if it were – more... a busy day of the week, a holiday, or more than usual amount of random moments of a high customer count. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wal-mart
Apparel Associate (Former Employee), las vegas nv 89110July 23, 2014
Pros: raffles once a week
Cons: short brakes
My Job was to keep my area clean i worked with the Shoes, and sometimes i had to work in the dressing room..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unloading trucks and stocking shelves very fast paced and enjoyable.
Inventory Control Specialist (Former Employee), Franklin, WIJuly 23, 2014
I loved working with people satisfying different customers and getting the most out of what they want. My co-workers always looked to me for advice because I was very efficient at my job I always work as hard as I can to make sure the job gets done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work for
Cashier (Former Employee), Marianna, FLJuly 23, 2014
this is a great company to work for friendly coworkers i got along with everybody great customers manage was great everything about this company is wonderful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Job security and fun
Cashier (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedule, friendly co-workers, short distance from home and 10% discount after 90 days of employment.
Cons: some customers were very rude. other than that, it was great
We all shop at Wal-Mart from time to time, but working there for those 6 months was the best. I only wish that it could have lasted longer. Management was always willing to work with my schedule on my day job. A typical day at work would mostly consist of doing my normal duties, socializing with customers along with helping them find what they came – more... there for. Payroll was very accessible, whether you received a paper check, direct deposit, or had your payroll card and that's what also counted as a plus for me. I loved being at that location because I stayed right at a mile from there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Custodian (Former Employee), Goulds, FloridaJuly 23, 2014
Very friendly place to work even under pressure. The co-workers that you have will keep you motivated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pleasurable work experience
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALJuly 23, 2014
Pros: meeting a variety of people
Cons: healthcare
face paced, long lines. I learned how to multi task at a quick pace. management was always very helpful. co-workers were always nice and helpful. the hardest part of the job was when the store was packed and customers were rude and irritated when you are moving as quick as you can. the most enjoyable part of the day is the conversation with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a job
Lead Cashier/Customer Associate (Current Employee), Marietta, GAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: decent job security
Cons: pay is really below average
Greeting customers and running a cash register. That's all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with the public
meat stocker (Former Employee), martinsville,vaJuly 23, 2014
Pros: the people i worked with.
Cons: the dental insurance
I enjoyed working with the people there it was the first time I have worked in retail but I enjoyed my job in the meat department and would like to stay with this kind of environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place cooking Food for Customers
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZJuly 23, 2014
My typical Day in the Deli Department was helping customers and preparing salads. What I learned from this experience was a lot. I learned that Customers were our #1 Priority. helping them with their needs.Management there were great and out-going. The hardest part of this job was dealing with frustrated customers. The most enjoyable part of the job – more... was cooking, cleaning, preparing salads and helping the Happy Customers! – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Walmart

Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., branded as Walmart since 2008 and Wal-Mart before then, is an American public multinational corporation – Read more