Walmart Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sale floor Associate (Former Employee) –  kankakee ILOctober 17, 2017
The Managers are power hungry and dosent know what they are doing and tend to over work some of the workers. the employees are nice and its a very friendly enviroment,
Pros
hour lunches and benefits
Cons
power hungry managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average for retail work.
Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Crystal Lake, ILOctober 17, 2017
I was fortunate enough to end my time at WalMart on 3rd shift. The perks were that is was consistent a reliable hours. My reason for parting with the company was that I was no longer able to work overnights and had to find a position with comparable pay and earlier hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place To Work
Jewelry Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Jackson, TNOctober 17, 2017
I enjoy working at Walmart. I receive benefits but I cannot keep just working part time. That is why I am looking for a full time job. Management is mostly good, not that many problems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALOctober 17, 2017
there wasn't anything hard about this job
I learned how to deal with the outside world
Management really does care about there employees
There really wasn't anything hard to me
Walmart is a good company to work for
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard labor
Order Filler (Former Employee) –  Gordonsville, VAOctober 17, 2017
fast pace environment
strict policy for leave and sick
good pay
good incentives
very competitive
managers were cool
learned how to use equipment
trainers were good
Pros
incentives
Cons
strict policy for leave
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Inventory Control Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Morehead, KYOctober 17, 2017
This is a very poorly run company. It is all about profit. employees are throw away unless you learn how to suck up to management. Management does not care about employees or customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical work day
Cashier (Current Employee) –  FloridaOctober 17, 2017
Walmart was an over all enjoyable environment to work in and very flexible with school hours. Schedule changes every two weeks and are able to request days off.
Pros
breaks and lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoy working at walmart
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Homestade FloridaOctober 17, 2017
lots of work unloading shipment ever night. stock maintenance planograms and price changes. Develop and cultivated strong buying relationships with customers. Strive to quick complaint and resloution commended by supervisor for the ability to resolive problems on the first call and avoid escalation of issues.
Pros
great work enviorment learnd a lot good co workers
Cons
overnight not the best
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fast Pace
Cashier, Health and Beauty Aid (Former Employee) –  Beckley, WVOctober 17, 2017
Wal mart isn't a bad company to work for, its a very stressful job, aggravating at times, some management is hard to deal with.
but overall its a good company and you have room for advancement
Pros
hour lunches
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very easy job
Support Manager (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CAOctober 17, 2017
working for Walmart was a great experience. Taught me a lot about customer service and Walmart has a lot of room to grow within the company. Overall a great experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overnight stocker
Stocker/Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, CAOctober 17, 2017
When i stared working for Wal-Mart it was a good job at the time i just think the pay wasn't enough. they just need to work beter on management

i learned how to stock on the sales
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work, inconsistent hours, bad benefits, no job security
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ankeny, IAOctober 17, 2017
I like being a cashier but sometimes its very slow and sometimes its very busy. walmart pays minimal but pays better now. their beenfits were decent at best while the CEO is driving around in a diamond car probably.
Pros
fun, energizing, exciting, social
Cons
pay, benefits, management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier - Part Time (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NC 28311October 17, 2017
I'm not working at Walmart this present time. But when I was working there I loved it because I got to meet new people everyday and my co-workers were great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, NCOctober 17, 2017
My typical day at was coming in to notes that had to get completed on a daily basis, I did evaluations on associates, did there schedules, I managed different depts, and I was over 20 associates, I sent out emails on daily basis to fellow managers and dept managers.
Pros
Medical, Dental, Life insurance paid vacations
Cons
Worked very long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamwork and friendly customers.
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  South Lyon, MIOctober 17, 2017
Great teamwork in the Deli. The workers and customers were friendly. Management would help out when we were desperate for an extra pair of hands, however it seemed we were always shorthanded at our busiest times. The hardest part of the job was trying to do the job without the help and equipment necessary to do the work.
Pros
Great crew to work with
Cons
Low wages and few hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull and unorganized
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDOctober 17, 2017
Fairness depends on the manager chain. Pay can be fair depending on your position. Job security varies. Sanitation is not upkept and safety violations are common.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive with good people to work with
TLE Greeter (Former Employee) –  Goodyear, AZOctober 17, 2017
Greeting and assisting customers in the selection of products Provided support by making sales and for special promotions
Answered customers questions about merchandise
Itemized and totaled customer merchandise at checkout
Recognized by customers who appreciated my extra efforts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Store Asst. Manager (Former Employee) –  MichiganOctober 17, 2017
working with people and interacting. being a mgr wereing different hats at all times you have to be a people person the co is very fast paced and the people become a part of a family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy with no breaks
Cart Associate (Former Employee) –  Taylor, PAOctober 17, 2017
They usually made me work alone when it was the busiest days, management was okay but if you did something wrong they would scream at you instead of telling you polity how to do it. What I learned was no matter how difficult or how busy the job is you have to try you best to complete it and finish the job.
Cons
No breaks or lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Shipping Clerk (Former Employee) –  Robert, LAOctober 17, 2017
Very fast paced and noisy work environment. Work with great team and great managers. Great pay and benefits. Set schedule and set off days. Pay increases often.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 114,811 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4