War Memorial Hospital Employee Reviews

Found 25 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and some great people to wotk with
Billing Analyst (Current Employee) –  Sault Sainte Marie, MIOctober 14, 2016
I come in around 7:45 and sit at my desk and key payments for 8 hours with a half hour lunch in there. I enjoy what i do, but my job is being eliminated due to a new computer system that the hospital has acquired that will post the $ for them.
Pros
Great health care
Cons
Misguidance by directors.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun engaging place to work
Clinical Internship (Former Employee) –  Sault Sainte Marie, MIJuly 29, 2016
I enjoyed working at this hospital and my co-workers were great! The hospital was very patient focused and highly regarded by he community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A dedicated community hospital.
Lead Phlebotomist (CPBT) (Current Employee) –  Sault Sainte Marie, MIMay 16, 2016
They strive for excellent patient care for the community.
Management strives to provide a work/personal life balance for their employees.
Pros
Education assistance, & career advancement.
Cons
No lounge areas for employees, away from patient care areas.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family orientated
Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) (Former Employee) –  Sault Sainte Marie, MIFebruary 1, 2016
learning is always around the corner, I call it free education
management really truly cares
co-workers helps make it really feel like family
night shift hours takes a real toll on your body need proper rest
when the patient leaves the hospital with that healthy glow on their faces
Pros
free education
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice patients
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Berkeley Springs, WVDecember 23, 2015
Nice patients, fun environment not so hot management they didn't treat everybody fair they had there picks.And seemed like the people who actually did there work was the ones they would always come down on when something went wrong
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blood work
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Sault Sainte Marie, MIOctober 10, 2015
Willing to work with you on your schedule. Lots of good on the job training. Excellent and supportive staff to work with. Warm environment
Pros
Fun friendly staff, great hours
Cons
Lowest paid hosiptal staff in MI, lack of job security
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very tough place to work
PTA (Former Employee) –  michiganMay 11, 2015
This company only seems to care about profit and business. Quality of care is poor. very limited time spent with patients and is forced to be rushed to increase productivity. They don't care about your personal life, they expect your work to come before anything else over family etc. you pay a fortune for heath coverage and has a high deductible. Can advance in career but difficult to get. Management sucks and never does what they say they will do or take care of your issues.
Pros
beautiful rehab gym and plenty of equipment and space
Cons
hard to please the staff and supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work the benefits are lacking
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, MIApril 14, 2015
There was a lot of issues between co-workers. Overall the job was great. Provide on the job training for both clinical and trauma situations.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but rewarding work
Emergency Room Admissions Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, MIMarch 11, 2015
My duties as an admitting clerk consisted of...
Admitting patients into the ER as well as other various departments for ordered tests. Billing insurance companies, taking co-pays as well as patient bills.
Pros
Fun energetic staff
Cons
Upset ER visitors waiting to be seen
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Registration is a great place to be
Registration Clerk/Switchboard Operator (Current Employee) –  Sault Sainte Marie, MIMarch 7, 2015
At War, the employees all treat each other with respect no matter what level of job you hold. In registration, we have A LOT of things to do and the job is very important. My director was absolutely amazing and she made the job so much better.
Cons
Hard to work up without college degree or certification
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hospital with good work culture
Full-Time RN (Former Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, MIFebruary 3, 2015
This hospital was great to work for. Very diverse patient population and I got a variety of experience from medical to surgical to psychiatric. We worked in teams of 1 RN and 1 CNA which was great. This hospital does have required union and bases a lot on seniority.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well ran company
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sault Sainte Marie, MINovember 12, 2014
I loved working for WMH. Its a friendly atmosphere. The coworkers are as close to you as family.
Pros
Friendly atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hometown touch great team work
RN (Former Employee) –  Berkeley Springs, WVJuly 3, 2014
Awesome place to work. Everyone jumps in to see that the patients needs are met.
Pros
The people
Cons
no able to get overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff was helpful I enjoyed working there
Out Patient Coder (Former Employee) –  Sault Sainte Marie, MIApril 25, 2014
I had my own hours to work which was nice when I was raising children. I learned how to use an encoder. My co-workers were helpful when I had an issue.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a friendly place to work for.
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, MIFebruary 12, 2014
Company is a great place and a place to move up if going in the field of serving the public, as in health.
Pros
Good benefit and staff.
Cons
Work every other weekend.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
draw blood all day
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Berkeley Springs, WVSeptember 24, 2013
Draw blood from 0600 til 1100 return at 1800 to 2300.
File, mail results, confirm reports, answer phones,
Was this review helpful?Yes7No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long term care unit
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, MIAugust 23, 2013
Worked as a C.N.A in ltc, great hospital to work for. Potential is there for furthering your career.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
about this WMH
nurse aide (Former Employee) –  sault ste marie, michiganJuly 30, 2013
If you like going to high when you are adult you will like working here. People lie about things and treat you bad if you don't fit in.
Pros
there are no pros to this job at
Cons
people lieing about you, short breaks, mean people, drunk employees, employees that swear at you
Was this review helpful?Yes8No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing employer to work for
Medical Social Worker/Recipient Rights Officer (Current Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, MIJanuary 29, 2013
The only reason I will be leaving this employer as a Social Worker is to relocate to a different state.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Learning Environment
Radiologic and MRI Technologist (Former Employee) –  Sault Sainte Marie, MIDecember 26, 2012
The first half of a typical day would be with the first shift staff. The second half would just be me working with one clerical and one CT tech. We would be responsible for the ER, OR, Intensive Care, OB, Long term care and any outpatients that needed to come after normal hours.
I learned how to manage my time wisely, to quickly triage which patients needed my help first, and to do my job expeditiously for all involved.
My co-workers were mostly young people who, unfortunately, lacked consistency in the workplace but meant well. Some were a bit older with more experience and I enjoyed working with them all, old and young alike.
Pros
a great place for me to learn mri
Cons
the pay was lower than the state and national average.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at War Memorial Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7