Find companies:
Washington University in St. Louis
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
130 reviews

Washington University in St. Louis Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grants/Budget Specialists
Grants/Budgets Specialist (Current Employee), St. Louis, MODecember 16, 2014
Typical day, what I learned, Mangaement, Co-workers, hardest part of the job, the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning culture
Research Technician I (Former Employee), Washington University School of MedicineDecember 14, 2014
I enjoy the academic research setting because there is always new and interesting subjects to learn. I believe I can use these knowledge for science industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University/Teaching Setting... if you like research then you will enjoy your time here.
Clinical Nursing Supervisor (Current Employee), St. Louis, MODecember 5, 2014
University/Teaching Setting... if you like research then you will enjoy your time here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice research environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee), St.LouisDecember 3, 2014
Pros: professors are all very helpful
Cons: sometimes need to work late
I learned a lot from the research work in WUSTL. It is really a nice University and research institution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work with a catch
Department Accountant (Former Employee), St. Louis, MONovember 29, 2014
Pros: great salary/benefits
Cons: unprofessional environment, lack of leadership
The department I worked in was a hot mess. Way too many managers in comparison with employees. Most of my co workers were awesome.

The excellent benefits and salary are great except for the cliques and other incessant nonsense that goes on. Lots of unprofessional behavior. One manager in particular was a total control freak psycho. Witnessed way too – more... many altercations between this manager and other employees. Must not have much of a home life I guess but I Got tired of all of it. Forget advancing or transferring out unless you were connected or a brown noser. Glad I left. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Patient Svc.Rep.III-Peds Cardiology (Current Employee), St.Louis,MissouriNovember 22, 2014
Pros: love my coworkers
Cons: advancement is tough
The people are so friendly. Advancement is difficult here, you are up against many people applying for same positions. Your chances are minimal unless you know someone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work
Research Patient Coordinator-Department of Surgery (Current Employee), St. Louis, MONovember 17, 2014
Research on colon cancer and ways to eliminate cancer disparities in the under served population.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They put the fun in work
Medical Assitant (Former Employee), St. Louis, MONovember 7, 2014
Pros: free lunch and coffee work-out program offered
Cons: short breaks
Great place to work and fun a place for advancement in a work environment and school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Member of the American College of Cardiology (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 28, 2014
Busy work flow
Good location
Friendly staff
good Salary
Big hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employment at Washington University
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 21, 2014
Pros: free lunch, free bus passes, parties held with companies.
Cons: hours or trying to get full time hours, unorganized at work somehimes.
When I am at work, a typical day for me is to work with a team of positive people and to make people smile everyday. I've learned that you must be patient when working with others because we have to remain professional in our work. To me it is important to keep everyone in a positive manner. The most enjoyable part about my job is building relationships – more... with the customers. I am very out going and I love to make people enjoy the fact that they came to visit and purchase items from our company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very corrupt managers
IBC II-Payment Posting (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 21, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: management and hr does not support minority employees.
Sad place to work.
Management doesn't care.
HR protects management's tactics.
If you report unfair treatment you're retaliated against.
Discrimination is a common practice.
Management turns staff members against each other.
Bullies *****bullies***** bullies
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mechanics of Deformable Bodies
Teaching Assistance (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 20, 2014
TA/Grader for Mechanics of Deformable Bodies

The general guideline for graders in courses is that it should take between 15 and 45 minutes per student per problem set.

TS should meet with the instructor of the course to determine how many help sessions and the length of time for each help session.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and team oriented atmosphere
Custodial Worker (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 19, 2014
Team cleaning of buildings around medical campus. Typical day of work can be pulling trash, cleaning bathrooms, mop or buffing floors, and dusting. Co-workers and management provided a team atmosphere. Working together to get one goal accomplish.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stimulating and Challenging
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), St LouisOctober 10, 2014
There is always something going on, never a dull moment! I feel stimulated and excited about the work I do. The people I work with are grand. It is nice to know that I am supporting people who are making the world a better place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
PRN staff nurse (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 3, 2014
The people at Siteman are fantastic - knowledgeable and compassionate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fun
Project Assistant (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 3, 2014
Everyday at work was amazing. Everyone I worked with were nice. The people I met were amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Course Material Administrator (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: 4 week vacation, tuition benefits, 401k matching
Cons: commute
Great boss and coworkers. I've been in the same position for over a decade, it's time for a new challenge in a new environment. Hopefully much closer to home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look somewhere else
Senior Grant Specialist (Former Employee), St. Louis MoSeptember 21, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: salaries
I work at Wash U and regret to say management is a joke. The Administrator knows nothing about grants and demeans you daily. He's an overpaid secretary that couldn't get a job anywhere else. The verbal language and abuse is unexceptable. The work load gets bigger with no money. Cost of living increases are insane 1.5%? Don't get sucked into the benefits – more... because there are better jobs out there. It depends on the department you work in and all the politics involved. I have seen multiple women crying because the management threw something at them or cursed them out. Nothing ever happens to management though. I have seen 15 secretaries both full time and part time come and go in a very short period. Everyone I talk to is looking to get out, most stay for the benefits. It's a real snake pit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Isolated work environment
Lab Manager (Former Employee), Saint Louis, MOSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: flexibility of time within 9 to 5 schedule, great health care benefits
Cons: below average compensation, little guidance in advancing our research
I was under an employer who slowly allowed his lab to dwindle down to me and him, with a few undergraduate assistants (all of whom I trained from start to finish). Even though I was given the responsibility of managing the lab (keeping regulatory procedures up to date and in good standing with regulatory bodies), I was never officially promoted to manager – more... or given any sort of monetary compensation to signify such. I was isolated in the lab, doing my job and rarely got to collaborate with others until the end of my time there and by that time I knew the lab was closing because our collaborating principal investigator informed me of this in June 2013, before my boss informed me in October of 2013 that the lab would close at the end of December 2013. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just ok
Clinical Services Coordinator (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 30, 2014
Pros: nice benefits
Cons: bad managers
Benefits are nice but don't expect that your opinions will be valued, especially when you're trying to make things run smoother. Upper management cares very little about the lower end employees who are actually doing the grunt workl

1 2 3 4 5

About Washington University in St. Louis

Employer of Choice in the St. Louis area! Washington University School of Medicine is an employer of choice in the St. Louis – Read more

Washington University in St. Louis Photos