Washtenaw Community College Employee Reviews

Found 45 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching at the Community College Level
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIJanuary 8, 2017
I consider myself lucky to have had the opportunity to teach at the college I first attended when starting my educational pursuits. I loved it as a student, I loved it as an Instructor. The smaller class sizes allow you to personally know and interact with all of your students.
Pros
Free Parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great feeling to be able to help others
Student Connection Worker - Student Center (Current Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIOctober 18, 2016
Wonderful co-workers and management! Each day brings me new knowledge about the College which is a great way to learn about all the things Washtenaw Community College has to offer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It used to be great
Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  MarketingAugust 27, 2016
Creative work is now farmed out. Only production work in-house.

Current management style is: fear, intimidation and bullying.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Management style is: fear, intimidation and bullying
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work study position
Work Study Student (Former Employee) –  Ypsilanti, MIJuly 16, 2016
The staff of my posting went to the college to find the funds to keep me on throughout the entire year. It was a college job, it was what I could do to survive to the next week. Its a great school, cheaper than going directly to university.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff and clean work environment
Welding Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIJune 28, 2016
Washtenaw Community College is a great place to work. Clocking in and out of work is made easier with an electric identification card. Friendly staff keep work a happy understanding place. There is always time for figuring things out so communication comes easy.
Pros
Top of the line ventilation for welding fumes and welding equipment.
Cons
Loud
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cafeteria/gym nice teaching environment
Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIJune 6, 2016
Washtenaw Community College
Responsibilities include instruction in:
• Basic math
• Algebra
• Health Science
• Business Math
• Trigonometry and Pre Calculus
Conduct and Grade Exam
Pros
gym
Cons
health care/retirments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
English Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIApril 2, 2016
Washtenaw Community College is a fun place to work. The student environment fosters student creativity and hard work while also providing a safe space for all students.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun workplace with a library.
Help Desk Technician (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MINovember 14, 2015
A typical day at works involves checking in with Management for Important news and or updates, saying hi to Co-workers, making sure work area is in order, and Answering any Questions people may have & Providing Assistance.
Pros
Easy Work Depending on Experience, Good Enviroment
Cons
Hard to Advance, Pretty Strict Rules
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with a a lot of energy
English Tutor (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MISeptember 30, 2015
The boss is terrific, the staff is knowledgeable. It can be a bit pretentious at times, yet the job was focused on the people.
Pros
flexible scheduling
Cons
capped salary
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people make the job a pleasure
Contract Administrator & Purchasing Analyst (Current Employee) –  Budget, Purchasing, and Auxiliary ServicesSeptember 13, 2015
It is a pleasure to work with and for people from all walks of life that are interested in improving their lives and the lives of those around them. Overall, the management does not hesitate to encourage and promote initiative and drive in employees.The most enjoyable part of the job is helping people (executives, managers, staff, and students) find viable solutions and compromises that work for all parties involved. The red tape and politics are currently having an adverse affect on employee moral. As more and more people resign or retire, the workflow for experienced staff has become overwhelming as we try to juggle the training needs of newly hired personnel and our existing job duties.
Pros
Excellent benefits package with an abundance of time off
Cons
Taking longer and longer work hours to get the work done
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Trained
Internship (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIAugust 24, 2015
I did not work for Washtenaw Community College, I was a student and studied video there. I was well trained in filming, editing and production planning.
Was this review helpful?YesNo8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love teaching there
Part Time Faculty (Current Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIAugust 22, 2015
A great place to teach, love the students and faculty I have met. Wish they had the opportunity for full time employment in LifeLong Learning.
Pros
Great atmosphere
Cons
No benefits for part time faculty
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wide range of ethnic groups represented in the workplace. Family type of environment.
Computer Commons Support Staff (Current Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIJuly 12, 2015
•Assisted students with software and hardware issues
•Facilitated policy and procedures, monitored lab, and re-stocked when needed
•Utilized customer service skills and supported staff as needed
Pros
Enjoyable co-workers
Cons
No benefits, part time work only, little chance for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and learing
Laboratory Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIJune 5, 2015
What I like the most about my current job is that it gives me the opportunity to learn and be creative. I would check in with my supervisor and instructors to ask her what their needs are for the week. I would set up and break down all labs, maintaining medical supply inventory, assist with RN's, access to Lippincott Docu Care, maintain organization, run high fidelity simulators, and low fidelity simulators. My co-workers were amazing. My most enjoyable part of the job is helping the students achieve their dreams, and watching them grow.
Pros
Creative enviroment
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive work place
Work Study Student (Current Employee) –  Ypsilanti, MIMay 26, 2015
A fun and rewarding job where I helped budding entrepreneurs using research and prior knowledge to help them along the path to owning a business.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Off the main campus
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative people to work with
VIDEO LAB TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIMay 18, 2015
Working as a lab tech at WCC was a very good experience because the equipment managers and other techs are all people who crave new and creative ways to create media and exchange ideas.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very satisfying
Lab Aide (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIMay 13, 2015
I would help students with basic Microsoft words or database applications. I learned a lot about helping others and how to be motivated. Management was awesome and very helpful. Students that were good at what they do. When you have a problem and you can not solve it without talking to your supervisor first. Hearing students responses and listening to how they would do things differently.
Pros
work balance life/ school
Cons
price foods
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIApril 23, 2015
I loved it even though it was a Temp position I appreciated the time I got to put in. Everyone was treated fairly and things ran very smoothly for the most part.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day at work
Financial Aid Clerk I (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIMarch 10, 2015
Assisting students with enrollment into college and answering FA questions. Great working environment and flexibility with schedule and work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic work place
Senior Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ann ArborMarch 8, 2015
The hardest part about this job is dealing with inter-office politics. I learned how to manage juggling several different task and how to accurately designate which tasks were more pressing then others.
Pros
Good company
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Washtenaw Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 46 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
4.1
Culture
4.2

Washtenaw Community College Reviews by Location