Waste Connections Employee Reviews

Found 98 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most poorly managed company I've seen.
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Fife, WAJanuary 18, 2017
DM Recycling is without a doubt the worst managed company I've worked for. Discipline and policy enforcement is extremely SUBJECTIVE. Intimidation is their management model. Preach servant leadership, but in fact is the exact opposite. The more sense employee input makes, the more management resists. Approach employee suggestions and concerns as subversive and REFUSE to allow employees to feel validated or empowered!?!? Hostile, unstable, uncomfortable work environment.
Wage scale is a disaster. Certain people making $3 more per hour to do the same job?!
Horrible benefit package. Don't take care of the employees that make them profitable.
Worst place I've ever worked.
Pros
Wages are competitive.
Cons
Poor benefits and general care for employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible pay and vacation
Office Staff (Former Employee) –  TennesseeMarch 17, 2017
Management claims to care but if you voice concerns or disagree with them then you might as well start looking for a new job. There are some great people, but the few managers who think it is their way or the highway ruin the culture. You can get paid far better else where to do the same job and the benefits and time off policies are pathetic.
Pros
Casual work environment
Cons
Pay, vacation, upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A bad place to work for
Driver (Former Employee) –  Red Bluff, CAFebruary 4, 2017
Lets start off by, you do three jobs for one salary. One is being a driver. Two, is manual very hard labor. Three, is customer service. And let me tell you, customers are very demanding. Who would think, its only garbage. Not only is it customer service, its all about exceeding customers expectations. Trucks are older than dinosaurs. Not everyone is treated the same. They expect you to do pre trip inspection with out pay. Contradicting rules... and theres more... but I'm tired of wriring.
Pros
They hire with out experience
Cons
Everything else besides the pro.
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it
Driver (Former Employee) –  Elko, NVFebruary 2, 2017
Not a safe place to work, they don't fix trucks. Set you up for failure and blame you for everything. They talk to much about safety but there's nothing safe there. I wouldn't recommend working there. Management always is right even if you have proof that they are wrong. An employee is never right.
Pros
Benefits and coworkers
Cons
Bad management and trucks
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Attendant (Current Employee) –  Placerville, CAJuly 30, 2016
I been with this company for 10yrs and i love my job! Everyday is a different experience ... i enjoy meeting customers and be able to offer the best customer service so the customer leaves with a smile! Thats the best part for me ...
The day goes by fast, its always busy.
Of course it has a bad side like every other job, it can be stressful and at times u get customers yelling at u. Also everyone is pretty much stable so not much room to grow for a higher position.

We work as a team.. manager has been great ... and i hope to be part of this team for many more years!
Pros
Good benefits, pay is good
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes8No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast pace, dirty
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, WAAugust 30, 2016
You can't have a weak stomach working here. You have to be able to multitask. If you work hard and excel more than other workers you can possibly be (but most likely won't) moved up and absolutely no raises management is poor and will do whatever necessary to get their bonus at the end of the year.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Hourly pay, maintenance, management
Was this review helpful?Yes19No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYAugust 17, 2016
Poor communication from management in regards to start times and safety meetings. Work long hours, 13 days on before a day off and shifts were 12 hours. Start times were any where from 6pm to 8pm.
Pros
Company provided cold weather gear, benefits, paid vacation every 6 months
Cons
poor communication between management and employees, 12 hour shifts with 13 days in a row before a day off
Was this review helpful?Yes18No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good but no job opportunity
Roll off driver (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXDecember 2, 2016
The benefits were good. The Job opportunities were not great. The salary was not what I was looking for. Very good work enviroment, and overall a good job.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont do it
Operator (Former Employee) –  Erie, COAugust 9, 2016
Out of the 7 operating jobs ive had in 25 years this is the worst. Just like all the reviews. Terrible management. Bad equipment. Terrible pay. 10 cent raise anually. And bottom poff the line benefits. Domt waste your time. The management is the main reason i left. Its terrible from the top down. Complete 2 face
Pros
Job security of you can handle it
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes25No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sorry place to wirk dumb managerz
Worker (Former Employee) –  El Campo, TXFebruary 25, 2017
Sorry place to work, getting paid 8.50 helper to work hard labor, the managers are dumb as a rock and only do audits OK once every couple months which everyone knows when they are. The helpers smoke weed drink behind the trucks this is by far the worst job ever, the drivers were the best ppl around except for the ones dat have been their for a while think their Foreman's. Best advice stay away they have cameras alot rules like they pay alot nk jib security ignorant non educared managers..
Pros
None see helpers dig and find goods worthore then their pay.
Cons
Pay, managers, raggedy equipment, absurd rules.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver Safety concerns
Driver (Current Employee) –  Monroe, NCNovember 25, 2016
Condition of the trucks was poor. Drivers are not given proper training on safety and DOT regulations. Management does not know how to safely operate trucks. Work hours exceeds the legal limit and management edits DOT logs to be within legal limits without notifying the driver. When driver questions it they are reprimanded.
Pros
comparable benefit package, caring co-workers
Cons
Management does not care about work life balance only their bottom line. (getting their bonus)
Was this review helpful?Yes21No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good permanent position
solid waste collection driver (Current Employee) –  Casper, WYMarch 9, 2017
The company itself is very wonderful however the individual casper location is not very good to work at due to small district there is no room for advancement the manager simply put is a snake in the grass who coddles certain employees says one thing yet proves otherwise I do not recommend working for this place unless management and mechanics are replaced
Pros
stable work
Cons
manager
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique Values-Based, Servant Leadership Culture where Employees are Empowered
Manager (Current Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXSeptember 12, 2016
Waste Connections is an amazing company! Employees are empowered to operate freely, leaders are servant leaders who truly care about their employees, executives are visionary leaders who have high integrity and achieve unparalleled results. The company feels like a family but functions like a high performing sports team. Employees are held accountable for results not processes—it’s more about what we accomplish and less about how it’s done. The company’s core values of Safety, Integrity, Customer Service, Great Place to Work, and Premier Waste Services Company guide every decision. If you want to work for a company that will empower you to be successful and allow you to run your business your way, Waste Connections is it!
Pros
Servant Leadership, Empowerment, Work Hard/Play Harder
Cons
Held accountable for results, Get results or get cut from the team (no slackers allowed--not really a con)
Was this review helpful?Yes9No21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only ignorant "yes men" get paid decent
driver (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 13, 2017
Typical day pick up 1000 homes,make 2 trips to the landfill while the company snitch,butt kissers have easy routes and same or more pay.If you clock inat 5am,plan on clocking out at 4pm at the earliest.Required to pick up couches,and other heavy furniture items on routes and put them in a front load truck.When the truck is damaged because of this,the management blames the drivers.The pay is not determined on merit or seniority.It is based on how much you pretend you are happy in the mornings when you walk in and your willingness to snitch on other employess and if you a dummy who votes no on a union vote you are gold to them for a while.If you work for these guys,I suggest you contact a UNION.
Pros
alone during the day, perfect company to UNIONIZE
Cons
pay scale, working hours in the heat, stupidity
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
transfer station operator (Current Employee) –  TennesseeApril 6, 2016
The primary strength of working with Waste Connections is knowing I will have my position tomorrow, a year from now, or even long. Even if everyone tried to recycle more than they currently do, I will still have a job. There are many things people throw away, because they no longer need/want it, or no longer works for its purpose. The worst part of working with Waste Connections is the hourly wage , and career advancement within the company. This is a dead end job with job security. You cannot connect with your future because there is no future in this company. I've been with this company for 9 years with the promise of good pay and advancement. As of now the company has failed to meet their promises. A positive about the company is that my co-workers and i are like family. From the time I started to now, my work load has increased but not the compensation. If you are looking for steady work with minimum hourly wage, Waste connections is the place to work. In my personal opinion, this company should pay more considering they are in the fortune 500. It shouldn't matter what district/location.
Pros
job security
Cons
pay, advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes33No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Work Environment
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Colorado Springs, CONovember 22, 2016
Management is a joke. They want a fun environment by telling "your face" jokes but only certain people can play along. They say you will get an increase after 90 days but you have to keep reminding them about it. They want you to drive all over town and they promise to pay for mileage but you have to keep reming them about that too. They want someone who will eat, breath and bleed WCI. Be a brown noser and you will go far because if you actually have ideas and share them (which they say they welcome) you will not get a pat on the back.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
45 minute lunch, Management, office environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diesle tech
Lube tech (Former Employee) –  Pueblo coMarch 8, 2017
Was a good place but to meany back and it's always one person's fault no one else's. Some of the people like drivers where cool but had poor shop management.
Trucks are also old and run down they don't want to spend the money to fix them. They just wait till they get approved for new trucks.
Pros
Some people are nice. Learned a little about hydralics. Main boss of the office was really nice.
Cons
Managment and shop leads are poor quality. Not enuf time to do projects. Needed more training, insted of being thrown in to a mess.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, TNNovember 20, 2016
This place is as nasty as the trash they pick up. Management is racist & sexist. They treat you like trash & have unexpected goals. They claim people just don't want to work, but the truth is they are hard to work for. The pay is horrible, you can make more working for 10 bucks a hour 80 hours a week. The equipment is horrible & breaks down daily. You have to suck butt to keep your job. Do not work for these people you will regret it.
Pros
Small weekly check
Cons
Management, racism, & sexism
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor upper management
Operations supervisor (Former Employee) –  Stanton, TXJanuary 10, 2017
This is hands down the worst company I have ever worked for.. They have no clue how to deal with oil waste from drill rigs at all.. I was a operation supervision and was told several times we are trying to figure out how to do this.. They bring in very young site mangers that have NO clue how outside operations work.. I am very surprised that no one has been hurt or seriously injured in this working environment.. I WILL NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE..
Pros
None
Cons
Terrible place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, horrible management.
District Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaJune 28, 2016
WCI as a whole is a great place to work. On a corporate level they support their philosophy as a "servant leader" organization. However, the districts in North Carolina fall very short in their support. Upper management set unattainable goals and fail to provide the necessary tools and training to effectively perform duties. As a member of leadership you will be expected to be on call 24 hours a day 7 days a week, even while taking approved vacation days. Pay would be fair, if the hours outlined in offer letter were even close to accurate. 50 hours a week will be advertised for a salaried employee. 75 to 85 hours a week is the normal. I have worked in multiple districts for WCI. Nc districts have by far been the worst. Management lack of people skills have caused a turn over rate that says it all. Skilled, talented, dependable employees will not stay if they are being ignored and being made to feel unappreciated and their turnover rate reflects this particular failure.
Pros
Co workers were dedicated and hard working
Cons
Lack of integrity, long hours, no work/home life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes26No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Waste Connections. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.8
Based on 99 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.4
Management
2.2
Culture
2.6