Find companies:
Waste Management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,116 reviews

Waste Management Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for other companies has been life changing
Route Supervisor (Former Employee), Washington, PADecember 23, 2014
Pros: 401k
Cons: hr, upper management, everything
I started with Waste Management as my second job out of college as a Operations Management Trainee. I would go to different sites and ride with drivers and audit paperwork. The whole entire time there was pressure to write bad reports on drivers especially if the manager did not like them. Also to try and find wrong doings of the managers so it was – more... a complete no win. After I was promoted to a route supervisor at a district it got worse. Route supervisors are safety/customer service/managers/miss chasers/fall people for upper management. I would not wish this job on anyone and feel sorry for all Route Managers with Waste Management. The company itself is completely out of touch with what driver needs are and send HR people to sites to try and shut them up but no changes are ever made. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company is great!
Driver (Former Employee), Milton, FLDecember 22, 2014
Pros: great rates for insurance premiums.
Cons: have to work six days a week.
My review is based upon my experiences there. The local management does not run the location how it should be ran. The employees were promised raises but instead of raises they would give out an ice cream bar occasionally on Fridays. They require you to work six days a week and the only days that you get off are Christmas Day and New Years Day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi-Cultural Environment was fun to work in
Lead Welder (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VADecember 22, 2014
Pros: free lunches, always something for thanksgiving and christmas
Cons: job security
Really good place to work with great co-workers until much cheaper competition came our area and then there were many layoffs and the job became unstable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, great pay, no job security
Residential Driver (Former Employee), Charleston, WVDecember 22, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: working to many temp to hires
A typical day at waste management starts at 4:30, you work long hours, with great pay and great benefits. Most co workers are great your all working for the same goal, however more often then not you have temp to hires working with you instead of another driver ( to save money) but since they are working by the hour sometimes they tend to slow production – more... down because they are working by the hour so the slower they go the more money they make but it doesnt help the drivers production averages. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful...incompetent management.
Roll-Off Truck Driver (Former Employee), Northwood, OHDecember 20, 2014
Cameras inside truck cab makes for a stressful work environment
especially when sensitivity of cameras varies between trucks. This makes for unfair working conditions. Management clueless. Union and it's reps are weak.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work Ever
Sr. Tech (Former Employee), Wooster, OHDecember 18, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: management
The mana

Worst place to work. Fleet Management in Canton and Wooster is incompetent. Do not know how to treat employees fairly. Pay was decent, but not worth all the politics that go with the job. My opinion, do not work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and demanding job
Leaf vacuum driver (Former Employee), Antioch, ILDecember 15, 2014
Pros: joining the union and making good money
Cons: the trucks were poorly maintained and broke down often.
I drove a leaf vacuum truck on a daily assigned route while a helper vacuumed up leaf piles. I learned team work and how to work within a strict timeline. The manager gave compliments to employees when warranted, which I have not often seen done. The hardest part of the job was driving the truck while watching the helper as well as watching for other – more... vehicles on the road, mailboxes, low hanging wires and other hazards. I loved the pay and that time flew by so quickly because we were continually on the go and busy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated staff and Flexible environment.
Supervisor-Customer Service (Former Employee), Windsor, CTDecember 15, 2014
Pros: benefits, shift, rapport with staff
Cons: turnover, morale
Enjoyed the staff management aspect of the position. Due to excessive staff turnover, much of the time is spent putting out fires and handling escalated calls from customers. Employee Morale was a significant and continuous challenge. What I enjoyed the most was the feedback from the associate population, simply for listening and being there to answer – more... questions, even when I did not have an immediate answer. Being new to the waste removal industry, I learned quite a bit about removal, re-cycle functions, etc. The call center in CT was struggling due to the staff instability. Some Managers were supportive, especially my direct Manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small site: 24/7 operation
Supervisor (Current Employee), Vickery, OHDecember 13, 2014
This site is a 24/7 operation. Hazardous waste facility within a small town. Many employees have been employed for 25 or more years. Small turn-over rate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place To Work
General Laborer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 12, 2014
Walking To The Back And Front Of The Yard Picking Up All Garbage , Cleaning Offices , Co-Workers Were Friendly And Respectful . The Hardest Part About The Job Was That If The Wind Was Blowing Real Hard It Would A Difficult Task To Keep The YArd Clean But It Wasn't Hard For Me To Do .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Billing Analyst (Former Employee), Wixom, MIDecember 12, 2014
Daily set up contracts and managed collection activities such as sending follow-up inquiries, negotiating with past due accounts, keeping track of cash receipts and referring accounts to collection agencies, and processed monthly statements, maintains accurate records, created financial reports relating to account receivable function and status of accounts. – more... Implemented audits methods and procedures of accounts receivable function to improve efficiency collecting revenue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall great company to work for
Environmental Specialist (Former Employee), Vickery, OHDecember 10, 2014
Great balance of work and life. They are concerned with the quality of life you have while employed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training
Internal Customer Service Representative Lead (Former Employee), Oak Harbor, WADecember 8, 2014
The tribe sent me to the police academy to help build a police department. It was a long process and the job ultimately became a security department. I built that program from the ground up and it was challenging but quite rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So much potential, but management was awful
CSR and Sales Rep (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 5, 2014
Pros: stable company
Cons: management, dirty offices, no tuition reimbursement, lack of drive towards green initiative
This company has the size and political presence to really change the waste cycle, and how we can help to preserve our planet through green initiatives etc. True giants of commerce and industry (Apple, google, etc.) understand that old-school sales tactics are a short-term solution, but by providing high-quality products/services that actually help – more... make life on this earth better the revenue will come in ten-fold. Unfortunately, waste management has a dilemma in their sales/marketing team (by the way the entire marketing dept. was cut by 75% in 2014) in that cold-calling and high pressure sales are a priority over being a sustainable environmental leader. Example: a direct manager of mine was a former insurance salesman, and literally had no interest in sustainability, green initiatives etc. With a 30% mark-up and people in command that do not care about the environment, I can not in good conscience give this company a positive review. Sad. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
special accounts
Collections Representative (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 5, 2014
Pros: enjoyed working with many different customers
Cons: lots of overtime and many saturdays
worked on special accounts from Windsor, CT
called and asked for payment status of all open invoices
dispute resolution
creation of invoices
spreadsheets
any other duties required to get job done
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard dirty work
Sorter/Unloader (Former Employee), Garland, TXDecember 4, 2014
Get to work clock in go through safety procedures put on safety equipment gloves hat wrist wear & safety glasses etc..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working maintenience at waste mamnagement.
maintenience (Former Employee), Oakwood Village, OHDecember 4, 2014
at waste management i worked maintenience 3rd shift. my job responsibilitys was to lock-out tag-out machines and prep. the plant for upcoming shift. i learned how to repair the stars for the machine to work properly.this job was easy for anyone who is willing to work at a set pace. the only hard part was learning to work around the animals who would – more... enter the plant such as racoons, rats, and deer in the parking lot but not – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Enviroment.
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Tacoma, WADecember 3, 2014
Pros: dry and clean work shop
Cons: some outdoor work in the rain
Waste management was a good company to work for, or to work with.
The management was open to new ideas that were presented to them. Most of the work was indoor maintenance and repair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
NJ Setup Supervisor (Former Employee), Ewing, NJDecember 1, 2014
Wonder work day , loved the challenges of the job on a daily basis
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent company
National Sales Trainer III (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 30, 2014
Pros: work/life balance
Cons: too many corporate restructure
I worked at WM for many years in many different positions. I always felt supported and free to share my opinions. The company offered fair compensation and benefits. I was also provided the ability to work from home. I recommended working for WM to others.

1 2 3 4 5

About Waste Management

Waste Management is the leading provider of comprehensive waste management and environmental services in North America. We are – Read more

Waste Management Photos