Waste Management Employee Reviews in United States

Found 1,575 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it
Manager (Current Employee) –  confidentialJuly 22, 2016
There is a reason why Waste Management "used" to be in the top 50 companies to work for and now they are below the top 250.
If you are hired as a manager, the money is great. But will you be happy in a culture that changes daily?
Pros
Health Benefits, vacation time, holidays are great
Cons
Shark pit
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work because they offer decent benefits.
Sr. Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Wellsboro, PAJuly 21, 2016
I enjoyed working with my Coworkers.
I was a team player! I liked my job and was hoping to retire from WM.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
No comment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJuly 21, 2016
A good place to find reliable employment. Waste is an undeniable part of our existence. As a result, the management and recycling of waste become a necessary part of our lives as well. Which makes this an excellent opportunity for employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grab the wheel, and hold tight
Route Manager (Former Employee) –  Silver Springs, NVJuly 20, 2016
Extremely long hours- 60+/week
Constant change in management, employees and initiatives.
Little opportunity to impact work culture.
Most days are spent dealing with accidents/spills/employee issues, not in managing the business towards improvement.
Pros
Pay- Work Truck- Freedom to roam the city
Cons
Hours- Unionized workforce- Management Initiatives
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management is bad
Residential Driver (Former Employee) –  Temple, TXJuly 20, 2016
supervisor never was there at work when we were. they always left work so if needed something had to wait for them to come back to work. told to break federal driving laws. deny lunch due to a truck breakdown and that breakdown time was considered my lunch.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harse work place
Laborer (Current Employee) –  Mobile, AZJuly 19, 2016
The company is ok but a certain job site in the state of Arizona has
supervisors that need to be fired for harrasment on the work site.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place you want to work
Trash Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Canal Winchester, OHJuly 19, 2016
Where do I start. They don't care about you as an employee and no I'm not saying that because I'm bitter. I'm telling you the truth. They don't have enough work so you will be off 1 to 2 days a week, the site manager is amazing but his boss the short guy with the big ears is a joke and he only cares about what kind of raises he can get. The only good thing about this company is the amazing group of guys you get to work with.
Pros
When it is time to clock out!!!
Cons
Everything and i literally mean everything
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn from the Best
Contract Administrator (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 19, 2016
You learn everyday, and you are able to use these resources to advance your career, without regret or ill will... You will love those that work here as its a close knit company that truly values their employees, and their dedication to the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not to much of a great place to work
lead operator heavy equipment operator (Former Employee) –  McNeill, MSJuly 19, 2016
management when i was there sucked the guy cussed and raised cane with everybody everyday about something no matter what you did or how hard you worked it was thankful
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 18, 2016
Waste Management is a very busy but non responsive to promotions and raises of their existing employees. Difficult call center information remains inadequate and instructional base is very confusing for long term employees.
Pros
customers
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Team Building
Inbound Commercial Sales (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 18, 2016
Had a great manager in my last position. Very accomodating and professional. Great benefits, worked with good people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It used to be a great place to work
Wastepaper picker (Former Employee) –  Springfield, VAJuly 14, 2016
Don't be expecting to get a job here if you've been in this industry for a long time hr only want noobs that know nothing and don't know there rights and if your an equipment operater that's been doing your whole life your over qualified this place is joke and that's insulting to the word joke do your self a faver go else were
Pros
Coworker
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff, good work ethic/active role, good benefits
Garbage Man (Former Employee) –  St. Cloud, MNJuly 13, 2016
The staff was good, helping out the community, playing an active role transporting bins from curb to truck, room to grow as an employee as you gain work experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
liked the job
Driver (Former Employee) –  Wellford, SCJuly 12, 2016
I liked my job at Waste Management. one of the best jobs I've ever had. great benefits, great pay, the routes started early but i really like the job and I hated losing it.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all the holiday party
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 12, 2016
I really enjoy my job especially the CEO and the workers. I love working around people I also love the advanced and the opportunity to grow with-in the business.
Pros
insurance
Cons
short break
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working job
Line Operator (Former Employee) –  Coraopolis, PAJuly 7, 2016
Overall liked the job working in an factory facility, Ive learned certain skills to move forward in my career. The hardest part of the job was the first day of learning everything which quickly I caught on and got the hang of things
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Marietta, GAJuly 7, 2016
No room for growth. If you don't buddy up to the manager she will always find a reason to write you up so you can't move. It's a revolving door of people because the pay is so low. STAY FAR AWAY!!!!
Pros
weekly pay
Cons
micromanagment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they dont do what they say they will
Residential Driver (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 6, 2016
they promised me a job once my spot was being filled the lady quit who was taking my spot so they kept me In residential to pacify telling me they would move me up but yet and still they havent
Pros
going in at 5 a.m
Cons
being lied too
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
CE Inside Commercial Rep (Former Employee) –  Commerce, CAJuly 6, 2016
OMG!!!!!!!! The management is HORRIBLE.... WE was trained to do the job incorrect, we was put out on the floor to take call with my classmate and we both don't know what to do/ sink or swim.....When making a mistake due to you was trained wrong you was called into the supervisor office and harassed. The floor leaders refuse to help you and very disrespectful... NOt a Good place in commerce,ca
Pros
On the phone with customers and pay
Cons
Learder, Management, and training
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and stressful
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Germantown, WIJuly 6, 2016
Routing drivers daily, customer service, comprehension skills & problem solver
Teamwork building
Training other co-workers
Schedule incoming customers
Scheduled loads for the next day
Pros
VACATION DAYS/ FUN FRIDAYS
Cons
SHORT STAFF
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,723 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3