Waste Management Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Residential/Vegetation Driver-Collection (Former Employee) –  Hobe Sound, FLDecember 8, 2017
In the beginning the hours was ok and everything went well. But the moral and management changed hands and everything went bust. I had family issues and could not work the long hours and over an hour drive every morning to work. Needed to be closer to home.
Pros
Long distance dirve
Cons
Lunch Pay increases
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No opinion
Roll Off Driver (Former Employee) –  Norton, MADecember 7, 2017
No opinion. I'm giving no opinion because I don't want someone to base there choice in taking the job because of what I wrote in a review. It's a job, it's going to suck regardless.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Driver (Former Employee) –  Norton, MADecember 7, 2017
Working there was a great experience I had the opportunity to work and gain experience on several truck types. I was made employee of the month I was given bonuses for my safety and driving
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment coupled with great structure.
Route Manager (Former Employee) –  Salem, NCDecember 7, 2017
This company helped me gain invaluable management experience. I was able to learn how to manage, decipher budget deficiencies, and how to correct those issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best jobs that I've ever had
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GADecember 6, 2017
One of the best jobs that I've ever had. I loved the fact that we were paid weekly and that we had weekends off. We rarely had to work on a Saturday and if we did, it was for training and we were paid.
Pros
Getting Paid Weekly
Cons
Cut throat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressful
Driver (Current Employee) –  Madison, WI 53713December 6, 2017
start the workday 5am you work until the job is done . dispatch is a joke. they know what needs to be done however they wait until late afternoon to dispatch calls that could have been given to the drivers by noon. you never know what time you are going to get done which makes family time very hard. nobody works together it's really everyone for themselves.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to ride on sanitation trucks
Sanitation Worker (Former Employee) –  Warren, MIDecember 5, 2017
For a part-time job to help get in shape this would be the place to do so. Riding on the back of a truck and picking up garbage on a nice day is actually quite relaxing. Although if you can't easily pick up 50-75 lbs this may not be the job for you. Very hard labor, need to be able to pace yourself.
Pros
Cool coworkers
Cons
Lots of heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is was a good learning experience
Auditor (Former Employee) –  Chicago ILDecember 5, 2017
Waste management was a very exciting job experience learning how to work with others and learning how to work well with others and be a dedicated to your team and safety for you and others and just having this experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Boss
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, CODecember 5, 2017
loved my co-workers and my customers as well, I had 3 weeks PTO hours. Always received my days off that I requested. The company had online training available on our computers or offsite training
Pros
fun job
Cons
smells of trash outside building
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work
Billing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Ewing, NJDecember 5, 2017
Stressful. Could treat employees better. Big company does not treat you like a smaller company does. Takes long to promote from within company and management can be better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Lewisville, TXDecember 4, 2017
Steady work

Interaction with customer daily

Long hours

Working how can be six a week


The smell of the work place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
waste management
Driver (Former Employee) –  Homer City, PADecember 4, 2017
They say they are family oriented and family comes first, but thats far from it. You have people that dont know how to do their jobs. management that relays on others to do their own job. Its an unhealthy work place
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not great place to work
Dispatcher/Planner (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GADecember 4, 2017
horrible management, and discrimination if you went to managemtn nothing was ever resolves as well if you went to HR they will come and tell everyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced working environment
Waste disposal sorter (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYDecember 3, 2017
start work day at 6:30 am, we stand on the line to sort out the garbage waste, its a diverse work place people from all ethnic backgrounds, we seem to all get along , very easy going but strenuous work environment. the hardest part of the job is standing for long periods of time. I enjoy when I get a break
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional, productive and motivated place of employment
Residential Recycle Driver (Current Employee) –  Venice, FLDecember 3, 2017
hard working. open to endless possibilities. great place to work. team building. open door management style. hardest and most enjoyable part of the job is ensuring safety and adhering to your customers and treat them like family...overall great place to work providing different avenues of growth
Pros
provide career and growth potentials
Cons
limited time to complete task
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Sanitation Engineer (Former Employee) –  McGregor, TXDecember 2, 2017
work day to day. early mornings all the way to the evening sometimes later. You get paid for all hours so being there all day should not bother. its a good job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
realness
Helper (Current Employee) –  Lewisville, TXDecember 2, 2017
picking up and palletizing my arear and maintininga the job god bless
and make sure everything is has ordiness and cleanliness about itself.Respect my peers at all times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Auditor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 1, 2017
The hours are long, and they don't pay you enough for all the work that they have you to do. It's a very stressful environment, with horrendous supervisors to make working there even more agonizing.
Pros
advancment
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Hopper (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, TXNovember 30, 2017
a good place to work at if your not afraid of getting dirty you can build strength and also learn about getting your cdl license so you can get paid on a set salary as a truck driver for wastemanagement
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and ridiculous management.
Side dump driver (Current Employee) –  Wellford, SCNovember 30, 2017
Current Side Dump Driver. Very poor management with the exception of a few of the transportation supervisors. Ridiculous amount of oversight and rules. You constantly worry about being fired. Have fired two dozen drivers in the last 3 months!

Take my advice and pass right on by this place!
Pros
Pay
Cons
Management, cut throat environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Waste Management. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 2,765 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3