WATCO COMPANIES Employee Reviews in United States

Found 20 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Layed back atmosphere
Conductor/Safety Specialist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 14, 2016
hardest part of the jo is going there and knowing there is no advancement.
Most enjoyable day of the job is clowning with my coworkers.
management is subpar, never can answer question
typical day punch in and get the work load for the day, build the rail line to be deliever to plants around the houston area
Pros
work is easy, good co workers
Cons
NO ADVANCEMENT
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 17, 2016
Watco, is a good company to work for, but can be very stressful at times. You will always have full day of work. Everyone that was on my crew got along and finish the job. I learned to multitask and came very familiar with different forklifts and how to move extremely large loads. The hardest part of the job is when 1 team member mess up the entire crew suffer. Most enjoyable part is getting along with everyone, laughter, but hard work to finish the job.
Pros
Long Hours, More Money, Laughter, Hard Work
Cons
Crew 1 person drop the ball everyone is punished
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Track Laborer (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, IDMarch 20, 2016
Typical day at work is either extremely busy no breaks no lunch or very slow with little to do. I learned to stay busy and not question the boss. Management is very poor the boss expects you to know as much as he does even though he doesn't trust you to do anything on your own. As soon as you realize you will never be right the better. Had a great group of coworkers. Very easy to get along with. The hardest part of the job is getting along with the boss he can be very demeaning when he talks to you. Will call you stupid before trying to help you do something the right or easier way. The most enjoyable part of the job is the beautiful area away from the depot you get to work in. There is no overtime and poorly kept comp time records so you don't always get paid for the hours you work.
Pros
Decent wage and schedule when you get off on time
Cons
Boss, busy days with no food, no overtime no compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At the Fryburg site they were going through growing pains.
Operator (Former Employee) –  Fryburg, NDJanuary 27, 2016
At the Fryburg site they were going through growing pains. Due to the overall business slow down in the petroleum industry I was laid off in the second round. As I was being laid off this entire site was bought out by The Tesoro Corporation.

Working for Watco Companies LLC was challenging and frustrating. While I was there management played favorites, and therefore limited upward potential based upon positive performance. Toward the end of my tenure they started to clean house and get rid of some of the poor managers. It was starting to be a positive place to work, before the overall business slow down in the petroleum industry hit.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
assistant general manager (Current Employee) –  Midland, PAJanuary 21, 2016
Great place to work and grow within a company and to feel welcome to be apart of. Individual rolls are important here and is show and expressed your value daily
Pros
Give you th motivation to exceed
Cons
More comunication in house
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers but unsafe work ethics.
Switch-man (Current Employee) –  WatcoOctober 3, 2015
Depending on location and what type of actual worker you thrive to be, this company can be either a career or just a job. I speak of only my location and experience. If you are a individual that believes in safety or work policy compliance you might have a hard time. I witnessed management put profit before safety so many times I am surprised nobody been injured. With the right management I believe this location can become successful and safe. It's unfortunate that this company does not watch its supervisors and hold them accountable the way supervisors hold the employees accountable. It's a monkey see monkey do type place.
Pros
Fair work hours, good coworkers.
Cons
Profit befoe saftey, low wages.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good compensation for work
operator (Former Employee) –  North DakotaJanuary 29, 2016
Watco needs to evolve in their management practices. Need to work on coaching rather than military style management. Overall good physical working conditions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineer/Conductor
Engineer/Conductor (Former Employee) –  Green River, WYNovember 8, 2015
Build outbound trains and release to union pacific and spot empty rail cars to be loaded. Seal all open hoppers on the cars
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe work practice
Transload Operator (Former Employee) –  Houston,TxOctober 7, 2015
Work in a productive and safe environment. Review and go over (JSA) Job Safety Analysis and (SOP) Safe Operating Procedures
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Trainmaster/Track Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 6, 2015
Learn a lot if your willing to give the time to do so. Management tries there best to help you achieve your goals but you must be willing to put the time in to get to the next level.
Pros
Great company lots of locations family oriented.
Cons
Some of the Benifits could be better.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
save yourself the trouble
Switching Conductor/Engineer (Current Employee) –  wallula,waJune 21, 2015
This place is tough on the body and working in all weather conditions, no weekends off and management sucks. pay is horrible for the intense labor you do daily.
Pros
cant think of any
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, Customer is always first.
Marketing Manager and Sales (Former Employee) –  Pittsburg, KSFebruary 6, 2015
Watco Companies, Inc is a company that puts their customers first. But they're not able to put their customer first if the team members aren't taken care of. They treat the team members like family and make sure every team member is happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible management and if i could rate in the negative i would
Crewleader/Switchman/Engineer (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, TXAugust 14, 2014
the management never came around except on payday and was only favorable to people of same skin color. when i put my two weeks notice in and was very professional the same was not given to me. i was constantly harrassed and berated based on skin color and because i was not in the "click" of friends with management.
Pros
steady work
Cons
management and politics/racism
Was this review helpful?Yes16No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible!
Production Supervisor/ Inspector/ Foreman/ Labor (Former Employee) –  birminghamNovember 22, 2014
roadmasters (your boss) they have to watch over you and evaluate your performance daily. they HAVE to find something wrong and document it or they get in trouble for not doing their job. thats bs! the maintenance of way department gets shat on. this company has too many chiefs in birmingham. everyone keeps stepping on each other and stabbing each other in the back. jeter, hollis,halverson. jeter is the biggest snake in the grass there. he thinks that hes some kind of f'n police officer. doug is just a pencil pusher yes man to the upper management. hollis thinks he is a bad a$$$ till hes cornered or he thinks the situation will make him look bad so he will throw you under the bus in a heart beat. its hard to work for people that you dont trust. they hire you to fire you, for any reason.
Cons
terrible chain of command.too many management guys throwing their weight around.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All in all a great company to work for. Strong in customer service and safety.
Conductor,Engineer,Trainmaster (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 2, 2012
Typical Day at Work: Something new everyday.

What I Learned: I've learned meany things at Watco. Customer service,Safety,Team Leadership.

Management: There is no support from upper management.

Coworkers: A great group of guys to work with.

Hardest part of the job: Having to deal with managers that did not have an open mind or listen to there team members.

Most enjoyable part of the job: Working with all the great customers and team members.
Pros
family based company
Cons
poor management at some locations
Was this review helpful?Yes22No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideas are good, not practiced
Accounting (Current Employee) –  Pittsburg, KSJune 11, 2013
The ideas and philosophies of this company are good but they are not put into practice as needed. Management is not well within this company. Secrets are kept and it's all on the "buddy-buddy" system for advancement.
Pros
able to come and go when necessary
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes20No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sorry place to work
operator (Former Employee) –  Houston tx greensportMarch 8, 2014
Stay away that's all I have to stay a bunch of lazy people wanting you to do all of the work why they sit down and watch they have a long way to go
Pros
nothing
Cons
sorry bunch of individuals
Was this review helpful?Yes14No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
car insp
Car Inspector (Current Employee) –  east peoria ilOctober 8, 2013
walk and repair rail cars weld certified safety is always important co workers are great
Pros
employment
Cons
contract is expired
Was this review helpful?Yes3No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Operations Specialist (Current Employee) –  Western RegionMarch 27, 2012
Positive team member culture. Always someone to help or answer questions.
Pros
positive culture
Was this review helpful?Yes22No1

See more WATCO COMPANIES reviews

You may want to try:

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at WATCO COMPANIES. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.4
Management
2.6
Culture
3.3