WATCO COMPANIES Employee Reviews

Found 26 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful management
Revenue Account Specialist (Former Employee) –  Pittsburg, KSFebruary 10, 2017
If you don't agree with management or if they decide they don't like you for personal reasons, they will do whatever it takes to get rid of you.

Turnover is extremely high. I didn't hardly know anyone that had worked there for over 3 years.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Bad management, favoritism, bad communication/very secretive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pathetic
Engineer (Former Employee) –  NCFebruary 2, 2017
Vindictive atmosphere...no real concern for their employees...once you have offended management and the company, forget it...you will never be forgiven...no heart or understanding even when things happen out of your control, whether railroad related or not...
Pros
ok
Cons
Don't care about employees
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it has been stressful for the last few years
operator (Current Employee) –  Wood River, ILDecember 30, 2016
I have worked for the same company for the last 10 years it has changed names three times since then. there turn around rate is not good there has been 400 people in and out since I have been there and that is not a typo there has been 400. Recently I was laid off and they called me back on a night shift witch I am not to concerned about that but there night shift does not work a full 8 hours a night. The management does not know how to handle a high stress environment I have been cussed out before on a few occasions.
Pros
it was straight days
Cons
management is bad
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Employee (Current Employee) –  North DakotaSeptember 10, 2016
I enjoy Watco; making friends and respect; very community involved company; cares about there employees well being; constant learning experiances; they shoot to better there surroundings
Pros
great job
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Maintenance Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 18, 2016
Very fast pace environment. Enjoyed working there. The people are great to work with. Learned a lot about the offloading of Crude oil.
Pros
People
Cons
24/7 work week
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
expect to be available
engineer (Former Employee) –  Janesville, WIAugust 12, 2016
12 hours a day....sometimes less.
paid for 10/day minimum.
most of the co-workers are great to work with.
management is made up mostly of long term friends....
do not expect promotions unless you grew up with them.
Expect management to share same opinions
expect to be available at all hours of the day and night
Pros
10 hr/day minimum
Cons
managers are not open minded
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Layed back atmosphere
Conductor/Safety Specialist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 14, 2016
hardest part of the jo is going there and knowing there is no advancement.
Most enjoyable day of the job is clowning with my coworkers.
management is subpar, never can answer question
typical day punch in and get the work load for the day, build the rail line to be deliever to plants around the houston area
Pros
work is easy, good co workers
Cons
NO ADVANCEMENT
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a fun place
Driver, TS&IC Leader (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 17, 2016
I enjoyed working here. The location I worked at was very small. that was hard on business. But the work was fun. exploring new places. meeting new people was always fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Track Laborer (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, IDMarch 20, 2016
Typical day at work is either extremely busy no breaks no lunch or very slow with little to do. I learned to stay busy and not question the boss. Management is very poor the boss expects you to know as much as he does even though he doesn't trust you to do anything on your own. As soon as you realize you will never be right the better. Had a great group of coworkers. Very easy to get along with. The hardest part of the job is getting along with the boss he can be very demeaning when he talks to you. Will call you stupid before trying to help you do something the right or easier way. The most enjoyable part of the job is the beautiful area away from the depot you get to work in. There is no overtime and poorly kept comp time records so you don't always get paid for the hours you work.
Pros
Decent wage and schedule when you get off on time
Cons
Boss, busy days with no food, no overtime no compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 17, 2016
Watco, is a good company to work for, but can be very stressful at times. You will always have full day of work. Everyone that was on my crew got along and finish the job. I learned to multitask and came very familiar with different forklifts and how to move extremely large loads. The hardest part of the job is when 1 team member mess up the entire crew suffer. Most enjoyable part is getting along with everyone, laughter, but hard work to finish the job.
Pros
Long Hours, More Money, Laughter, Hard Work
Cons
Crew 1 person drop the ball everyone is punished
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good compensation for work
operator (Former Employee) –  North DakotaJanuary 29, 2016
Watco needs to evolve in their management practices. Need to work on coaching rather than military style management. Overall good physical working conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At the Fryburg site they were going through growing pains.
Operator (Former Employee) –  Fryburg, NDJanuary 27, 2016
At the Fryburg site they were going through growing pains. Due to the overall business slow down in the petroleum industry I was laid off in the second round. As I was being laid off this entire site was bought out by The Tesoro Corporation.

Working for Watco Companies LLC was challenging and frustrating. While I was there management played favorites, and therefore limited upward potential based upon positive performance. Toward the end of my tenure they started to clean house and get rid of some of the poor managers. It was starting to be a positive place to work, before the overall business slow down in the petroleum industry hit.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
assistant general manager (Current Employee) –  Midland, PAJanuary 21, 2016
Great place to work and grow within a company and to feel welcome to be apart of. Individual rolls are important here and is show and expressed your value daily
Pros
Give you th motivation to exceed
Cons
More comunication in house
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineer/Conductor
Engineer/Conductor (Former Employee) –  Green River, WYNovember 8, 2015
Build outbound trains and release to union pacific and spot empty rail cars to be loaded. Seal all open hoppers on the cars
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe work practice
Transload Operator (Former Employee) –  Houston,TxOctober 7, 2015
Work in a productive and safe environment. Review and go over (JSA) Job Safety Analysis and (SOP) Safe Operating Procedures
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Trainmaster/Track Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 6, 2015
Learn a lot if your willing to give the time to do so. Management tries there best to help you achieve your goals but you must be willing to put the time in to get to the next level.
Pros
Great company lots of locations family oriented.
Cons
Some of the Benifits could be better.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
save yourself the trouble
Switching Conductor/Engineer (Current Employee) –  wallula,waJune 21, 2015
This place is tough on the body and working in all weather conditions, no weekends off and management sucks. pay is horrible for the intense labor you do daily.
Pros
cant think of any
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes13No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, Customer is always first.
Marketing Manager and Sales (Former Employee) –  Pittsburg, KSFebruary 6, 2015
Watco Companies, Inc is a company that puts their customers first. But they're not able to put their customer first if the team members aren't taken care of. They treat the team members like family and make sure every team member is happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible!
Production Supervisor/ Inspector/ Foreman/ Labor (Former Employee) –  birminghamNovember 22, 2014
roadmasters (your boss) they have to watch over you and evaluate your performance daily. they HAVE to find something wrong and document it or they get in trouble for not doing their job. thats bs! the maintenance of way department gets shat on. this company has too many chiefs in birmingham. everyone keeps stepping on each other and stabbing each other in the back. jeter, hollis,halverson. jeter is the biggest snake in the grass there. he thinks that hes some kind of f'n police officer. doug is just a pencil pusher yes man to the upper management. hollis thinks he is a bad a$$$ till hes cornered or he thinks the situation will make him look bad so he will throw you under the bus in a heart beat. its hard to work for people that you dont trust. they hire you to fire you, for any reason.
Cons
terrible chain of command.too many management guys throwing their weight around.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible management and if i could rate in the negative i would
Crewleader/Switchman/Engineer (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, TXAugust 14, 2014
the management never came around except on payday and was only favorable to people of same skin color. when i put my two weeks notice in and was very professional the same was not given to me. i was constantly harrassed and berated based on skin color and because i was not in the "click" of friends with management.
Pros
steady work
Cons
management and politics/racism
Was this review helpful?Yes23No4Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at WATCO COMPANIES. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.4
Management
2.6
Culture
3.1