Find companies:
Wayland Baptist University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

Wayland Baptist University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy teaching/life balance
Full-time Student (Current Employee), Tucson, AZAugust 14, 2014
Wayland is my first Adjunct Instructor job and also my Alma Mater. It pays low for adjunct instructor position as I see it, but gives plenty of time for a work/life balance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Nursing Program
Adjunct Educator (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJune 27, 2014
Pros: support from management was helpful
Cons: students have many struggles in life aside from school
Wayland Baptist University is a good nursing school, a typical day at work was to meet your students and identify areas of improvement for their education discussing strategies for their goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Veteran friendly
Adjunct Professor - Taught Computer Applications (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXMay 23, 2014
10/11 - Present WAYLAND BAPTIST UNIVERSITY, San Antonio, Texas
Adjunct Professor –
1. Computer Applications, MS Office with Access Database
2. Information Technology Theory
3. Cyberlife
4. Web Design
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Sierra Vista, AZMay 20, 2014
I spend my time helping people advance in life, by obtaining a high level degree.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay job for a student worker in college
Business Office worker (Former Employee), Plainview, TXApril 30, 2014
Pros: slow paced job
Cons: rude student co-workers
Management is a little immature in Business office cares more about being cool than correcting bad behavior on her employees who tease and belittle other student worker for speech impediment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with no chance of advancement as a student.
STUDENT WORKER (Former Employee), Plainview, TXApril 21, 2014
Pros: great management and good hours.
Cons: no advancement or pay raises.
A typical day at work varied. As a resident assistant, I would sit in the lobby during lobby hours and assist students as needed. In Housing, I filed paperwork, made repairs to dorm items such as vacuum cleaners, and moved furniture as needed. With the School of Languages and Literature, I graded any assignments that professors gave me, assisted professors – more... in any way possible, and ran school related errands for them. With the recreation team, I traveled to different camps and had played various games with students. As a part of the summer work crew, I helped with upkeep of the university in ways such as mowing, picking up trash, and other landscape related activities. I learned quite a bit. I learned how to best handle a variety of situations. The management was fantastic. Everything was delegated fairly and the instructions were almost always clear. Overall, my co-workers were pretty great to work with. There were a few here and there that made work a little difficult but nothing that was too extreme. The hardest part was knowing that regardless of how well you did your job, there was no chance for advancement or pay raise in most of these positions. The most enjoyable part was making connections and working for a great university. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be
Anonymous (Former Employee), Plainview, TXJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: you're a person here, not a number. very well managed and operated.
Cons: low pay
WBU has an awesome culture in every way.

Small town life is not for everyone, but Wayland is a great company to work for. Managers care for employees.

WBU has a great sense of community and team work. Employees are happy.

Pay isn't great, but WBU is a great place to work in almost every other way!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to belong, be involved, fast-paced and warm atmosphere.
Administrative Assistant/Admissions Advisor (Former Employee), Sierra Vista, AZJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits & healthcare, discounted tuition
As an Admissions/Academic Advisor, I provided personal assistance to students regarding degree plan and program requirements. Analyzed information provided by students to evaluate and help students choose the best academic program option. Communicated with people outside the organization, representing the organization to customers, the public, government, – more... and other external sources. Provided guidance and expert advice on degree plans and policies and procedures to management or other groups on technical, systems, or process related topics. In addition, I also served as an Administartive Assistant and was responsible for greeting and assisting students, faculty, and staff members. Screened and directed a high volume of external and internal communications to the appropriate department, including mail and email. I also completed credit card and expense reports, handled invoices, and assisted with data entry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prepared me for NCLEX!
Full-time Student Nurse/ Clinical Rotations (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXDecember 23, 2013
I learned so much in the BSN program at Wayland Baptist University and am so appreciative to my instructors for providing me with the vast knowledge and experiences for my RN career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Atmosphere
Manager, Record's Department (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXDecember 17, 2013
Pros: relaxed environment
Cons: small advancement opportunities, poor compensation
Wayland is a great place to work and feel like you are part of a family. Even though there are over sixty full time employees, most of which are located in one building, it still feels small and intimate.
WBU is a Christian environment so everyone who works there is held to an honor code.
Being that it is a private university, funding is not as readily – more... available as it could be elsewhere. Generally people come to work at Wayland for the atmosphere as opposed to the compensation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Coach
Student Assistant Coach/Intramural Director (Former Employee), Plainview, TXDecember 14, 2013
Student Assistant Coach Women’s Basketball/Intramural Director
Assisted Coaches with all operations of the; Women’s Basketball program. maintained inventory and purchases, recruited student athletes, stat maintenance, conditioning and strength training. Also, managed and organized the universities seasonal intramural program maintaining schedules and – more... staff for all sports – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relatively new office with very little management and low compensation
Secretary Business Office (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXNovember 13, 2013
Pros: it was close to my home
Cons: pay and an inequitable manager
I helped students with registration; made tuition collection calls and did quite a bit of filing.

I took this job as soon as I moved to San Antonio and it did not use my skills.

Management was not involved at all. There were no annual reviews. The pay was very low and there was no explanation. There was nowhere to advance at Wayland.

I was able to – more... continue my college education.

I always enjoy interacting with people - that was my favorite part. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wayland Baptist University
English 1301 Assistant Professor (Current Employee), Anchorage, AKSeptember 7, 2013
A diverse university with Christian values. The administrators at this school are fair minded and supported of teachers and students alike.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for solid adult learning based on a strong set of values
Adjunct Professor 5/2008 - present (Current Employee), Anchorage, Alaska (Muldoon &36th)July 1, 2013
Pros: great leadership, great teaching staff, great student body!
Cons: too few to speak of
Most classes are taught from 6-10 in the evenings
A lot of great people who care about the students
Management is overall great however small things like classroom access during holiday classes and communications with the large adjunct teaching staff could use some improvement (small things in comparison to the great things the staff and supervision – more... does to keep Wayland a class institution that is a tremendous value for anyone looking for an education that will pay life-long dividends.

I enjoy teaching at Wayland very much with great fellow staff members among the other teachers and support staff

As with any teaching position, the best part is to see the growth and enjoyment in the lives of the student body. Wayland is blessed with some of the best students that are for the most part truly committed to their educational pursuits which makes the job of the teacher very satisfying. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and tons of support
PBX Operator (Former Employee), Plainview, TXJune 28, 2013
Pros: great coworkers
This place is awesome. It allowed me to attend school and work inbetween scheduled classes. The provided great support for me in my schooling and personal life. Absolutely a fun environment to be in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hands on education, something new everyday
theater tech aid (Former Employee), Plainview, TXJanuary 21, 2013
Bringing the images of plays to life through team work with students and teachers to portray the lessons and feelings of the playwright.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Branch of Wayland - great way to complete your degree
Counselor/Administrative Aid (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKOctober 23, 2012
Pros: great sense of accomplishment to help students work towards their goals.
Take advantage of working on your degree. This is a great way to complete it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Wayland
Online Professor of New Testament (Current Employee), Plainview, TXOctober 19, 2012
Pros: opportunity to educate
Cons: pay is hopelessly below industry standard
It's good for people who are committed to Christian education. Pay is very low, even for a private Christian school. I do the same work for three times the pay for a school very similar to Wayland. Other than that, it's fine. The faculty is amazing, and as a teacher you are able to do whatever you need to do without much interference. There is no meaningful – more... opportunity for advancement - if you do work your way up, maybe after 30 years you can get to the level of compensation that you would have started at elsewhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Room Head Supervisor (Former Employee), Plainview, TXAugust 7, 2012
Pros: working with people
My responsibility was to help any and every student with their problems at there dorms and around the entire campus

Wayland Baptist University Photos