Wayne State University Employee Reviews

Showing all 294 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good experiance
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIDecember 3, 2016
Teaching is the most enjoyable thing I like to do. Working for Wayne State University for 5 years as part time job helped me a lot with pursuing my PhD study.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIDecember 1, 2016
good place to work, hard co-workers, enjoyable workplace , productive management, working not in peer pressure. Had a great experience altogether. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive place to solve problems
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIDecember 1, 2016
WSU is a great place to learn more and be in touch with smart people who know to solve very hard problems.
Everyday, faculties, students and staff show up full of energy to challenge themselves with new problems to solve.
I here, you make progress everyday, and that is what makes this place great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a volunteer position
Front Desk Clerk- volunteer (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MINovember 23, 2016
As an alumni I helped out with the Open Houses and whenever there was an important event. I did this only as a volunteer basis and my title was Alumni Ambassador, which is the title they give special long term volunteers. I handled and maintained the front desk for most events. Met with the VIP's and sometimes gave directions around campus.
Pros
Going to upper echelon events for free
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very laid back place to work.
Customer Services (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MINovember 17, 2016
I worked as a front dest assistant while going to school. Being able to work and go to school is an ideal job for a college student. They made it easy and steady work place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment to work
Office Manager/Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MINovember 15, 2016
The office place was an enjoyable work environment with a great working team. However, I was not able to put my degree and experience to use.
Pros
Friendly work team
Cons
No opportunity for me to grow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer
New Student Orientation (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MINovember 12, 2016
Amazing company to work for. Provided a wonderful work atmosphere for us and the customers. You are compensated very well for your hard work.
Pros
free food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the Clinical Trials Office
Clinical Research Coordinator III (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MINovember 10, 2016
I began working in the clinical trials office for Wayne State University. Then we became Karmanos Cancer Institute employees. Now we are McLaren Health employees. Different employers, same department, same clinical research environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MINovember 2, 2016
typical day at work involves cooking and cleaning
i learn how to follow procedures
management is very instructional
i work with friendly people with wonderful attitudes
i think nothing is hard if you plan according
working with other people
Pros
free food
Cons
no health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student majoring in information systems
Student (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MINovember 1, 2016
Love the culture! The environment is challenging. The feeling is that I am here to determine to motivate myself to be better and to do better.
Pros
learning environment
Cons
parking off campus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company can be good to work just certain departments
Office Service Clerk II (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIOctober 20, 2016
The company is good to work for things do depend on the department and staff. If you have a family emergency or things change with in your home they may not be willing to work with your situation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive.
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIOctober 17, 2016
This is a good company to work with. Highly qualified staff, with a friendly environment to work with. Flexible timings.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good position
UTV Temporary employee (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIOctober 13, 2016
Great position:

Outstanding location: the campus is beautiful

Good people: Staff was great, and helped in any area that was needed.

Great pay: better than a lot of other companies I've worked for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very early learning experience
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIOctober 9, 2016
This was my first position in health care. I started in the clinical setting and was promoted to Executive Assistant to the Chairman. I was young, and eager to learn everything I could about clinical and academic medicine. After the chairman accepted a new position in Philadelphia, it was requested that I travel to Philadelphia, one week for three months to train his staff and set up both his clinical and academic practice.
Pros
Excellent learning environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Academic Services Officer (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MISeptember 30, 2016
A great place to work, overall. The benefits are wonderful, the free tuition is awesome and the students are terrific. I have worked for the University a long time and am grateful for everything I have learned and accomplished.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to plant your feet!
Director of Research Communications (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MISeptember 21, 2016
Wayne State is a great place to gain great experiences and be a part of major changes being made in the city of Detroit!

Detroit is turning in to a vibrant city, and Wayne State University, located in mid-town, is a part of it all!

Being part of a major research university is a great experience!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MISeptember 10, 2016
I greatly enjoyed working at Wayne State. They ran out of money and had to leave. If I am given a job, I would go back and work with them. Great benefits and very flexible job.
Pros
Very flexible job
Cons
Far away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atomsophere and a team effort
TRiO Student Support Services (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MISeptember 1, 2016
Wayne State is filled with great employees its like having another family outside of your original family. The campus is amazing everything is up to date and if you enjoy diversity its the right place for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Main Office (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIAugust 30, 2016
There is so much potential for growth at WSU as an employee. WSU offers the greatest perk outside of their health benefits and that is an educational benefit to attain your Bachelor's, Master's, and a PhD.

Great colleagues, a team work environment and ability to be autonomous in the daily work duties.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work under bad management
Health Systems Navigator/Patient Advocate (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIAugust 30, 2016
A typical day consists of running around making sure everyone else is able to do their jobs. Patients who needed to be seen by Social Work member's were not seen due to Physician's lack of communication. They list other duties as assigned on you job description, even though you are paid through a grant to do a specific area of work that has to be documented in a State organized data system.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
No overtime, you will work over hours paid without overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wayne State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 294 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2

Wayne State University Reviews by Location