Find companies:
Wegmans
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
353 reviews

Wegmans Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Front End (Former Employee), Johnson City, NYAugust 19, 2014
Great place to work, would recommend to a friend.
Very flexible
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing special
Customer Service Representative/Team Member (Current Employee), crofton MarylandAugust 18, 2014
Pros: weekly pay
Cons: bad bosses, upsetting environment
a regular day at work mostly consist of bosses who slack off and hang out in the office. once they teach you how to do the work they forget about you. The co-workers in my department are mostly high schoolers so not much to really talk about. The most enjoyable part of the job would be when your bosses remember to tell you to take a break so during – more... that time stretch your body and eat. If your part time then you may not work for 3-4 days and thats not a good thing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning on the job
Customer Service (Current Employee), Abingdon, MDAugust 13, 2014
Pros: great teaching
Cons: everyone is petty
Wegmans is a great teacher for any department you wish to learn about. Very hard to advance in store. Normally have to go to another store to move forward. The social dynamics is that of middle school and very petty. Management has it moments but normally only care for their favorites.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Values stressed!
Customer Service Seafood (Former Employee), Wilkes-Barre, PAAugust 13, 2014
Wegmans is a family owned company who stresses the importance of real life family living and work balance. Team Leaders are very understanding when it comes to family situations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service was great working experience
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Geneva, NYAugust 12, 2014
handling cash and cashing checks. helping customers was high importance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Producive and fun place to work
Stock Associate (Current Employee), Canandaigua, NYAugust 11, 2014
Pros: good healthcare and retirement
Cons: short breaks
Wegmans is a great company to work for. They have given me opportunities over the years to expand and grow, which i have done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to start your first Job
Cashier/Helping Hands/ Maintenance (Former Employee), East Amherst, NYAugust 8, 2014
A great company that really takes care of you when you are first entering the work force. Also, great possibilities for advancement if you decide to stay with the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service experience
Prepared Foods Team Member (Former Employee), Williamsville, NYAugust 7, 2014
I was trained to interact professionally with Wegmans' customers, providing quality service and Wegmans' signature food products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people, great enviroment, fun workplace
cashier, coordinator, pharmacy techn, bakery (Former Employee), Corning, NYAugust 6, 2014
Pros: breakroom has a wii, many programs for the employees, yearly bbq, contest, ability to work different departments, employee appreciation dinner
Cons: hard to advance, short breaks, no full time positions
There's never a typical work day for me at wegmans because I worked different departments. One day I can be running across the store grapping products for the customers, the next day I can be making cakes and making kids smile by giving them cookies, or I can be helping the pharmacy fill the prescriptions for the customers. There would be days when – more... I stared the day in pharmacy and ended my day in the bakery. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work environment with friendly people to work with
Wegmans Food Markets (Current Employee), Blasdell, NYAugust 5, 2014
Pros: flexable work schedule for employees
Cons: nasty customers
Deli Employee
fun work environment
friendly work environment along with co-workers
complete daily tasks with little or no supervision
regular customer interaction and maintaining great verbal communication to customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-Time College Job
General Merchandiser/ Produce employee (Current Employee), Leesburg, VAAugust 2, 2014
Pros: good people
Cons: not a career
Although Wegmans is a top Fortune 500 job, it is not the kind of job that I am looking to make a career. The people who work there are good people, but lack the ambition and motivation that I express. I am looking to extend my educational background beyond what is expected of the Wegmans management so that I may obtain a highly valued and highly paid – more... career. In addition, my area of interest is in international affairs and intelligence making Wegmans somewhat irrelevant to me. Wegmans can provide the benefits and team culture that most workers are looking for, but my concern is towards greater challenges and great reward. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with many advancement opportunities.
Server/Barista (Current Employee), Dulles, VAJuly 30, 2014
The managers and supervisors are very easy to talk to. It's a growing company with many opportunities to advance. The best part of the job is the relationships I've built with my coworkers. The hardest part is dealing with certain customers, but it's an overall easy job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Fredericksburg, VAJuly 28, 2014
Great Management, Great Pay, Fun Place to work.

I worked here for 5 years
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service Produce Department (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJuly 25, 2014
Pros: customer service
 Assisted customers as needed with product knowledge, price checking, and any other duties.
 Used, cleaned and sanitized the stores juice machine to produce fresh squeezed OJ, lemonade and grapefruit juice for customers.
 Broke down skids of product and worked them into the produce cooler.
 Assisted in department opening and closing operations.
 – more... Assisted with all aspects of customer service within the front end department such as: front end runner, cashier, “helping hands”, as well as being a part of the maintenance staff.
 Heavily involved in the receiving department. Learned opening and closing procedures along with checking, and verifying all vendors as they loaded there product. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for bakery experience on a large scale
Full Time General Help (Current Employee), Rochester, NYJuly 24, 2014
Pros: great pay, cross training
Cons: heat
A typical day at work is operating a bread bagger machine along with a robot. In my time at Wegmans I have learned how to operate machines, scale ingredients, the GMP's, how to use hand held devices for logging inventory. I am lead by a Team Leader who expects us to work with minimal supervision and more so independently. My coworkers are focused and – more... for the most part work together like a well oiled machine. Hardest part about my job is the fast pace in 100+ degree temperatures. I enjoy the ability to cross train in different areas gaining all kind of knowledge keeping the job fresh. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wegmans is a great company to work for. I like that it is Family owned and run and their ethics are impeccable
Superintendent/Project Manager (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJuly 23, 2014
Pros: there are many benefits, health care, ewlw program, profit sharing program. being a privately held company as it benefits
Cons: sometimes being short sighted, privately held company, being a food market they often handle projects like a food market and not a construction company.
when you are given a project it is yours to run with. you also have many people to support you and the project from field techs, estimators, MEP superintendents, engineers, architects in the development group, to the construction accounting team, IT purchasing. Projects and project teams are set up to succeed. with the support of the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treat you like family
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Bethlehem, PAJuly 18, 2014
Everything I can do in the workforce I have learned from Wegmans. We are encouraged to make our own decisions and take responsibility for our work. We work individually, yet in teams, and co-workers get to know you and care about you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer service team member (Current Employee), Princeton, NJJuly 16, 2014
There are some challenges that may come your way but Wegmans will help you thru them. They are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Job - I looked forward to going to work every day
Cashier (Former Employee), Johnson City, NYJuly 15, 2014
Even as a Cashier I found this job to be extremely enjoyable. The co-workers, management, and just the overall way the company works is quite pleasant.

Very flexible scheduling, kind management and the store itself are all wonderful.

The hardest part about a cashiering job is it can be slightly boring in a grocery setting, but it also offers great – more... experience in the customer service setting. Talking with the customers and challenging yourself to try and make their day a little better is a great way to get good at the customer service field itself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place to start your job expirience
Cashier (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYJuly 14, 2014
Pros: great work enviornment
Cons: too short of breaks for part time workers
I over all enjoyed my time at Wegmans and if I ever needed a job and was in a tight spot I could probably walk in there and get a job.

1 2 3 4 5

About Wegmans

Wegmans Food Markets is a major regional supermarket chain, and one of the largest private companies in the U.S. Headquartered – Read more