Find companies:
Wegmans
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
508 reviews

Wegmans Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy Work Environment
Part-time Associate (Current Employee), Northborough, MADecember 20, 2014
Pros: time-and-a-half on sundays
Cons: no discounts, expensive lunch
-Memorized restaurant orders and performed food preparation.
-Responsible for operational efficiency and creating a relaxed environment where food service delivery to costumers is taking place.
-Leading in maintaining high levels of hygiene and enforcing strict compliance with all health and safety legislation.
-Advising customers on menu choices.
-Costumer – more... Service associate on several departments including: Submarine Shop, Pizza Shop, Chef’s Case and Helping Hands.
-Loading and unloading company merchandise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun rewarding workplace
Overnight stocker/Meat Department (Current Employee), Sterling, VADecember 17, 2014
Pros: weekly paycheck, fun staff, family environment
Cons: working weekends, pay rate
ALot of customer service, cleaning meat grinder, and cutter. Learn new dishes to make and try. Excellent place if want to grow within the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
vvvv
Cashier and Stock Shift Lead (Former Employee), Woodbridge, VADecember 16, 2014
Sales Associate
Foot Locker - Woodbridge, VA
July 2009 to July 2010
Responsibilities
Responsibilities included cleaning and keeping a neat display area.
Making sure each customer was greeted in a cheerful manner when walking into the store.
Be proactive in helping customers decide which shoes to purchase without being controlling.
Always mention any – more... sales going on to the customer before closing out the purchase.
Keep cash drawer neat and accurate at all times.
Making sure the back stock room is properly stocked and shelved according to shoe and size.

Accomplishments
While at this job I was remained top sales lead for 8months straight. Receiving employee of the month several times.

Skills Used
Sales
Cash Handling
Organization
Stock
Marketing
Edit | ×
Attend
Skating and Bowling Center - Fort Belvoir, VA
May 2008 to June 2009
Responsibilities
This required making shoe and skate rentals along with lane assignments, run cash – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Selector (Current Employee), Pottsville, PaDecember 14, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits
Cons: unprofessionalism
Amongst the favoritism and the lack of professionalism, this place is the worst to work for. They constantly beat you down and make smart people feel dumb. Team leaders who don't do their job get to tell you what to do even tho they have no clue themselves in true leadership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting job, long term job, or career.
Cashier/Stock (Former Employee), Rochester, NYDecember 11, 2014
Pros: great starting job for high school students
Was my fist real job my day to day schedule was school then work at Wegmans for 3-4 hours. The Hillside program definitely made the experience there more personal and receiving the scholarship from them after i graduated high school wasn't bad either. All around Wegmans was a fun great environment for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Team leader for the front end department (Current Employee), njDecember 9, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Great company to work for. It is a growing company with numerous oppotunities. Training oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with a great group of people
Pharmacy Intern (Current Employee), Rochester, NYDecember 6, 2014
I have gained a great deal of understanding of the career of pharmacy from working for Wegmans. A typical day of work as a pharmacy intern includes filling and dispensing prescriptions, making phone calls to prescribes, counseling and making recommendations to patients and performing daily orders for inventory replenishment. I was able to work with – more... a great staff which allowed me to help train many younger technicians and interns. Moving between stores helped me build an understanding how prescription volume can affect how a department functions. Overall this was a great company to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Sign painter (Current Employee), Geneseo, New YorkDecember 4, 2014
Wegmans has been a great place to develop my skills as a traditional sign painter in a fast paced environment. Working on a store level I was forced to work with many different materials and become innovative with every project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educational experience
Wegmans Customer Service Employee (Current Employee), Lanham, MDNovember 29, 2014
Working this was a very good experience. I learned alot of new things and also gained knowledge in many other areas. My co workers were great. Management is okay. The customers are manageable. Some days are very busy and other can be very slow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good summer job
fish department (Former Employee), Mechanicsburg, PANovember 25, 2014
Pros: fun place to work
Cons: smell like fish at the end of the day
good busy summer job
customer service is key
fun people to work with
company was great bosses listen to what you had to say
Learned alot about fish and customer service from this job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a nice place to work, good people
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Rochester, N.Y.November 19, 2014
I loved working with my co-workers, we always tried to make work fun, while staying professional. It was a good job with great management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Accounts Receivables Clerk (Former Employee), Woodbridge, NJNovember 19, 2014
Love working there, co-workers, and the customers!!!! My hours were perfect and the the pay was good. Also liked having HR right upstairs to help with any necessary issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity and Employees Appreciation
Customer service/ Meat department (Current Employee), Gainesville, VANovember 14, 2014
Pros: employee appreciation lunchens
Cons: wish they had eye care with health care program
A typical day at Wegman's, would be to cut meat, setup service case. Put grinder together, grind hamburger, wrap, price and put in package case. If left in charge I would delegate work to others, I train Team Leaders. I have learned how to order for the fresh meat and frozen, on a weekly basis. Have learned Wise, which shows me the sales and how to – more... control shrink, as well as bench marking other stores and item movement.

The management are help full and knowledgeable.
Co- workers, I have built a life time family with my Team.
The hardest part of my job, Doing the load, lifting 89 lb boxes of primal beef one is okay, but five or more, kinda get tired after that.
The enjoyable part of my job, is, meeting new people and solving their problems when it comes to meal suggestions, and the fast pace work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depressing place to work
Pharmacy Tech (Former Employee), Mt. ReadNovember 11, 2014
If you are not young, blonde, skinny, and have blue eyes. Working in their pharmacy is a waste of time. There is a obvious "look" management seems to gravitate to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Customer Service/ Deli and Kosher (Former Employee), Sterling, VANovember 10, 2014
Pros: great people
Awesome place to work; weekly pay; great people to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short staffed
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee), Cherry Hill, NJNovember 10, 2014
Pros: free pretzels on sundays
Cons: short staffed
Seems Cherry Hill store must have lowest payroll to sales in company. Always short staffed expecting employees to work faster to make up for not hiring. Usually only 2 -3 cashiers scheduled on Sunday mornings at 6:00 am. If you come in at 7:00am expect to deal with irrate customers that have been standing in 2 really long lines. Also if you work after – more... 9:00 pm expect the same, everyone leaves at 9:00 pm except for a few and they start closing the self checkouts at 10:00. Also always asking front end to help out in other departments such as dairy, grocery, and nature's marketplace. I know at least 3 qualified applicants that never received a callback.Give us a break and hire some help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wegmans is in my opinion the best grocery store in Massachusetts.
Cashier (Former Employee), Chestnut Hill , Newton , MANovember 7, 2014
There is a very friendly , upbeat work environment . It's a shame that they don't have one closer to Boston .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Customer Service /Food Runner (Current Employee), Burlington, MANovember 7, 2014
Pros: great benefits. great bunch of people
Wegmans is a great company to work for. Has room for advancement in each department. They are more than willing to cross train.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun and enjoyable to place to work, tough work at times, but as a producvtion worker, you and your crew rally together and get the job done.
Helping Hand, Cashier, Handyman, Bakery Prod. Line (Former Employee), Town of Chili, NYNovember 4, 2014
Pros: porvided me with job security for 10 years, benefits, and scholarships, and allowd me to work with various people and firneds
Cons: warehouse work was a little intense, drove me away, i did not like how i was mentally responded to the atomosphere of everyday work.
I realy enjoyed my time with Wegmans! I started as a 15 year old at the store locations and then moved my way up to the bakery warehouse production side when i was around 20 years old. I saw a lot of crazy things in there and got to interact with a lot of different people. I met and made many new friends there and i had a lot of fun working with them,. – more... The reason why i left the job though was because i did not want to get stuck in the warehouse lifestyle of work like my father did. I left on good terms and am thankful for the years of employment they gave me. They helped me through college and helped me become a stronger more well rounded man from the intense labor that we did, whether it be mental or physical. It was a great experience there and i only wish i could have stayed a little longer, but i knew if i did i would get stuck and comfortable there and i did not want that to happen to me. I have a four year degree and i deserve to do something better than be a production worker making bread all day. My plan was to one day make it into the corporate offices, but that was just a pipe-dream. Then when i saw a new job opportunity i took it and never looked back...until now. Great company and people to work for and with. I thank them for everything they taught me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Bakery/Customer Service (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, NYNovember 3, 2014
Pros: employee appreciation days, healthcare, dress down days, flexible work schedules.
Cons: working holidays, manual labor.
Wegmans is a great company to work for. Everyone gets along really well. Management is really understanding and are easy to approach. A great place for students to work because they are flexible with everyone's schedule. Most employees receive a $0.25 raise every six months, which is great for part-timers. Wegmans will provide you with all the tools – more... and any training you would need to succeed at your job. They also are constantly keeping employees updated on company wide events, such as new stores opening with the option of participating, as well as how to live a healthier lifestyle. The hardest part of the job is working early mornings on weekend, manual labor, and working holidays. The most enjoyable part of working at Wegmans is how your co-workers become your family and the enjoyable atmosphere. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Wegmans

Wegmans Food Markets is a major regional supermarket chain, and one of the largest private companies in the U.S. Headquartered – Read more