Find companies:
Wegmans
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
364 reviews

Wegmans Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding company culture and great management.
Front End Coordinator (Current Employee), Rochester, NYJune 26, 2014
Pros: free lunches, great training programs, fun employees, free events, discount movie and car wash tickets
Great place to work. The employees are awesome and the management genuinely cares about you and your goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place.
Cashier (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJune 24, 2014
The job was great there was just a lot of favoritism with managers with the co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work.
Customer Service and store photographer (Current Employee), Canandaguia, NYJune 22, 2014
Pros: family-like environment
Cons: little ability to move up within the company
A typical day at work is coming in early and setting up for the day. Preparing orders to be picked up on time and handling customers that walk up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understanding and Supportive Workplace
Customer Service (Current Employee), Rochester, NYJune 22, 2014
Pros: flexibility and trust within the company.
Cons: inconsistent schedules and hours.
Wegmans is known for spoiling their customers, which is exactly why we all love shopping there, right? They also cater very well to employees. As a trusted employee, I am confident any time something comes up in life, with school, or within the workplace that someone is there to listen and help. I know each day upon clocking in that my wellness as an – more... employee is a priority for my managers. After a lengthy college career, I was able to either limit my schedule or leave temporarily to complete my degree when necessary. I am confident that my job will be there for me as long as I need it, which is incredibly important today, what with all the lay-offs and cut backs. They provide insurance for their part and full timers, as well as the opportunity to donate, participate in charity and company projects, and our input is always welcome. I am very proud to be able to say these things about my company, as not many can! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay, flexible schedule
Customer service/food prep (Current Employee), Niagara Falls, NYJune 21, 2014
Pros: break room, utensils and water provided, air conditioning, flexible schedule
Cons: scheduled outside availability, short shifts, inexperienced managers, low pay
I am a part time employee. It is always hard to get enough hours and management is always looking to cut hours but at the same time will hire more employees. Wegmans does allow you to cross-train in another department to try to get more hours. Wegmans works well with your schedule but often schedules outside your availability. Inconsistent work times, – more... I have known people to work weeks without a day off. Pay depends on how long you are there and not on the quality of your work. There are opportunities to advance but normally you would have to switch stores. Most of the managers and higher ranking people are friends, so if you have a problem with a manager there's not much you can do. Management positions are not based on ability or experience. Also, Wegmans rarely fires employees, this often results in other employees picking up the slack.

We get a small raise every 6 months but unfortunately this raises as the same rate as the new minimum wage. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee Representative
Employee Representative (Former Employee), Fairfax, VAJune 20, 2014
Pros: great place to work overall, provided me the foundation to provide excellent customer service.
Cons: no advancement in hr.
Was responsible for opening stores in new markets.

Recruitment, on boarding, training and employee relations.

Supported 20+ managers and 1000 employees.

Provided leadership and guidance to management to deal with daily employee matters.

Retail is a hard schedule, no weekends off, no holidays off and dealing with numerous issues.

Really love Wegmans!! – more... It is truly the best grocery store and a great place to work. Had I desired a career in retail management, I would still be there, but wanted a less demanding career with more flexibility. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This store was so clean.
Cashier (Former Employee), Wilkes Barre,PA.June 20, 2014
Pros: wonderful place to work. clean and efficient.
Cons: only that i needed full time then.( not really a con)
I started working part time in the evenings. I enjoyed working with the people at night.

I did not feel this was a very hard job.
I also tried to work in the cash office. But there were so many procedures, It was just to complicated for me.

I decided to work in the pharmacy. The Pharmacists were very nice
and i learned a lot. I needed to work full – more... time then, but they were not hiring then. So that is when i changed jobs.

Now I need part time.
I got along with all my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love this job
Helping hands (Former Employee), woodbridge,njJune 18, 2014
overall this is a good job and the people here are friendly. I learned how to interact with all kinds of people and different personalities. There was no hard part about this job everything was made easy. i enjoyed meeting new people every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wegmans is great!
Retail Associate (Former Employee), Johnson City, NYJune 18, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, flexible hours, opportunity for advancement
Cons: fulltime hours can be a bit hard to come by if you are new or inexperienced, you work with high school students a lot
I worked there for the better part of 5 yrs and have very few complaints. People are very friendly and if you like working with the public its perfect
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NICE PLACE FOR PART TIME
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VAJune 16, 2014
VERY GOOD PLACE TO WORK, MANAGERS ALL HELP AND COMMUNICATE, THERE WHEN NEEDED.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wegmans
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Rochester NYJune 11, 2014
Wegmans is a great place to work with great people and great management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, high stress, but very rewarding
Accounting Office Associate (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYJune 11, 2014
Cons: not many hours to go around.
Wegmans is always busy so be ready to work! Fast pace environment. The accounting office can be a high stress environment, however if you work well under pressure you will be fine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Night Crew (Former Employee), Johnson City, NYJune 5, 2014
Pros: great benifits an advancement
Wegmans cares for there employees as much as the customers .Great atmosphere an great place for college students to work they are very flexiable on there scheduling
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wegmas
Chef (Former Employee), Elmira, NYJune 4, 2014
Pros: was that i got to do something i really like
Cons: was that he did not care about the health of my unborn child or my self
working at wegmans was not bad at all the people are fantastic , i only let because my boss was not the type of boss anyone would want he wanted me to us harsh cleaning liqueds that could hurt my unborn child an i had told him that i was have a baby, he told me to put a few pairs of gloves an i would be fine an after i did not do that everytime i turned – more... around i was doing something worng an it was not to his lieing – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Customer Service (Current Employee), Dickson City, PAJune 4, 2014
Pros: i get a free 6 dollar meal card when i get complimented by a customer and reach my ipm goal
Cons: i'm only part-time so i don't get many benefits, but that's okay.
a typical day at Wegman's for me would be very efficient and hectic. I'ts normally very busy on a daily basis. I am mostly on the express lane because of how fast I am on register, I'm always reaching my IPM goal. I get a compliment from a customer daily, and customer satisfaction is my main goal to achieve while I'm working. The management is great. – more... They are flexible with the employees and my co- workers are all friendly. We're like one big happy family. The most enjoyable part of my job is when a customer comes up to me and compliments me and makes me feel good about myself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to start
Cashier/ Helping Hand (Current Employee), Mount Laurel, NJJune 3, 2014
Pros: friendly environment, flexible hours, decent breaks
Cons: breaks aren't always on time, unfriendly customers, standing for a long time
I've worked at wegmans for 2 years plus now, and I have learned a lot about customer service. Most of the managers are very friendly and helpful, and my co-workers are all interesting fun people (even with the 100 plus people on the front end.) The hardest part of my job is standing still for extended periods of time. The most enjoyable part is interacting – more... with my co-workers there since they are like a second family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
EXPO/ SERVER (Former Employee), King of Prussia, PAMay 23, 2014
Good place to work. Enjoyed my experience there.
Serving
busing tables
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed work environment with low stress
Wine Shop Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VAMay 22, 2014
Pros: some benefits, two raises a year, 401k plan, etc.
Cons: no healthcare, breaks were often not given, part-time employees are often seen as expendable.
Typical day consisted of conditioning product, putting out stock, working with vendors to order wine and get new product, providing knowledge-based customer service regarding wine.
Was taught some about wine by company, but learned more independently. Learned mainly how to handle inventory and how to order product from distributors.
Management was generally – more... easy to work with at the in-store level, but district and corporate managers were difficult to work with and clearly did not care or respect our in-store employees.
Co-workers were pleasant, easy to get along with, but there is very little pressure to have workers put forth effort and it often fell on myself and others to pick up the slack of the lazier workers.
Hardest part of the job was changing out displays, which involved a lot of heavy lifting for an extended period of time.
Most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with and educating customers about product, helping to guide them to something affordable that they would enjoy, not just the most expensive item they'd buy. Focus was on getting customers to return and enjoy their experience at the store, not to get everything out of their wallet. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun people to meet
Cashier (Current Employee), Syracuse, NYMay 17, 2014
Pros: good breaks & good vibes
Cons: meet rude people sometimes
I would punch , get assigned to a register, stand at the end of the register greet people, ask them if they're ready to check out
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work, decent pay.
Customer Service Produce (Current Employee), Depew, NYMay 16, 2014
Pros: decent pay.
Cons: zero in store discounts.
Typical day consists of stocking the sales floor, assisting customers, and maintaining cleanliness. You learn quite a bit about different products and their seasons. Management at the department level is sub par. Most of their day is standing around watching you work. The people you work with are usually pretty cool, somewhat reliable. The hardest part – more... of the job is meeting the constantly changing demands from management. The most enjoyable part is going home at the end of the day. – less

About Wegmans

Wegmans Food Markets is a major regional supermarket chain, and one of the largest private companies in the U.S. Headquartered – Read more