Find companies:
Wegmans
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
498 reviews

Wegmans Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Assistant Front End Manager (Former Employee), allentown,pennsylvaniaAugust 11, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: too much fun
enjoyed working,supervising and training.the company standard of customer service is great and I learned a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to start your first Job
Cashier/Helping Hands/ Maintenance (Former Employee), East Amherst, NYAugust 8, 2014
A great company that really takes care of you when you are first entering the work force. Also, great possibilities for advancement if you decide to stay with the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service experience
Prepared Foods Team Member (Former Employee), Williamsville, NYAugust 7, 2014
I was trained to interact professionally with Wegmans' customers, providing quality service and Wegmans' signature food products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people, great enviroment, fun workplace
cashier, coordinator, pharmacy techn, bakery (Former Employee), Corning, NYAugust 6, 2014
Pros: breakroom has a wii, many programs for the employees, yearly bbq, contest, ability to work different departments, employee appreciation dinner
Cons: hard to advance, short breaks, no full time positions
There's never a typical work day for me at wegmans because I worked different departments. One day I can be running across the store grapping products for the customers, the next day I can be making cakes and making kids smile by giving them cookies, or I can be helping the pharmacy fill the prescriptions for the customers. There would be days when – more... I stared the day in pharmacy and ended my day in the bakery. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work environment with friendly people to work with
Wegmans Food Markets (Current Employee), Blasdell, NYAugust 5, 2014
Pros: flexable work schedule for employees
Cons: nasty customers
Deli Employee
fun work environment
friendly work environment along with co-workers
complete daily tasks with little or no supervision
regular customer interaction and maintaining great verbal communication to customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-Time College Job
General Merchandiser/ Produce employee (Current Employee), Leesburg, VAAugust 2, 2014
Pros: good people
Cons: not a career
Although Wegmans is a top Fortune 500 job, it is not the kind of job that I am looking to make a career. The people who work there are good people, but lack the ambition and motivation that I express. I am looking to extend my educational background beyond what is expected of the Wegmans management so that I may obtain a highly valued and highly paid – more... career. In addition, my area of interest is in international affairs and intelligence making Wegmans somewhat irrelevant to me. Wegmans can provide the benefits and team culture that most workers are looking for, but my concern is towards greater challenges and great reward. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with many advancement opportunities.
Server/Barista (Current Employee), Dulles, VAJuly 30, 2014
The managers and supervisors are very easy to talk to. It's a growing company with many opportunities to advance. The best part of the job is the relationships I've built with my coworkers. The hardest part is dealing with certain customers, but it's an overall easy job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Fredericksburg, VAJuly 28, 2014
Great Management, Great Pay, Fun Place to work.

I worked here for 5 years
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management has no spine
bakery associate (Current Employee), King of Prussia, PAJuly 28, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: spineless authority
this job sucks but they have good benefits, management has no spine what so ever, so everyone does what they want.

the company as a whole looks good on paper, but individually they suck!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work.
Chef/Cook I Team Leader (Current Employee), Erie, PAJuly 27, 2014
Can be a good career choice if you're able to buy into the culture. Great coworkers. Decent pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service Produce Department (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJuly 25, 2014
Pros: customer service
 Assisted customers as needed with product knowledge, price checking, and any other duties.
 Used, cleaned and sanitized the stores juice machine to produce fresh squeezed OJ, lemonade and grapefruit juice for customers.
 Broke down skids of product and worked them into the produce cooler.
 Assisted in department opening and closing operations.
 – more... Assisted with all aspects of customer service within the front end department such as: front end runner, cashier, “helping hands”, as well as being a part of the maintenance staff.
 Heavily involved in the receiving department. Learned opening and closing procedures along with checking, and verifying all vendors as they loaded there product. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for bakery experience on a large scale
Full Time General Help (Current Employee), Rochester, NYJuly 24, 2014
Pros: great pay, cross training
Cons: heat
A typical day at work is operating a bread bagger machine along with a robot. In my time at Wegmans I have learned how to operate machines, scale ingredients, the GMP's, how to use hand held devices for logging inventory. I am lead by a Team Leader who expects us to work with minimal supervision and more so independently. My coworkers are focused and – more... for the most part work together like a well oiled machine. Hardest part about my job is the fast pace in 100+ degree temperatures. I enjoy the ability to cross train in different areas gaining all kind of knowledge keeping the job fresh. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, very friendly atmosphere.
Helping Hands Coordinator/Front End Coordinator (Current Employee), Gambrills, MDJuly 23, 2014
A typical day at work usually is a quick paced one. You tend to deal with lots of customers with a wide degree of task. But, the atmosphere at the store and team oriented mentality really makes working there worth it. Management really cares about their employees, its the culture throughout all of Wegmans and that starts from the top. Wegmans likes – more... to build from within. So, once you're in and you want to move up in the company, they'll really make possible for you to do that, as long as you do your part. Anyone looking to apply to a Wegmans store, I'd highly recommend it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wegmans is a great company to work for. I like that it is Family owned and run and their ethics are impeccable
Superintendent/Project Manager (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJuly 23, 2014
Pros: there are many benefits, health care, ewlw program, profit sharing program. being a privately held company as it benefits
Cons: sometimes being short sighted, privately held company, being a food market they often handle projects like a food market and not a construction company.
when you are given a project it is yours to run with. you also have many people to support you and the project from field techs, estimators, MEP superintendents, engineers, architects in the development group, to the construction accounting team, IT purchasing. Projects and project teams are set up to succeed. with the support of the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treat you like family
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Bethlehem, PAJuly 18, 2014
Everything I can do in the workforce I have learned from Wegmans. We are encouraged to make our own decisions and take responsibility for our work. We work individually, yet in teams, and co-workers get to know you and care about you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer service team member (Current Employee), Princeton, NJJuly 16, 2014
There are some challenges that may come your way but Wegmans will help you thru them. They are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Job - I looked forward to going to work every day
Cashier (Former Employee), Johnson City, NYJuly 15, 2014
Even as a Cashier I found this job to be extremely enjoyable. The co-workers, management, and just the overall way the company works is quite pleasant.

Very flexible scheduling, kind management and the store itself are all wonderful.

The hardest part about a cashiering job is it can be slightly boring in a grocery setting, but it also offers great – more... experience in the customer service setting. Talking with the customers and challenging yourself to try and make their day a little better is a great way to get good at the customer service field itself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place to start your job expirience
Cashier (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYJuly 14, 2014
Pros: great work enviornment
Cons: too short of breaks for part time workers
I over all enjoyed my time at Wegmans and if I ever needed a job and was in a tight spot I could probably walk in there and get a job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Chestnut Hill, MAJuly 14, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: long stands
Working in the Bakery department is fun and exciting. I think the best part about it is being able to tell the customers about our bread variety. I learned how to pack, bake, and slice bread. The management team is amazing and they make each employee feel welcome. My coworkers are also amazing especially when it comes to team work.I enjoy my job and – more... the people I work with and of course making the customers happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work for
Cook II (Former Employee), Hunt Valley, MDJuly 12, 2014
Pros: talking with the customers who need information
Cons: to much break time
adverage work day thought more then i lerned
boreing and firm but fair
ok
not to much work
cooking

About Wegmans

Wegmans Food Markets is a major regional supermarket chain, and one of the largest private companies in the U.S. Headquartered – Read more