Weir SPM Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work as long as you're salaried
2nd Shift Maintenance Lead (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXMay 19, 2017
Hourly employees are worked hard, with long hours and first to be laid off when the market drops. Salaried employee's enjoy bonuses when the market is down. Great benefits and good people, just poor executive leadership strategies.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Pay scale not matched to market.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Roustabout Hand (Former Employee) –  White Settlement, TXFebruary 10, 2017
This job is a good entry level job for someone looking to break into the oilfield. It was hard work and took a lot of my time. But the money was good also.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Significant overtime potential
Iron Technician (Former Employee) –  Fort Lupton, COJanuary 21, 2017
Hard work but rewarding salary. Travel potential but not required. Possibilities for growth as crew leader. Management is keyed into daily results and problems.
Pros
Good management
Cons
A lot of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place to work
Service Tech III (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LADecember 8, 2016
I wanted a career change and they gave me chance with no experience. Therefore i recommend this job for young men who wants to get a foot in the door with the oil and gas industry.
Pros
room for advancement
Cons
buddy system
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work when oi; is in high demand
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXNovember 28, 2016
Not much to say here, other than the place was made extremely toxic by the very existence of old stubborn employees. Management was sorta lackluster they would pick favorites and they hardly ever trained people properly.
Pros
when we had orders it was busy
Cons
finding something to do when there were no orders;getting laid off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Rewarding job
CNC Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Ft. Worth, TXAugust 8, 2016
I got to review and upgrade programs to cut down cycle times.I was able to machine new fixtures for said programs and production jobs.Everybody was helpful.I would say the hardest part of my job was finding tools needed.The best part of my job was being told that I did a good job from some of my supervisors.
Pros
Nice break room was clean
Cons
Long hours were mandatory a lot of the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good comapny to work for
Pump Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXMay 6, 2016
Had our morning meetings, talked about what work load we had for the day and what the game plan was. Then got to work with your partner, bring the frac pumps that needed to be work on from outside into our work bay. Wash off the pump if needed and start to tearing it down, After breaking it all down, see whats wrong with it, order new parts and rebuild it.
Pros
big company
Cons
to many lay offs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed it
Set-up Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXMarch 13, 2016
The company was a very pleasant place to work. I very much enjoyed my job there. The workplace was very clean and tidy. The managers a people higher ranks than me were very considerate and nice to me.
Pros
good benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co workers
Service Technician 2 (Former Employee) –  Grand Junction, CODecember 11, 2015
This company provides great co workers and brings people together and builds bonds, however management can be very difficult at times as in the time i was there it changed atleast three times. A decent paying job and good environment with co workers once you accept the micro managing and favoritism. Customer always came before employees which is good on a business side but severely lacking in respect and care towards employees. Over all enjoyed my time at the company and for the most part the co workers were why i enjoyed working there.
Pros
co workers
Cons
lack of managements company knowledge, not much respect
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Branch Manager/FSR Trainer/Quality Auditor (Former Employee) –  Searcy, ARNovember 13, 2015
Good company to work although the pay was not where it should be and the demand of the management is difficult at times . It is very difficult to advance with this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant Company
Supplier Developmental Engineer (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXOctober 7, 2015
When Oil & Gas industry comes back- I would go back to it in a heart beat.

When you get chance t work their, take the chance, you will not forget it.
Pros
Best People to work with.
Cons
Too Top Heavy in Upper Management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and benefits
Lead Tech (Former Employee) –  Searcy, ARMay 17, 2015
This is a really good place to work. Never the same thing every day and the benefits are great. Pay is excelent too. Needs more start off training but all in all a really good place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a good company to work for
Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee) –  Kilgore, TXApril 30, 2015
There is lots of room to advance. you do work longer than normal hours at times. but over all its a good company. management is getting better every day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
100% executive overhaul in past 7 months
Sourcing Manager (Current Employee) –  Fort WorthApril 11, 2015
Pros--business was historically so good that costing was very low priority. Easy to gain cost reductions.
Cons--Management has totally missed all business cycles in past 5 years.--up or down.
Pros
Trying to take professional approach
Cons
Total lack of business forecast
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security/ Advancement
Liaison Engineer/Drafting Supervisor/Sr. Drafter (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXMarch 31, 2015
Most of the Promotion go 4Year Degreed people without practical
experience.
layoffs are Radom , but mostly the people who Know the Oil and Gas industry and the products Weir SPM oil &Gas it makes are laid off,
Pros
good benefits
Cons
illlogical management and a lack of concequences for major mistakes
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Material Handler II (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXFebruary 2, 2015
Co-workers were great....the pay was good also. The Health benefits were above average. I enjoyed that management did watch over you.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People
CNC Machinist/ Mills (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TXOctober 7, 2014
Owner do take care of their employees. They had alot of different machine to learn and develop on.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
same above
CNC Lathe machinist (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJune 19, 2014
CNC Lathe
Advance technology.
Employer so good.
Employee so good.
Hardest part of the job.
Not easy for machinist job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair Work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXDecember 31, 2013
Weir SPM was a fun place to work. Yes, the management does need some and pay raises need to be more than $.20 at a time. They do honor the employees every once in a while by serving free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok good people
cnc machinist (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXNovember 14, 2013
clock in talk to operator about posiable problems check inserts check program check where machine and program are run check every tool ran check part
Pros
get paid
Cons
laid offs
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Weir SPM. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 40 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.9
Culture
3.2