Find companies:
WellPoint
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
478 reviews

WellPoint Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Rollercoaster
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Current Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 19, 2014
Pros: decent benefits, company is interested in and proactive in employee wellness, very diverse work place
Cons: lack of work/life balance, inefficient parking (some have to park in another building's parking deck a block away), technology is fragmented
A typical day involves checking e-mail and constantly putting out fires. Getting new hires set up or off boarded properly, requesting system accesses, expense reporting, participating in several conference calls and/or meetings. I learned how to become a master at multi-tasking. Co-workers are pleasant and respectful. The hardest part of this job is – more... the lack of consistency and accountability among management and leadership with regards to policies and procedures. Also, technology makes getting work done difficult as there are various networks throughout the company and very few are merged together. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to get a task completed and knowing that I did my best work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Division
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES MANAGER II (Current Employee), Minnetonka, MNNovember 18, 2014
This company is growing rapidly. A lot of hard work and long hours. Logical explanations were not always offered.

Their values concept was good. They just hadn't trickled down to all of the associates yet.

All-in-all it is a good company. Once they're done with their growing pains it will be a good company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manage care
Community Outreach Specialist (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYNovember 18, 2014
• Developed, maintained excellent working relationships with key partners such as: ( NYPD, NYCHA, IPHRE,YMCA, Hospitals and doctors among a list of others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Broker Services Correspondent (Former Employee), Denver, CONovember 17, 2014
WellPoint is a secure well established company. They are diversified and offer a good benefit package
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fun work environment
Broker Analyst (Former Employee), Newbury Park, CANovember 17, 2014
Overall I learned many things in my 8 years of being at Wellpoint and worked with alot of great people and even made a few friends that I am still good friends with till this day. I would say the most difficult part of my job was to solve each customers issue with a 6 1/2 minute phone call but we had alot of tools and resources and for the most part – more... as long as I brought it up to my manager he'd make I wuld have time off the phones to get my follow up work done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clicky environment, Nurse Management not supportive to new employees
RN Case Manager (Former Employee), Albany, New YorkNovember 16, 2014
Cons: poor management not supportive of new employees
In all my 27 years of nursing, I have never been treated so poorly. RN Manager had no interest in answering questions, while still on orientation !!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical Insurance company
Customer Care Representative (Current Employee), Worthington, OhioNovember 15, 2014
Cons: schedule can range from 7:55 am to 8 pm est
Typical day at work includes taking inbound calls from providers and offshore vendors, to provide information about medical benefits, provider contracts, and claims help. During taking calls I work on multiple screens and in multiple systems to assist with whatever questions are being asked and document the inquiry into a call log. We do have certain – more... goals that we have to meet not only individually but as a company.
Most people you work with are very friendly and helpful. Management is very helpful, they do have lots of meeting and sometimes are hard to get a chance to speak to but they make it a priority to get back to you as soon as they are available.
Hardest part of the job is having to help with difficult customers, but that is very rare it is a very professional atmosphere. They are a business casual facility. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to start, but has a glass ceiling.
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee), Middletown, NYNovember 12, 2014
Pros: opportunities to learn.
Cons: little advancement opportunities.
Wellpoint has given me a lot of experience and skills that I wouldn't otherwise have. However, there is not a lot of room for advancement and there is a high turnover.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
DMS Clerk II (Former Employee), Columbus, GANovember 12, 2014
Pros: great pay, team work, communication
Cons: constant lay offs
I learned a lot with WellPoint in regards to insurance and coding medical insurance. They worked as a team.

They do continue to have lay offs and and hire more employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager
Manager (Former Employee), new yorkNovember 11, 2014
Pros: none...benefits sucked and so does the organization
Cons: none...benefits sucked and so does the organization
this company does not stand by associates. Several employess were terminated as a result of answering honestly on the annual compliance recertification. these were associates that were acquired when Wellpoint took over Amerigroup. Not a trust worthy organization
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enthusiastic and Passionate Work Group
Financial Analyst, Sr. (Former Employee), Woodland Hills, CANovember 8, 2014
Pros: 401k match
Cons: system, technology
Work with all accounting functions related to Large Group Finance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy company allot of information to learn great benefits
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Moorpark, CANovember 8, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: you cant always get the help you need from oe's parking is the worst.
Good company to work for, allot of information to learn. Unfortunately you don't always get the help you need from the OE's. Has great benefits. Raises aren't that great and either is the parking unless you go in before 8am. Not difficult to do as long as you learn everything there is about it with in time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work schedule
Business System Analyst (Current Employee), Albany, NYNovember 7, 2014
Pros: given opportunity to learn more
-enjoyed my part of work
-able to learn a lot
-good Management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Network Data Specialist II (Former Employee), Camarillo, CANovember 6, 2014
Pros: great learning atmosphere with growth opportunities
Cons: when company was bought out, lay offs affected several employees
Busy, productive, training atmosphere
I learned training skills
Management was fair and always available
Co-workers always worked together as a team
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Beginning
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCNovember 6, 2014
Not my favorite job. I learned a lot about insurance benefits. Hardest part of the job was having to remember every single detail every single phone call with absolutely no room for error.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and test your strengths
Small Group Medical Underwriter (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVNovember 3, 2014
Pros: great learning place, great benefits package
Cons: hostile work enviornment at times and the office wasn't always the most peaceful place to work in.
I enjoyed working for WellPoint Inc for the majority of my employment. I had wonderful people to learn from and the education compensation was very helpful. The work enviornment could at times get hostile which made for stressful days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Albany, NYNovember 1, 2014
Pros: able to really resolve member issues
Cons: long commute
job allows to assist member with billing issues and researching questions about insurance contract
I have a clearer understanding of how insurance plans work. How claims are processed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Claims examiner
Network Data Specialist II (Former Employee), Albany, NYOctober 31, 2014
Pros: hour lunch
Cons: downsized job
I enjoyed my job, and my co-workers were fun.

I processed claims and listened to my radio at my desk.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Test Lead
Test Lead (Former Employee), Wallingford CTOctober 28, 2014
Responsibilities:
• Managed the overall testing activities and coordination between client and system contractors throughout the lifecycle of the project.
• Leading offshore / onsite Testing Team
• Monitored and reported on testing activities to Client
• Participate in the development of design documentation for the project
• Responsible in Creating – more... Test strategy Document, Test Plan Document, conducting walkthrough with business, development team and obtaining approval with project leadership and key stakeholders.
• Responsible in preparing End to End test Plan for cross functionality application testing
• Identifying, managing and creating real Regression test data for various testing levels and also protecting / Masking data. Creating automation script to create test data
• Identifying Risk on early stage, come up with Mitigation action and monitor till the closure, and also escalating the issues when required to Higher management to make sure we deliver on time
• Ensure Team will perform Effective Peer reviews on Test case design document before walkthrough with all stakeholders
• Monitor Test execution by team and mentoring and guiding them to perform effective test execution and documenting results
• Preparing testing progress Dashboard and reporting to higher management and Client Managers
• Manage processes for testing, defect tracking and reporting
• Be part of the Cross functional review/meeting to provide the SME inputs. Testing and coordinating with other QA Teams for cross functional support and analysis
• Conducting Test results reviews with Business Users, SME’s and development team
• Indentifying Automation scope and coordinating with offshore team for Creating effective Automation Scripts
• Managed with vendor personnel to resolve defects, facilitate build/promotion and Re Execution of Regression suite
• creating SLA document, maintaining all artifices for auditing and creating Audit folder – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WellPoint is a good company to work with and i enjoyed working with WellPoint
Business Systems Analyst (Current Employee), woodland hills caOctober 17, 2014
WellPoint is a good company to work with and i enjoyed working with WellPoint. I was able to learn new tools and was able to drive some solutions that got some value addition

1 2 3 4 5

About WellPoint

WellPoint, Inc. (WellPoint) is a health benefits company serving 35 million medical members, as of December 31, 2008. The Company – Read more