Find companies:
WESLEY Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
48 reviews

WESLEY Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable
LPN Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Wichita, KSJune 30, 2013
Hard working day with many rewards at the end of the day. My co-workers were hard working and a lot of fun to be around. Management was the greatest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work place
Hospital Operator (Former Employee), Wichita KsJune 28, 2013
Pros: friendly co workers
Cons: short breaks
the ability to learn new experience day to day and fast paced
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY BUSY PLACE TO WORK
RN (Former Employee), TELEMETRY X 1YR. THEN OUTPT SURGERYJune 13, 2013
Pros: educational opportunities
Cons: having to be on call
START OUT REVEIWING CHARTS, ASSISTING PTS TO ROOMS AND PREPARING THEM FOR SURGERY. RECOVERY OF PT AFTER SURGERY AND EDUCATING AND SENDING HOME. EVERYONE WORKED TOGETHER AS A TEAM WHICH WAS A PLUS. SEEMED LIKE YOU DIDNOT HAVE TIME TO GET TO KNOW YOUR PTS. LEARNED VARIOUS NEW PROCEDURES, GOT TO KNOW DOCTORS AND THIER LIKES AND DISLIKES. REALLY ENJOYED – more... THE FAST PACE AND BEING ABLE TO SCRUB WITH DOCTORS AFTER HOURS. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay job
Pharmacy Technician Specialist CPhT (Former Employee), Wichita, KSJune 11, 2013
Pros: great retail benefits
Cons: working every other weekend, and they only allow you to take 1 weekend off a year.
Unrealistic views of workload, pay and absenteeism. Often cover multiple positions throughout the day. Coworkers are wonderful, most are skilled in the profession, but quickly leaving. Turnover rate is very rapid.
Working long hours (often have to stay late) and multiple positions can drain you. However, you become closer with your fellow staff as they – more... are all you have to lean on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the work it was rewarding in many ways.
Staff Nurse (Former Employee), 550 N Hillside 67211.June 5, 2013
Pros: carring for the people.
The coworkers worked in a great team effort to provide the best care possible and supported each other with the daily cares and stressors involved with health care carrears. I have only good things to say. There were dificulties and challenges but I still rember the good times and I was proud to work with them as a team member, I would work with them – more... again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience for a fulltime college student
Phlebotomist (Current Employee), Hattiesburg, MSApril 23, 2013
I gained experience as a professional. I met wonderful people and gained great knowledge at Wesley. Great environment to be in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work, ,management not understanding
Homestead Assist Living and Aramark (Former Employee), Wichita, KSApril 19, 2013
Pros: incentive pay
Cons: 30 minute lunch break
It was okay, I learned alot from nurses and doctors in labor and delivery. I had a car accident and they were not understanding. My co-workers were hard workers. Working overnight, working with the ladies and getting the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
By far the best company and family I hae ever worked for!! I miss them sooooo much!!
Hospital Unit Clerk/Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Wichita, KSFebruary 13, 2013
Pros: family atmosphere, willingness to teach!!
I learned and witnessed so much more than I could have ever imagined in the healthcare field, without a nursing license. My talents and skills in the trauma field were so justified and utilized by the SICU team!! Thank youto John Irving, RN, DON, and the the charge nurses of the Surgical Intensive Care Unit!! I have never learned or loved so much!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of room for growth
Staff PTA (Former Employee), Hattiesburg, MSFebruary 4, 2013
this is an excellent hospital that has several settings to improve your clinical knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overalll good experience
Staff Nurse, Interim Charge Nurse (Former Employee), Wichita, KSJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: part time work opportunity.
Cons: nurse/patient ratio became too great. management change.
Many years have passed since my employment here.
I do know that I have carried many skills and much knowledge I gained from this experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience!
RN Endoscopy Unit (Former Employee), Wichita, KSJanuary 21, 2013
Pros: good team work within the department
Cons: n/a
I enjoyed th people I worked with, and appreciated the high level of integrity and competency required to work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place!!
CNA (Former Employee), Hattiesburg, MSJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: management, and coworkers
Wesley is an outstanding place to work. I would recommend anyone looking for a job to try there first. I worked on the Transitional Care Unit and everyone that worked there had great work ethic and was always willing to help, even management. I have never worked at a place where the nurses were that great with their CNAs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent place to learn
Level III Perinatal Unit Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Wichita, KSDecember 20, 2012
Pros: the learning aspects
This is a teaching facility & I was blessed to start my career here in OB. It was wonderful to see all that a true Level III can expose one to. We had 3 perinatologists, so many rarities came our way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful teamwork on my shift
Staff RN ICU (Former Employee), Hattiesburg, MSDecember 12, 2012
Teamwork was a strong point in this unit. Co workers were very helpful.

The "on call" system in place was very unorganized

Census dropped frequently in this unit and many months it was difficult to work a full 80 hour pay period.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging: you get out of it what you put in
nursing (Current Employee), nursingNovember 30, 2012
Pros: evidenced based practice and challenging ideas
Cons: high performers move up in corporation quickly leaving vacancies difficult to fill
high standards. management want to hear opinions from staff. advancement available for those who apply themselves. open to process improvement ideas
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the job, also liked the people I worked with.
Insurance Specialist/Receptionist (Former Employee), Posted charges & payments daily .October 3, 2012
Pros: was able to get alot of claims & charges keyed due to no interruptions
Cons: not able to take vacations.
Did not work on site of hospital, had an office at Cedar Lake . Was about 5 to 7 minutes from my house, close commute. Filed electronic claims,& mailed hard copy claims. Followed up on insurance payments, also worked on workers comp. claims from workwell. Posted charges & payments from visits that ER physicians charged. Worked well with co-workers. – more... Working alot of long nights before office was closed,due to only 2 people remained to do work of 6 people. Week ends off along with getting more than 2 years of vacation a year(which i never had). I really enjoyed this job alot. We billed for about 16 or more ER physicians at Wesley Medical. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff Nurse fill in
Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Wichita, KSAugust 17, 2012
Pros: being able to provide the nursing care at the higher standard i set for myself, in my nursing practice.
Cons: low staffing, high patient loads
Typical day-assessment and passing scheduled meds while being interupted several times to pass as needed pain meds to patients in pain post operatively. I had to be ready for anything to happen at a moments notice. The most important thing I learned in this job was how important it is to encourage patients loved ones to be with their hospitalized patients – more... to be their advocate. The staff were far too busy to just stop in and chat, which is sad as you were constantly running from one end of the unit to the other end. Co-workers were just as busy as I was and if they weren't they were skimping on their duties. The hardest part of the job was not being able to be in 4 or 5 different places at the same time and feeling inadequate at being able to serve my patients the way I felt they deserved to be served. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to deliver the highest standard of care that was within my nursing practice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Produtive and good place to work with a awesome gym.
EVS Supervisor (Current Employee), Hattiesburg, MSAugust 15, 2012
Well is a good place to work far as teamwork and I've learned how to manage a productive and quality environment safe for patients.
My co-workers are helpful and considerate willing to step in if needed and the most enjoyable part was making sure everyone is satisfied.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding position with little advancement
Registration (Former Employee), Hattiesburg MSAugust 5, 2012
Pros: free membership to the wellness center
Cons: short or no breaks, no advancement or salary increases
A great facility to work in, clean, friendly environment. Staff from the doctors to maintenance were always pleasant. Position could get stressful at times usually when manager neglected to have the shifts covered and you worked into the next shift. Transporting patients could be difficult, however the facility is basically a good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Resident Chaplain (Former Employee), Wichita, KSAugust 4, 2012
Pros: good employee support and morale
Cons: long hours
I have enjoyed working at this company and wish my one-year educational program as a chaplain did not have to come to an end. I would work there again if the opportunity presented itself.