Find companies:
Wesley Spectrum Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
14 reviews

Wesley Spectrum Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Admirable Mission, Fulfilling Work: Uncomfortable Work Environment
Behavior Specialist Consultant (Current Employee), PAMarch 22, 2014
Pros: support from co-workers, very fulfulling career
Cons: excessive driving, long hours, the feeling of never being "caught up"
-No home/personal life. NONE. If you have kids, good luck seeing them. EVER.
-Stressful.
-Minimal support from management. (Though a couple really are great.)
-Bullying tactics are employed.
-Restructuring to "break even" results in frequent changes to job descriptions/elimination of positions with little to no notice.
-Feeling of being disposable.
-Excessively – more... low pay for amount of work required.
-Benefits are not worth paying for.
-Cancellations by clients are held against YOU.
-The children are the only thing that make this job worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
COD Therapist
COD Outpatient and IOP Therapist (Current Employee), Washington, PAJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: providing cod treatment, co-workers
Cons: pay incentive plan
A typical day for me currently consists of providing individual therapy to adolescent and adults struggling primarily with co-occurring disorders (mental health and drug and alcohol). Once per week I facilitate the IOP group. What I love about this job is the opportunity to provide COD treatment, as I have experience in both yet never in the same setting. – more... What is stressful about this job is that we are on a pay incentive plan, which means that we have to meet productivity in order to earn a decent compensation. This has been very stressful because this population tends to struggle with showing up for their appointments. However, some days I have back to back appointments and there is not enough time at work to complete all of the necessary documentation. The most enjoyable part for me is facilitating groups and I enjoy my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Behavior Specialist Consultant
Behavior Specialist Consultant/Mobile Therapist (Former Employee), Bridgeville, PAAugust 24, 2013
Pros: great kids to work with
Cons: never enough hours to work
I came to this agency excited to be working again with individuals with Autism and other developmental disorders. Unfortunately, if management doesn't like you or your style as a Clinician they will try to get you out the door ASAP. I am leaving this agency because I have been unable to get enough hours, and I feel that Management does not like my style – more... as a Clinician. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Therapeutic Staff Support/Therapeutic Support (Current Employee), Pittsburgh,PAAugust 15, 2013
Wonderful company who truly cares about the kids.
Love to see there employes grow and there is a lot of chances to move up in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wesley Spectrum is a good company.
Behavioral Specialist Consultant (Current Employee), Gibsonia, PAMay 28, 2013
Pros: working with the families and children and the staff
Cons: cancellations
I really have liked working for Wesley Spectrum; however, I need a more consistent type of work in working for this company for work and also with compensation of pay. I provide direct consultation in the home, school, and community settings. I have learned much about client behaviors and how to teach and model interventions for the behaviors that the – more... client needs to utilize in the home, school, and community settings. I work with wonderful co-workers and they are very supportive to me in my work and I provide support to them as well. The hardest part of my job is when the families cancel and we are unable to make up the hours for that cancellation. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with the families and the staff with whom I model the interventions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Administration (Current Employee), Wilkinsburg, PANovember 6, 2012
Pros: great worklife balance and coworkers.
Cons: can't think of any.
Company is driven by mission and helps many children and families. Everyone is great to work with and make it an enjoyable workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team-oriented atmosphere with great support and therapeutic training
Program Supervisor (Current Employee), Family-based Mental HealthOctober 25, 2012
Pros: exciting therapy, great group of therapists, excellent training, good benefits
Cons: none that i can think of
I have worked for Wesley Spectrum for nearly 10 years. I worked in the Allegheny In-Home Family Therapy Program for 2 years, the Family-Based Mental Health program for 7 years and was recently promoted to Program Supervisor for Family-Based and Family-Focused therapy programs. In general, Wesley Spectrum Services is an excellent agency to work for: – more... The agency benefits are competitive and there is a lot of room to make meaningful career moves between and within programs.

More specifically, the Family-Based Mental Health program provides top-notch training opportunities, strong clinical supervision and great team support. The therapists are a wonderful group of people and you will find your co-workers to be positive and lots of fun!

I am very excited to be a part of the FBMH program and I am also happy to be part of the forward direction the program is moving. I see first-hand the great service our dedicated and motivated therapists provide to our clients and families. The work is challenging and at times can be tough, however its very rewarding. The job itself allows for a flexible schedule and non-traditional hours. If you are looking for solid experience in the field and superb training on how to be an effective therapist, then apply here! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with a focus on quality of service and professional development of staff.
Director (Current Employee), Westmoreland, Allegeny, and Beaver CountiesOctober 15, 2012
Pros: training and professional development, competitive benefits, attention to clinical work, and great supervision
Cons: the typical challenges of providing clinical services within the current political environment
Wesley Spectrum Services has a long history of providing social services within Southwestern Pennsylvania (Beaver, Allegheny, Westmoreland, Somerset, and Washington Counties). Wesley provides an extensive array of services to individuals across the age span. It is a great place to work based on the attention to quality of service, to professional development – more... and promotion of staff, and to customer service. Wesley Spectrum Service’s strategic plan is simple…provide value driven services while being financially sound. Even within the current political environment of reduced funding and increased regulations, Wesley Spectrum Services continues to provide competitive benefits, top notch training and professional development, and clinically sound services. They have truly discovered how to balance the demands of providing the best clinical services within a business model. If you want to be involved with an agency that truly understands how to balance these two demands of the social services field, this is the place for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A supportive, engaging, fun place to work while serving others!
Manager (Current Employee), PittsburghOctober 10, 2012
Pros: strong mission, good training, excellent benefits
Cons: nonprofit/social service uncertainty in this environment
Wesley Spectrum Services provides a supportive, engaging environment in which to work. Everyone, from management to facilities, to IT, to service providers are dedicated to Wesley's mission. This allows for a consistent clarity of purpose and really encourages collaboration with coworkers. Salaries and benefits are very fair. Good work is appropriately – more... rewarded and challenges are approached with creativity and determination. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrific management and unsupportive environment
Family Based therapist (Former Employee), PGH, PAJuly 17, 2012
Pros: ummmmmm
Cons: poor pay with no annual raises, high out of pocket for healthcare, lower than government rate for mileage (.48 cents per mile)
Forget having a life outside work, forget feeling appreciated or supported by your management team, forget being able to master any task before policies are changed yet again. Working here is like being a hamster on a wheel, you never move forward, never feel caught up despite working nights, weekends, and being on call 24 hours per day 7 days per week. – more... You get the feeling that you are disposable, and that they will squeeze every penny out of you before you inevitably burn out as the 40% turnover rate in my program demonstrates. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company dedicated to its mission
Administrative Support Staff (Current Employee), Wilkinsburg, PAJuly 9, 2012
I came to Wesley Spectrum to be a part of a company that is making a difference in the community. I am proud to support the mission of this agency. From my experience, managers sincerely care about their employees and genuinely want to see their employees succeed, and not only that, be happy doing their work. The programs that I work with offer some – more... flexibility with schedules to promote work/life balance- although- we still have to work hard to get the work done. There is room for growth in this company as well. In my opinion, compensation and benefits are really competitive for a non-profit. If you are the type of person who works hard and wants to make a difference in the community, as well as have a great career, I think you would enjoy working for WS. I highly recommend WS. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work. Lack of support and unethical company
Foster Care Advocate (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PA.March 3, 2012
Cons: unethical with their clients, lack of care of employees or clients.
This organization is a very unethical organization that is only concerned with making money off of governmental agencies. Lack of support with employees from management. This organization does not truly care about their employees.

Mike1 – October 15, 2012

It is unfortunate that the use of public forums has become a place to air biased opinions. Was this a performance problem? It is hard to believe that Wesley Spectrum Services is such an outlier in the social services provider community.

peoples – March 17, 2013

its true believe it. worked there.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee dedicated
TSS (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAFebruary 18, 2012
Pros: supervision
Great supervision and opportunities for advancement within the company.

About Wesley Spectrum Services

Wesley Spectrum is a growth-oriented non-profit organization with a passion to foster recovery by helping children, adolescents, – Read more

Wesley Spectrum Services Photos