Wesleyan University Employee Reviews

Found 18 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regular
Graduate Student (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CTJuly 29, 2015
Normal day as a grad student is hard work. Lots of experiments to do. And teaching and meetings. Undergrads are very smart.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wesleyan University is an Academic Home
Method Developer of DFT and Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CTJuly 14, 2015
Wesleyan University in Middletown, CT is a small yet fierce school striving for academic excellence in research across all fields of Chemistry.

We are a small department, and we get to know one another quite well. As such we become like a family.

I learned the most about anything I've ever known within those halls, and I thank all of my Professors for their contributions towards my education.

I would recommend anyone to attend Wesleyan University for a degree of any variety at any level.
Pros
Diverse offerings of seminars, Free Film Studies offerings, dance, music, and art exhibitions for little cost.
Cons
all can be made for the better or worse for the student, regardless of fact, depending on the opinion (however factual) of the research professor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best universities!
Assistant Professor (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CTJune 29, 2015
It's my alma mater so I have a biased review. The days were long and most hours are unpaid. But in the end it was always worth it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, awesome teachers with diverse backgrounds and qualifications
Analytical Chemistry Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CTApril 7, 2015
Fun place to work, awesome teachers with diverse backgrounds and qualifications.

The workload was easy to manage, stress-free environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Tour Guide Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Middletown, CTMarch 30, 2015
Hands on experience. Good work environment, as well as great compensation. I learned a lot about the application process into universities, as well as marketing in general.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant Coach
Assistant Coach (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CTMarch 22, 2015
It was a really great introduction to coaching. Learned a lot about recruiting and running a college team on a day to day basis. Other coaches were fantastic to work with. Very enjoyable to see the results of your teams hard work and discipline. Laid back atmosphere. Fun environment. Low pay.
Pros
access to school facilities, certain classes paid for
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
liberal arts college
Visiting Assistant Professor (Former Employee) –  middletown, ctMarch 18, 2015
friendly and fun place to work. Co-workers were mean. Good tech support.
Students were highly motivated.
Middletown is not a good place to raise families.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open and Productive Environment
Full Time Student (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHFebruary 18, 2015
Indiana Wesleyan is an all-pro student/ employee environment. The Staff is what makes this institution great. Minimal negative attitudes, focused, success oriented organization.
Pros
Highly Invested in Students/Employees
Cons
Systems Driven
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with Students and Faculty
Manager for the Memorial Chapel and 92 Theater (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CTOctober 2, 2014
It was wonderful to work directly with Faculty and Students in helping them realize their visions in music, dance and theater.
Every day was a different project for production, and keeping the spaces in good working order was always a challenge.
Pros
Great Faculty and Students
Cons
Bad Senior Managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and learn
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CTAugust 17, 2014
Typical day would consist of running experiments which are aimed at understanding the mechanism of adjacent gene co-regulation in S. cerevisiae.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CTFebruary 22, 2014
Great place to work. Learned teaching skill.
Great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to learn and work with fellow colleagues
Graduate Assistant Football Coach (Current Employee) –  Middletown, CTJanuary 28, 2014
Wesleyan university is an amazing work place where I have learned invaluable knowledge in the field of coaching. In addition I am in the process of obtaining my Master's degree from one of the top institutions in the country. Wesleyan has opened doors in the path of my career choice that many schools would not be able to.
Pros
Management and fellow workers
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grest job, working the college campus life
Food Production Manager (Former Employee) –  Middletown, ConnecticutSeptember 13, 2013
Student Center opened 8 am -12 am
2000 meals daily
6 different meal choices
pasta,pizza,grill, comfort foods, vegetarian,deli
Working with vendor
production numbers
ordering
invoice posting
inventory
Pros
Teaching, People and surroundings
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wesleyan University
Visiting Instructor in Korean (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CTApril 1, 2013
It was a fun and exciting place to teach Korean to college students. My courses were offered three hours a week as an elective course. Most students were heritage learners, but some non-Korean students took the courses.
It was hard for me to recruit students in the beginning of the semesters because Korean language was not one of major courses that students had to take.
However, I enjoyed teaching Korean to Wesleyan students in every semester. My classes were always full of active students' engaging, researching and presentations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and cutting-edge
Senior Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CTJanuary 4, 2013
Productive, cutting-edge methodoligies, very smart and productive colleagues
Pros
cutting-edge
Cons
not so permanent a position
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great interdisciplinary program
Graduate Research Fellow (Current Employee) –  Middletown, CTAugust 8, 2012
Smaller graduate program allows for plenty of one on one interaction with your boss.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to attend school
Teaching Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Middletown, CTApril 10, 2012
I don't know much about working there. I am only a ta 2-3 hours per week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 13Report

See more Wesleyan University reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wesleyan University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.4
Culture
3.4

Wesleyan University Reviews by Location