West Coast University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced work always something to do
Financial Aid Officer (Current Employee) –  Irvine, CAJanuary 19, 2018
running the list of student making sure we are contacting the new students every 3 day to make sure they are packaged as well as working on a list of 50-60 repacks on top of the new students the admissions adviser gives you. Peers are great management make changes i would say 3-5 months they add or take away procedures etc. communication lacks of the changes sometimes and that makes the job frustrating. Hardest part is trying to balance the repacks at the same time as the new students because there are many files we go through
Pros
events and parties are amazing the CEO is a great person
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Registrars Office
Assistant Registrar (Former Employee) –  North HollywoodDecember 21, 2017
The school was a good a place to work, but certain departments need massive inside out improvement. Many of the workers have no idea how to help( or even want to) help students. We were encouraged to make students come less to the office with tactics such as " shut down days" and long processing day turn arounds for students paperwork. There was favoritism from the boss and lack of professionalism. There was micro managing down to every word we said to students, and there was lots of yelling and rudeness. Many of the upper management have been here so long they know how to hide what they are doing from the directors and upper management. I am glad I left when I did. The professors on the other hand are brilliant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Anaheim, CADecember 14, 2017
I did workstudy here, was a fun place overall. Definitely enjoyed the extra cash and was able to work however many hours I could since I was studying.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good teaching exxperience
Public Health Clinical Adjunct (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 14, 2017
-accompanying nursing students to their various clinical settings.
-nursing fundamental education for nursing students
-Teaching in the simulation lab setting
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family affair we all take care of the students needs.
Testing coordinator- Help desk (Current Employee) –  Doral, FLNovember 13, 2017
The students come first, family environment. Very professional working with doctors and nurses. they give out free medical advice and help you out in any possible.
Pros
Plenty of support.
Cons
A lot of upper management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay you two hours to prepare for class the day before. Pay for the time you spend while doing online inservices
Registered Nurse Clinical Instructor (Current Employee) –  Ontario, CANovember 11, 2017
The managers are always willing to work with your schedule. They appreciate all the help you can give them, but they do not force you to if not available. They also organize meetings where you can air your views and learn from other clinical instructors
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Adjunct BSN Nursing Instructor (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 6, 2017
Very busy with face paced nursing program with no time between one course to next cohart. No time off, but pay rate is very good. Clinical manager was fair to all faculty.
Pros
salary
Cons
short break
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
STUDENT HYGIENIST (Former Employee) –  Anaheim, CANovember 4, 2017
Training on site, excellent professors who really care about the students. Cohorts help students work together and trust one another. Hardest part: not breaking down and quitting. Best part: meeting lifelong friends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, CAOctober 11, 2017
No one really cared about the students needs. Lack of professionalism and management leadership. Too much office politics. Constant gossiping. Favoritism.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work at
Associate Professor (Current Employee) –  Irvine, CAOctober 10, 2017
WCU is a great place to work at, well compensated. the workload is very balanced. You are provided with latest classroom technology and teaching training.
Pros
Nice culture
Cons
fast pace
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair pay lots of work
Financial Aid Officer (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 10, 2017
Loved my co workers. You work 6 days a week every other week. Management doesn't work weekends only employees. Room for advancement over time. Not a job you want if you have young children since you work lots of hours and 6 days a week sometimes.
Pros
Overtime pay
Cons
Work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Productive Workplace
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  North Hollywood, CAJune 2, 2017
This job provides the ins and outs of office/clerical work. Great place to build resume and very educational. They have very good benefits and provides a lot of training for staff.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is great place to intern at!
Intern (Current Employee) –  Ontario, CAMay 12, 2017
The IT manager there showed me how to troubleshoot a bunch of different problems with PC's. He worked with my needs and helped me in areas that I was struggling in, in order to help me in the professional world.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced and proactive
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CAApril 18, 2017
West Coast University is very pro student as they should be. I had a temp job for 2 1/2 months and I was not permanent. These questions need to be asked to someone who has a permanent job at west coast not a temp assignment.
Pros
1 hour for lunch
Cons
no breaks because to demanding of a job to take one
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and professional environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Anaheim, CAApril 11, 2017
This university takes pride in their staff, students and the nursing programs.
Students are serious with their education and dedicated to achieve their nursing goals.
Management staff provides quality care and concern for the students.
Pros
Staff and students strive for good relations
Cons
Needed more parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very student centric
Assistant Registrar (Current Employee) –  North Hollywood, CAMarch 23, 2017
management needs improvement - great co-workers, a very student centric culture. Employees do not feel very valued by management. great location and lots of parking .
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities for nursing students
Associate Dean of Nursing, Academics (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 17, 2017
Leadership vacancies seemed to happen frequently and full faculty staff/administrative support suffered.

Students are so proud at pinning ceremony with peers, family, and friends with them to celebrate a great accomplishment.
Pros
Dean of Program is approachable and accessible. Great support
Cons
Lack of recognition
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great university
Associate Professor (Current Employee) –  North Hollywood, CAMarch 1, 2017
Great workplace culture
Student Center
Evidence based teaching
Friendly enviroment
Focuses on student learning and outcome
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my Job, the students and the Faculty, as well a leadership
Nurse Educator (Current Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CAJanuary 24, 2017
Excellerated program so its a crunch.
Flexible scheduled.
Learned a lot about accreditation and WASC reviews. PLO, CLO.
Great Management.
Great Friendly Culture, its a grind.
Fast paced, no breaks, when taking a vacation I feel a burden as the students miss the continuity of instruction.
The students success.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work balance
Adjunct Instructor (Current Employee) –  North Hollywood, CAJanuary 19, 2017
Be prepared to work hard. It's a busy hospital.However,the doctors are rude sometimes.I got lots of experience from the hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at West Coast University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 39 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0