Find companies:
West Elm
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

West Elm Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Make sure products were unpacked and inventory was correct
Support (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 12, 2013
Pros: easy going
Cons: poor management
A typical day would consist of making sure all products were in their rightful place, a lot of organizing and cleaning. Making sure the store is intact.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I most enjoy
Stockroom Employee (Former Employee), Las Americas, PRNovember 7, 2013
I mostly enjoy the diversity of knowledge that I may obtain at any job. I think that every job most be made as perfect as it can.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Stock Associate (Former Employee), Miami flOctober 15, 2013
Pros: good working team
Cons: not enough hours
Stock checks for sales team
Stock checks for customers calling on the phone
Shipping and receiving merchandise from national distributuion center
Store to store transfers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place I have ever worked for
Sales Associate, Midtown Mall (Former Employee), Miami, FLOctober 8, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: better pay
you get your goals at the beginning of shift.
make your goals and credit and everything is fine.
great customers!
discount is fab.
coworkers are amazing!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A highly energetic retail position.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 3, 2013
Pros: hands-on design experience.
Cons: difficult clients, low-pay for design work.
West Elm attracts an extremely wide variety of clientele. Working in a retail environment such as West Elm's, customer service skills are polished. With a background in interior design, I worked as a design consultant/ sales associate. A non-commission based position, the work could be exhausting, but always proved fruitful when client was happy with – more... the design scheme- which was completely influenced by their input and taste. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best companies to work for.
STOCK LEAD (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 2, 2013
A typical day at work at west elm in the stock room is communicating with the sales team to drive sales and meet company standards organizing product. Helping consumers with packages that are picked up and loaded into their vechiles. Also minor paper work and filing duites have to be completed as well. The co-workers are so polite and well rounded to – more... work with. The hardest part of the job is honestly just the moral and overall connection and communicating during the busiest shifts but as a team the whole staff gets together to make the issues at hand move smoothly. The most enjoyable part of the job is everything the company has to offer , the co -workers and management team which has been the best management team by far. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Revolving door of sales reps, some more professional than others
Home Furnishings Sales and Design Specialist (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 25, 2013
Pros: the staff tends to creative and fun
Cons: no matter the skill set of the employee, or the successes they have brought to the store, there is no leverage for a raise or prayer of a full time position.
The staff tends to creative and fun, but over worked and underpaid. No matter the skill set of the employee, or the successes they have brought to the store, there is no leverage for a raise or prayer of a full time position. Because they over hire, when one person leaves, there is another to take your slot. No one matters, and no one feels that they – more... matter. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
same as any retail job
Part-Time Sales Associate (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 17, 2013
Pros: good discount
Cons: salary
great co-workers
The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad manager to employee
Stock Person (Current Employee), Westport, CTMay 19, 2013
When I was given hours, a typical day would consist of me coming in, opening boxes that last shift didn't finish. Than after those boxes were taken care of searching for things to do & completing them as quickly as possible. Management is very bad. All but one needs to be retrained. My co-workers were great. The hardest part of the job was dealing with – more... said managers. The most enjoyable part was interacting with customers & helping them to their car. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment, sometimes boring
Visual Merchandiser and Sales (Current Employee), Oak Brook, ILApril 26, 2013
Pros: fun environment
Cons: always on your feet
the typical day at work can vary from very busy to really slow (and sometimes boring)
the coworkers and management are all awesome and you feel like part of a fun design family
the hardest part of the job is knowing product details and location
the most enjoyable part of the job is the casual, fun atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative, fun, outgoing environment
Visual Merchandiser (Current Employee), San Juan, PRApril 22, 2013
I typical day at work starts highly motivated with a team ready to engage on the daily tasks, based on the weekly communication provide by the company. I have learned to be patient without losing perspective of my deadlines, to finish the task following the guidelines. My co-workers have been trained by the company to attend customer service needs and – more... engage on the best possible way the shop floor during the day. The hardest part of my day is when guidelines are provide, but not all the products are available at the time to display on the shop floor. The most enjoyable part of the day is knowing that your efforts are recognized by satisfied customers with the visual presence of the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
West Elm is a Great Employer
General Manager RBM (Current Employee), Costa Mesa, CAMarch 20, 2013
Pros: exciting, inspiring, creative, growth potetial, jim brett is great
Cons: work life balance tough/ there are some long term entitlement issues in upper managment
A typical day at west elm is fast, exciting, and customer centric.
Team building accross all functions is essential!
I work with the best managers in the retail business
the job is stressful and priorities change like the wind but I love change
The people are the best part of any job!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Product with little advancement
In-Home Stylist and Design Expert (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 15, 2013
Pros: style, new product
Cons: bad leadership, no advancement
I worked here for sometime and they make it very difficult for you to succeed. The product is great and the clientele is fun but when it comes to leadership, they truly fail

JennG – February 20, 2013

Hi, was the getting hired process difficult, and what type of experience did you have prior to getting this job?

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and Creative Retail Environment
Visual Merchandising Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 11, 2013
Pros: supportive corporation, creative environment
Cons: inadequately trained management, volatile scheduling requirements
My work tasks included planning and implementation of complex seasonal floorsets. I trained and led a staff of about 10 people regularly to achieve shipment completion, setup of selling vignettes, and building of complex display components.

I learned how to cooordinate with many different individuals in order to achieve visual excellence for the brand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great casual environment and exciting to be in a young company.
Merchandise Inventory Planner (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYOctober 25, 2012
Pros: being part of an emerging and exciting brand.
Cons: at times there are no procedures in place.
Monday's and Tuesday's are primarily recapping the previous weeks business and preparing recaps for weekly business meetings. Inventory analysis, re-forecasting and replenishment planning. Meetings with Inventory Management Directors to discuss action plan for the week, promotions and markdowns to drive business. Partner with Merchant and Planners to – more... discuss overstocks and liabilities and participate in store conference calls. The hardest part of my job is that it is a new business so there is no trend or history to follow. The most enjoyable part of my job is creating the business model and knowing that the successes are my ownership. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super creative and classy work environment.
Assistant Planner/Buyer (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 8, 2012
Pros: summer fridays all year, amazing sample sales, celebrating every birthday always (who doesn't love that!!)
This job was a contract job, so I wasn't there very long. This meant I didn't really get paid well or have many benefits. That being said, it was a super warm and loving work environment. Most everyone was disappointed that I couldn't stay. At West Elm I worked more in the planning department which I knew little about going into the job. I got to see – more... first hand how planning works and how to progress with those particular planning skills. The staff is amazing and very patient - I really enjoyed my short time there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth
Distribution Planner (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYSeptember 9, 2012
Was exciting helping the company grow. Great people and great connections.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Put Up With for Too Long
Customer Service Lead (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 8, 2012
Pros: nothing
Cons: too many to name
In the begining I loved this company. I was excited about going to work. I will say since I relocated for the company the standards of service have fallen way short.
As for compensation, its lacking and this company has no regard for its employees. A typical day is filled with management sitting in an office or passing off client concerns. I have learned – more... how to cater to clients, problem solve effectively and swiftly and how to become an all around well-rounded employee. – less

LAdb8 – September 19, 2012

When I started working at West Elm in 2010 it was a fun and exciting environment. Training was always lacking and policies were never of any structure and it just got worse. These issues were from above the many GM's. The disregard for it's employees is an understatment as I've seen 5 hardworking managers who helped establish a major top money earning store on the west coast get burned out and shafted like nothing I've ever seen in my 25 years of working for 2 great employee appreciative companies. In details too many to explain here, it was just wicked!!! I walked off of this job in sheer frustration. I have always had a dedicated work ethic and I have never walked off of a job in my life until this quick 2 year downhill employment experience at West Elm. Several people followed right behind me within a 2 month period

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work enviornment
Sales (Former Employee), Chicago,ILJune 19, 2012
Worked mainly with local customers wanting to improve their homes with creative unique accessories and furniture. I was able to create general furniture layouts and help present ideas for them to think out side of the box. Worked with great people and met a lot of creative and passionate design lovers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Salesmanship Learning Experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 24, 2012
The Management Team was a great help for learning the ropes and knowledge of products. Very educational and enjoyable experience.