Find companies:
West Jefferson Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
35 reviews

West Jefferson Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical hospital
floor nurse (Former Employee), Marrero, LAAugust 27, 2014
Working med surg area a nurse learns alot i.e. chest tubes, IVs, lab draws, telemetry, etc.
Co workers are usually to busy with their 7 plus patients to really assist others.
Team review was good to do, because you learn from others.
I enjoyed it, but not the long hours at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Typical Day At Work
Unit Clerk (Current Employee), Marrero, LAAugust 12, 2014
Pros: building a great repertoire with patients and coworkers.
Cons: short lunch breaks.
I typically start my work day off by arriving at work early and prepping by getting everything I need in order to have a successful work day. I then, check my assignments to see where I'm placed for work, and then receive report from a coworker so that I can navigate around what has happened prior to the start of my shift. I'm big on planning, staying – more... organized and practicing time management skills. Since I'm the communicator with nurses, doctors and all other staff, it's vital that I interact professionally, and positively with my coworkers. The hardest part about my job, is that sometimes, situations may arise which would force me to post-pone a few job duties in order to solve problems. However, I always get caught back up and continue with my daily duties. I just so happen to have been blessed with some amazing coworkers who are great to work with and we try our best to make work enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
qualities and skills
Patient Support Specialist (Current Employee), Marrero, LAJuly 24, 2014
Pros: meeting wonderful patients
a typical day at work consist of great verbal communication and critical thinking. Time management. Leaning to deal with difficult co-workers. Multi-tasking
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented Place to Work
Human Resources Specialist (Current Employee), Marrero, LAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: conveniently located
Cons: n/a
A typical day at work is filled with something different everyday. Candidates and Employees are seen all throughout the day. Non-stop action all the time which keeps me on my toes and busy at all times. I enjoy helping people the way I wish to be assisted when I need help. I provide my full attention to the person in need of my assistance.

Management – more... is at its best at this present day and time. My co-workers (team players) are the best group of workers anyone could ever work with. We are like one big happy family and work very well together.

The hardest part of my job is when it is time to leave for the day and there is still work left to be done.

The most enjoyable part of the job is when I know that I was able to make a difference in helping someone along the way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no chance of advancement, management issues
Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Marrero, LAJuly 2, 2014
Pros: the coworkers on my unit are team players
Cons: low pay, no advancement, no appreciation
Management doesn't care about their employees or show their appreciation. Telemetry unit is more of a dumping unit of med-surg patients. Between admits & discharges you may take care of 8-9 pts a day!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere and great co-workers
RN (Current Employee), Marrero, LAJuly 1, 2014
I do not get all of my full time hours, so my pay checks are usually short.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Patient Access Registrar (Former Employee), Marrero, LAJune 18, 2014
interesting place to work and be productive as well as meeting and interacting with new people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ilove to work around staff and patience in a hospital setting.
Electrician (Current Employee), Marrero, LAMay 17, 2014
Pros: benifits
Cons: people who are sick that never come out of the hospital.i feel sad for there families.
Working in Kitchen, Making repairs needed to keep the hospital in top shape. I learned to work with verity of people that enter the facilities. Management is all ways finding ways to help us with Policy and Procedures of the hospital and they are great when you have questions that no one else can answer. Co-workers have taught me things that was needed – more... to perform other parts of the jobs that wasn't sure of also taught them skills of the Electrical position that was needed for them to complete jobs on a daily basis. When family enter hospital for sickness and having to deal with it on a daily basis while there. I love working with all personal and work on training from others and teaching others about jobs they don't know. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Family Birth Place has a wonderful staff to work with and the night shift has a team mentality.
Registered Nurse, Labor and Delivery (Current Employee), Marrero, LAMay 14, 2014
Pros: good pay and healthcare benefits, great coworkers
Cons: no management back up on night shift when the unit get very busy, organization does not pay for any ceritifications or tuition reimbursment any longer.
The typical work day (night shift) is generally a little short staffed with no real management support. I enjoy the management and care of our patients whether high risk or the normal laboring patient. I am one of the night charge nurses as well as preceptors. We have four seasoned experience labor and delivery nurses and six mixed of new graduate nurses – more... and new to labor and delivery nurses; so their is always teaching and guidance needed on my part. The labor and delivery department is essentially the obstetrical emergency department for pregnancies over 20 weeks gestation. We generally have two RNs on duty and one surgical scrub tech and we have a steady flow of patients during the night. We have the capacity to contain up to 17 patients on fetal monitors. I wish that this department utilized more evidence based practice in the policies and procedures and protocols. Our department director and assistant director started a year ago and neither had a background in maternal-child nursing. This makes getting new protocols and policies slow to incorporate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ABOVE AVERAGE
Medical Technologist (Former Employee), Marrero, LAMay 7, 2014
GOOD WORKERS, EMPLOYER AND EMPLOYEES RELATIONSHIP IS NOT BAD, MANAGEMENT IS OK
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful
LPN (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAApril 25, 2014
great management
great co-workers
great benefits
competitive pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job and the people I worked with and worked for. Really made me feel like I was making a difference. It was very rewarding.
Central Sterilization Technician (Former Employee), Marrero, LAJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: very good insurance benefits (health, dental, vision, prescription discounts, employee discounts, 403b retirement) etc.
Cons: cannot think of any.
I worked a mid-shift, 3:00pm to 11:30pm, worked a lot of overtime. I learned a lot. After doing accounting for over 25 years, I was ready for a change and I was given the opportunity of a lifetime to learn new things and meet new people. It was a sad moment that I had to leave for personal reasons. I enjoyed every part of everything I did. It was rewarding – more... in ways that are completely unexplainable. I did a lot of online testing in which I received "Certificates of Completion". I was looking forward to learning much more and I would still love to learn much more regarding the medical field and what I was doing on a day to day basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospital campaign design creations
Graphic Designer, Illustrator, Artist (Current Employee), Marrero, LAOctober 16, 2013
Great flexibility, great work environment & extremely kind & helpful people to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I billed insurance for patients
Patient Business Service Rep (Former Employee), Marrero, LAOctober 12, 2013
I did all the billing for the patients in the Long Term Acute Care Department. There was always something new to learn, insurance wa always changing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place was ok.
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Marrero, LASeptember 28, 2013
the hospital itself was cool the coworkers were ok for the most part but the management in the lab and phlebotomy department, they were not good people. they tried to hurt others to get to the top
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment
Front Office Clerk (Former Employee), Marrero, LASeptember 9, 2013
lovely fast paced place to work, work with wonderful coworkers. you learn something new everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to gain experience
Licensed Respiratory Therapist-Adult Critical Care (Former Employee), Marrero, LAJuly 17, 2013
I worked for this company for over 10 years and gained a lot of experience, but they just don't show appreciation for their employees. This is a big entitiy and they can do a whole lot more for their employees than they do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Place to work!
Unit Secretary (Former Employee), New Orleans, LaMay 13, 2013
Pros: hospital staff was friendly and courteous
Cons: the pay was of awful
Over my experience at West Jefferson Medical Center, was good one, my co-workers were awesome, and they always took care of their patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
PHLEBOTOMIST II (Former Employee), Marrero, LAMay 6, 2013
Pros: hand held devices
Cons: didnt like the 4 am shift
easy to work for
everybody works together
i just didnt like the early collection
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly workplace where I can grow and learn
RRT (Former Employee), Marrero, LAApril 18, 2013
taking care of ventilator pt's
breathing treatments
ABG's
weaning vents
CT trips
IS
CPR
critical care done by a RRT