Find companies:
West Marine
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
71 reviews

West Marine Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Store Manager (Former Employee), Hilton Head Island, SCSeptember 11, 2014
Store Manager position requiring a sales‐driven attitude, merchandising skills and associate development within a  progressive environment. 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great seasonal work
Assistant Management AM3 (Former Employee), Deltaville, VAAugust 31, 2014
West Marine is a great place to work for students looking for something to do in the summer time. Winter time is very lack and if you are full time you are lucky to get 30 hours a week. No fault on West Marine just the customers are not going boating if it's 20 degrees outside
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady
WCF Packer (Current Employee), Rock Hill, SCAugust 7, 2014
Pros: long days
Cons: short days
Go in till work is done.
During peak Season you maintain a lot of hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experienced many parts for boating supplies.
Picker/Packer (Former Employee), Rock Hill, SCAugust 5, 2014
I learned how to speed up my pace along with being very detailed in picking parts for orders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
comforable
Stocker (Former Employee), Rock Hill, SCJuly 16, 2014
Pros: learn how to use diff scaning device
stock
place orders
easy
busy
keeping tack of inventory
fridays
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very efficient
CASHIER (Former Employee), Merritt Island, FLJuly 1, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: hard to move to full-time, if you had a complaint you couldnt go to dm
For some time, I was the only female working in the store. I had quite a few problems with management, and I was not properly trained. They threatened to fire us if we didn't learn the proper techniques, but we were never taught the proper techniques. I was promised my job back in Feb 2014, 4 months after I had my son, and I never got it back. I do – more... believe it was just my store, and not the company as a whole, especially since the CEO would give out his cell phone number. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Cashier (Former Employee), Woodbridge, VAJune 28, 2014
Nice customers. They come in knowing what they are looking for. Lots of knowledge to be gained for beginners in the boating department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work envoirenement
Manager (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLJune 12, 2014
Pros: working with vendots to promote new products
We would start each day as a management team go over sales and expiations for the day come up with a game plan on how we are going to motivate the team to reach the sales goals for the day while maintaining a fun and positive work environment. each morning would start with a recap of the day before and where we are for the week with our numbers bringing – more... the team up to speed with current events and promotions that are going on. Keeping the team motivated and focused was difficult at times but keeping a positive attitude and environment assured the teams success. watching the team complete sales goals and assist customers and provide them with exceptional service was a rewarding part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal job
Team Lead (Current Employee), Rock Hill, SCJune 10, 2014
workers are come and go as the company is seasonal... more hours on peak season and not even 30 hrs on slow season... communication is poor..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Areas of Responsibility
Regional Asset Protection Manager (Current Employee), West Coast, Canada, and Great LakesMay 17, 2014
Pros: good working enviroment.
Cons: have a huge geographical area.
High Shrink Store investigation and auditing, financial and operational auditing, associate dishonesty investigations, bad check and credit card fraud, training and developing new and current associates, security of opening and closing stores, XBR to detect dishonesty, vendor direct auditing and investigations, and warehouse short investigations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun in the sun driving boats
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), Annapolis, MDApril 24, 2014
Open up the marina see that the heads were not disastrous, open the fuel dock, measure the tanks, and start taking care of the customers. I learned how to make a fun work environment meanwhile still getting the job done. Co workers were excellent and had good backgrounds, The hardest part was the heat, and the best part was the tips!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Assistant Operations Manager (Former Employee), FLApril 18, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: not advancement opportunity
very lay back place to work with boaters traffic and lots of questions, fun place though
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
West is West
Assistant Manager 1 (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLApril 14, 2014
Pros: fun environment
Cons: not fairly compensated for your technical abilities, turnover of employees
They don't pay their workers what they're worth. With high expectations should come some better compensation. Advancement opportunities seem to be few and far between.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Assistant Management AM3 (Former Employee), Deltaville, VAMarch 7, 2014
Pros: fun staff
Easy work, started in high school, within just a year or so I became key carrier
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work environment, valued customers
Marine Electronics / Sales Associate (Former Employee), Port Washington, NYMarch 6, 2014
The West Marine I worked at was high end. Each employee I worked with knew everything about boating and customer service, and how to help each and every customer to the best of their ability. Working there gave me incredible communication and people skills. I had customers walking into the store asking me "Where's Tom? I need his help with something." – more... It was a good feeling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
get to see wide range of boat product
Shipper/Packer (Current Employee), Rock Hill, SCFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: not alot of over the shoulder super vision
Cons: quick to go to the blame game
not a bad place to work but looking for more advancement oppitunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great products and helpful staff.
Stock Associate (Former Employee), MDJanuary 28, 2014
While working at West Marine I would arrive to work at the time the truck arrived, either 6 or 8 AM. I unloaded the product off of the truck and proceeded to stock the product in the proper place. Any customers needing assistance could find me on the floor and ask questions. Management was spectacular and very knowledgeable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career History
Assistant Manager/Store Operations/IT Help Desk (Current Employee), Cleveland OhioJanuary 16, 2014
A typical day at work is very busy. Phones ringing, UPS man in and out the door. I have learned over the years to master multi tasking. I manage five people in my retail boating store, handle pay roll and inventory. I have been with my company,West Marine since 2001. I am moving to Columbus Ohio. My goal is to find a rewarding company to transition – more... into and continue my career. The hardest part of my job is making sure everything gets done in a timely efficient manner. With the help of my desk calendar, planner and sales board I manage well to stay organized and achieve things on time! The most enjoyable part of my job is working with people. I am fortunate enough to meet new people every day and also people whom have been customers for years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive atmosphere
Receiving Specialist (Former Employee), North East, MDJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: hour lunch breaks
Cons: not knowing when it was quiting time.
the people were great and because of all my duties the work day went by very fast making for a pleasant experience at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People that Iead were dedicated
Supervisor (Former Employee), Rock Hill SCJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: pay check
Cons: boss
Worked our butts off
People skills everyones needs are different
worst boss I ever had
co workers worked just as hard if not harder
winter
Going home

1 2 3 4

About West Marine

West Marine has the goods to keep your boat shipshape. It is the nation's #1 boating supplies retailer, operating through some – Read more