West Penn Allegheny Health System Employee Reviews

Showing all 44 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work.
Medical Transcriptionist (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAFebruary 10, 2017
There are many opportunities to advance.

I loved working here. It felt good to be part of this health system. I left to work at home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned alot
Central Processing Technician (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAFebruary 4, 2017
I liked working there, it was when i dropped down to Cas that I had a problem. they wanted me to work more then my school schedule would let me. I would go back now that i am done with school, just not to the same dept.
Cons
they where not very supportive of me going to school
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Sr. Patient Placement Associate (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJuly 13, 2016
Working at West Penn Allegheny Health System, I learned how to multi-task more efficiently. Working in a flexible manner by working in different departments when needed.
Pros
Working 4, 10 hour days
Cons
Working every other weekend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Registered Nurse (RN) (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJuly 6, 2016
great place to work and learn new thingsfrefhuerahvugehrbvuherahvhebrafhreabgveruvhbjhfvbhvjvfrfrejjfrhbjvbhfvb vfb vfvfbfjfjfjfvjnvfjhfjkreeehrejferjfrejjkvvgkltggnj
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary
Intern (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAApril 14, 2016
this was just an internship. my advisory was very knowledgeable and flexible.this was at a time where west penn was rebuilding themselves so it was interesting to see
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Nurses Aid and Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJanuary 7, 2016
West Penn Hospital is a very positive working environment and staff members highly valued patients quality of care. My co-workers and team members were extremely pleasant to work with and I enjoyed my experiences there.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging workplace with a lot of obstacles and not a lot of optimism
Outpatient Medical Coder (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PASeptember 26, 2015
Pros
Application of education
Hardworking co-workers
Cons
Needed more continuing ed
Constant change in management
There was no work life balance
Pros
application of education, hardworking coworkers
Cons
lack of breaks, lack of ergonomic cubicals, constant change in management even at the corporate level, there was no work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to satisfy the customer
Human Resources Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAFebruary 10, 2015
My co-workers are great team members
My hardest part of the job is when you try everything in your power to make sure everyone is satisfied
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employees
Senior Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  4 Allegheny CenterFebruary 4, 2015
listen to patients and help with patient statements and any issues they are experiencing. Management has their favorites and there is no opportunity to expand. Do a ton of work for little pay and no room for improvement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great organization
Staffing Coordinator/Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAAugust 15, 2014
Caring organization goes above and beyond for the patients and community it serves
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patients are great to work with
Rehabilitation Specialist (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJune 1, 2014
When walking in I am greeted by my wonderful patients that are ready to start their exercise programs. After showing them new exercises or advancing their others they are seen by the physical therapist. While having down time waiting for my next patient, I so some office work that consist of phone calls, scheduling, and filing charts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the Canonsburg experience/dont answer the exit survey they burn you.
RN (Former Employee) –  CANONSBURG HOSPITALMay 15, 2014
I actually loved my job, but morale was very low. after combining units team work with other unit was poor. supervisors were awesome, but upper management and HR were rarely involved. No accountability for things there. And scheduling was poor at best. it was too bad I liked the place.

Heads UP DO NOT ANSWER THE EXIT SURVEY, AFTER RESIGNING FOR A POSITION CLOSER TO HOME AND DAYLIGHT I WAS SENT AN EXIT SURVEY. THEY BANNED ME FROM WORKING AT WPHS FOR GIVING MY COMMENTS ON SOME REALLY BAD THINGS GOING ON THERE. I WENT FROM WE LOVE YOU TO NO WORK FOR YOU!!!
Pros
You can sleep on the job, Play on your phone, And let people die and its okay
Cons
Work schedule, No accoutablilty, And when brought to managements attention you are banned from working for the system.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay place to work
Senior Analyst (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAApril 28, 2014
-decentralized environment
-good co-workers
-hospital administration
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team work was prevalent
Anesthesia Technician (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAApril 23, 2014
everyone worked as a team, co workers got along with each other and tried to maintain a good atmosphere to work in
Pros
the staff became like a family
Cons
lunch breaks were often shortened
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid historical company culture hit with difficult financial distress
Human Resources Director (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAApril 1, 2014
WPAHS has a deep, solid history of hard working, caring, and compassionate professionals in the greater Pittsburgh area. The workforce was truly the salt of the earth. Regrettably, the finances had been mishandled for a number of years, causing great distress on the system. Fortunately, Highmark Blue Cross Blue Shield acquired WPAHS, infusing funding and structure. They are on their way back to success.
Pros
Strong historical culture and dedicated work force
Cons
Difficult Financial Distress
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed, no support from mgmt/administration
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Monroeville, PAMarch 20, 2014
High stress levels, unit not staffed for acuity resulting in unsafe nurse-to-patient ratios. Education is a joke...the last educator quit months and months ago and was never replaced. No support from mgmt. Nurses are told to "deal with it". Constant added responsibilities/forms/etc. Paper charting (seriously) with more emphasis placed on documentation than pt care. Hostile mgmt. Awful morale and culture. The only nurses who stay are those that don't know any different. Revolving door. Minimal support staff, when they are provided, they're often inept/hostile.
Pros
3-12 hour shifts
Cons
Culture, nurses not supported, emphasis on documentation over pt care, hostile mgmt
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
INSURANCE COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAFebruary 26, 2014
A good place to work. May offer more opportunities once they completely merge with Highmark.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Western PennsylvaniaJanuary 12, 2014
Excellent place to work. Good opportunity for growth and great benefits.
Thank you
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
filed medical records
Medical Records Clerk (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh PADecember 30, 2013
The people made working at Greentree Medical Associates a very positive experience and a fun working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work.
EHR IT Specialist (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAOctober 15, 2013
Had a really positive work experience while employed there.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at West Penn Allegheny Health System. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 44 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.6
Culture
3.1

West Penn Allegheny Health System Reviews by Location