WEST TREE SERVICE Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
driver and groundman (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, ARMay 29, 2017
I have learned alot from this company and the men that work here. The general forums are easy to work for and just rhe overall of the company is awesome
Cons
communication with the Hispanic
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, physicly demanding.
Groundsman/Driver (Former Employee) –  conway, arkansasMay 25, 2017
The job wasnt complicated but it was physicly demanding. Lifting heavy chunks of wood 6-7 feet off the ground in a repetative motion for 30 minutes to an hour at a time wasnt a great expierence. The work enviroment was always changing though so i enjoyed it.
Pros
outdoors, good people, good pay.
Cons
bad weather, dangerous conditions, had to wear clothes that coukd be torn.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you have to injoy what you do
Forman (Former Employee) –  Hot Springs, ARMay 23, 2017
Keep your head down and don't say a word, if you want
a good work exspireance there. Don't cause waves, and you won't be an example.
I did my job and had fun. Stay safe and take care of your family. That are counting on you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
West Tree Service
Arborist Climber, Groundsman (Current Employee) –  Muskogee, OKApril 22, 2017
West Tree Service is a job I will give it that. However, you are going to be breaking your back day in and day out. Its the rainy season so getting a job is easy but, it's hard manual labor.
Pros
hours, work, money
Cons
hard labor, on call 24/7
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My crew and equipment kill the job.
Groundsman (Current Employee) –  Bismarck, ARApril 9, 2017
They need to try harder for better equipment and workers. I do not like working with lazy people and the whole crew I am on is lazy. the chipper we use to chip brush stops up every 5 feet and they don't seem to care about fixing it.
Pros
its not hard
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente al aire libre
Fumigador (Former Employee) –  ArkansasJanuary 14, 2017
Buenos compañeros ambiente fresco y buena comunicación entre compañeros y group lider
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work.
Groundsman (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARDecember 27, 2016
Was good while it lasted.The compensation and overtime was awesome.I'f I had another opportunity I would Diffantly take the opportunity,the benefits were great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Crew Foreman (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARDecember 8, 2016
Overall enjoyable place to work. Regular hours. Not much room for advancement and not the best pay but it is a stable company to work for. Decent benefits. Decent management.
Pros
You stay fit, regular time off
Cons
physically demanding. not the best pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job but can be stressful when busy
Groundsman (Former Employee) –  Russellville, ARNovember 19, 2016
A fun work environment but very unorganized. Even placing an order over the phone there is always a problem. The hardest part about this job would be working on super bowl Sunday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production
Grounds Person and Flagger (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, AROctober 13, 2016
a typical day at work was full of production, how to make difficult decisions, hardest part of my job was nothing, I I enjoyed every bit of my job. I especially enjoyed the overtime.
Pros
customer service knowledge
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
timmer
tree trimmer (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARApril 8, 2016
I liked the job at west tree, I like learning about new things, like how to trim trees, how to use a chain saw, I like learning about how to climb trees. we all loved our job
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work place
Tree Trimmer (Former Employee) –  Conway, ARMarch 7, 2016
Great job, Enjoyed the people and environment that I worked in everyday. great machines, Great management, all around a great company that I would love to work at again.
Pros
lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job experience
Lead Foreman (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 27, 2015
Good job experience, hardest part about this job was keeping everyone on my crew safe. Made appointments for customers with yards that needed extra attention.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Groundsman and chainsaw operator (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJanuary 30, 2015
i liked going to work here, because it was always a new location to work at. some of the chippers would be a pain. Getting to put the bucket up on the bucket truck was fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really enjoyed the work
Chipper truck foreman (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJanuary 20, 2015
i filled out all necessary paperwork. drove to work site. worked productively and safely until job was finished. i enjoyed all aspects of the job. it was physically and mentally challenging. i learned how to use different types of gear and tools and how to manage and supervise my crew. great job accept for the poison plants.
Pros
lots of ot during storm work
Cons
poisonous plants
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great service and good workers
ground foreman (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, INJuly 12, 2014
I trimmed trees. I loaded and unloaded trucks. I cleaned up yards.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very interesting to learn this job.
Helper/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Gillette, WYJanuary 30, 2014
learned the planning, organizing and prioritizing of the workload throughout the day. Was able to learn how to be the lead tree trimmer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging fun
Mechanic / Safety / General Foreman (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARDecember 3, 2013
safety meetings each morning.
" open door " for suggestions and concerns.
flexible with employee issues.
Pros
good equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Working/Fast Pace enviroment.
groundsman (Current Employee) –  Hot Springs, ARMay 3, 2013
A typical day at work includes: removing dead tree's away from Entergy Power Lines, Following a Bushhog marking any obstructions that could cause fatalities or serious injury to both me and the operator, handcutting around poles and guy wires, working on a chipper truck. Stacking and hauling brush, Loading brush into a chipper and trimming trees away from power lines.
Pros
Good amount of overtime, gaurenteed 40 hours a week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
West Tree great place to work
Foreman class (A) Tree Trimmer (Former Employee) –  Bastrop, La - Little Rock, ArkFebruary 15, 2012
West tree is one of those jobs that you never forget the people there are great and loving. The job itself was very dangerous for ten hours a day we worked from 55' to 82' ft in the air trimming tree limbs out of the power lines.
Pros
traveling, good overtime, and good food
Cons
having to do jobs while on storm in the elements
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at WEST TREE SERVICE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.4
Culture
3.4