Find companies:
West Virginia University Hospitals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13 reviews

West Virginia University Hospitals Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Lead Dietetic Assistant (Former Employee), Morgantown, WVDecember 25, 2013
Pros: great leadership experience
• Ensured that patients were well nourished while sustaining their prescribed diet.
• Provided excellent customer service while building relationships with patients
• Supervised a group of six fellow dietetic assistants to ensure proper coverage and care of patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helped patiences with billing matters
Financial Counselor (Former Employee), Morgantown, WVAugust 4, 2013
Pros: the staff of medical professionals i worked with helped me in my job.
Cons: no upward mobility.
I worked with patience who did not have insurance work on finding methods to handle paying for their medical treatment. I worked with patience who had addictions and were in the hospital for help voluntarily as well as involuntarily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Morgantown, WVMay 31, 2013
Great co-workers and team work! Benefits were good at the time of my employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Registered Nurse, Operating Room (Former Employee), Morgantown, WVApril 16, 2013
Pros: free classes
Working at a trauma hospital in the operating room was fascinating. I learned and experienced so much being there. Our manager was always assisting any way she could to keep you comfortable and happy there. I was sent through all of the rotations from ENT, Ortho, General, Gyne, and robotic room. The hardest part was leaving the job. Unfortunately the – more... drive was getting to me, so I needed a position closer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work! Continuing education, patient-centered care, evidence-based practice, and patient safety and well being are highly valued.
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Morgantown, WVMarch 15, 2013
This hospital has been a great place to start my career in the nursing world. The staff and patients are all receptive to new nurses and students. Preventative treatment and patient education is highly stressed at this facility. If you want to be proactive rather than a reactive RN and aspire to be more than a "box-checker" nurse, I would recommend – more... this hospital. It seems like the staff genuinely cares about the patients they care for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summary
Former management employee (Former Employee), managementJanuary 31, 2013
A lot of issues in management -- poor leadership. Culture was untrustworthy, hostile, and verbally abusive at management level. Health insurance is limited to only WVU phyisicans and the hospital. If
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WVUH was an incredible experience.
Licensed Student Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee), Morgantown, WVJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: pay, people
I thoroughly enjoyed working for WVUH. Everyone was very cooperative and made my experience there a great one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company with terrible leaders
HR (Former Employee), Martinsburg, WVJanuary 1, 2013
You know there is a problem when many employees complain about being harassed and nothing happens!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy workplace with multiple things going on at once
Computed Tomography Technologist (Former Employee), Morgantown, WVAugust 9, 2012
My time in this department was very educational. I like my job and the people I worked with very much. The hardest part of my job was watching patients get worse. The most enjoyable part of my job would have to be enteracting with the patoents. I learned a lot about computed tomography ni the years I worked there. I would say that management needs a – more... little work. I overall loved my job here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supportive teamwork ongoing service excellence
RN III (Former Employee), Martinsburg, WVJuly 18, 2012
Pros: progressive enviornment always room for growth
Cons: management is judge, jury and executioner, your voice never heard
diversivied placee to work, room to grow and develope,. Alot of upper management changes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teaching hospital
RESIDENT CHAPLAIN (Former Employee), Morgantown, WVMay 22, 2012
Pros: excellent learning environment
Cons: life controlling schedule
Many opportunities to learn & grow professionally.
Schedules can be gruelling.
Health insurance could only be used at few hospitals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
West Virginia University Hospital is a great place to work.
Staff Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Cardiac Step-Down Unit/FloorApril 15, 2012
Pros: patients, friendships, learning environment
Cons: nothing comes to mind.
Cardiac Step-Down Unit/Floor: A typical day is spent providing care to my patients which includes but not limited to: completing physical assessments and all required nursing care for the specific patients I'm to care for on each particular day. I also collaborate with physicians and members of other interdisciplinary teams, oversee patient care technicians – more... and complete necessary documentation and provide patient education.

In addition to learning many medical and nursing elements by working in the teaching hospital setting, I have learned the most from my patients with regard to life in general. The best reward is having a patient give me a hug and tell me how important my care was to him/her.

My direct manager is available for any type of discussion. She is
proactive, fair, knowledgeable and dependable. It is a pleasure and a privilidge to work for her.

My co-workers are amazing. They have become my work "family".
They are the best group of co-workers I have ever worked with - caring, dependable, available when needed. We work as a team and help each other in the work place as well as personally.

The hardest part of the job is when a patient I have been caring for has passed away.

The most enjoyable part of the job are the patients. – less