Find companies:
WestAmerica Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
35 reviews

WestAmerica Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is lacking
Word Prossessing (Former Employee), Fairfield, CAJune 25, 2014
Pros: good experiance
Cons: unprofessional co-workers, no help from management
there is too much drama, and management doesn't seem to care. if you have been there a while seems like nothing your do will get you in trouble even if you are in MAJOR violation of the company rules
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse company with many different areas/skills to aquire
SENIOR MERCHANT TELLER (Former Employee), Fairfield, CAJune 12, 2014
Pros: great coworkers & management
Cons: poor benefits
This was a customer service driven company, so a majority of my day focused on making the customers happy. I enjoyed my coworkers and management. The company is very conservative & had a strict dress code and customer service requirements.

Overall the job was easy, but that came with the sacrifice of poor benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start out in banking, great training
Teller (Former Employee), Lafayette, CAJune 2, 2014
I have learned a lot about the ins and outs of banking. The hardest part about the job is the possiblity of getting robbed. I had a lot of fun saleing products to client.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Branch Services Officer (Current Employee), Livermore, CAMay 3, 2014
management did not work with employees and no room for growth
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive great place to work
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Los Banos, CAApril 6, 2014
This company was a great place to learn and build my experience in management. I was able to meet many new business partners and help the bank grow in deposits and new business. I had the pleasure to work with an awesome team of coworkers that enjoyed being number one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Pay
Facilities Support Specialist (Former Employee), Fairfield, CaApril 3, 2014
Decent pay, company vehicle, and steady work. No time for family. Saturdays mandatory
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company/Horrible Management
HR Administration Technician (Former Employee), Fairfield, CAMarch 25, 2014
I worked in the HR Department and this company is widely out of compliance on state and federal levels but refuses to do the work to get it together. When you speak with the management, they would rather get rid of you than fix their organization. High turnover in HR and the branches for a number of reasons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
Bank Teller (Former Employee), Grass Valley, CAMarch 24, 2014
Cons: no benifits
Part time on call not enough hours. Management promoted friends instead of tenure
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to get into the industry.
Data Entry Operator II (Current Employee), FairfieldMarch 6, 2014
Each day at work is routine. You answer phone calls from branches while doing other maintenances to clients accounts. The people who work for the company are very friendly and more female oriented. Management could be better. There are times where management lacks the knowledge to a certain procedure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Company to work with!
Teller III (Former Employee), Santa Rosa, CaJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: pays the bills
Cons: no advancements or job security
Turn over is extremely high! Since most custmers are older! They hate you cause they dont know you and you dont know them so have fun asking for their i.d. Alot of upset customers and alot of unhappy employees! This company is cheap! Changing a customers address and number has to be a call to another department in which they have to change it, if they – more... remember! So ALOT of follow up!! Which you don't need outside of your normal work load. Sales sales sales!! Which is ok but if you never been in banking be afraid with this company! Technology is pitifull!! (If its slow its not broken, so why fix it) you still need to use that ridiculous credit card metal swiping contraption with the carbon paper. Nothings digital! Paperwork paperwork paperwork! Cause you have to do what computers wont here. One computer to sign up new accounts which is always taken so bye to your sales. A loss for your pocket and a waste of your time getting them to finally open an account! They breed con artists! They get new hires excited to start and run them to the ground. Regional manager is two faced, rude and wishy washy! Very Ungrateful! Expect to pick up more than an extra mile! Best quote used towards employees " Why are you here?" Nobody is secure here!! They are always hiring cause they are always firing!!! If anyone has nothing but good to say its only fake to make this company look something of what it truly is - TERRIBLE! Only good temporarily. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is not a place where you can expect to grow rather how much can you charge each customer to put money into upper managements pockets
Manager (Former Employee), californiaJanuary 13, 2014
Cons: everything
I would not recommend this bank to anyone. it wants customers with big money but have no technology to support the demands of those customers. employees are treated like line workers and there is no compassion or any interest in anyone persons career development. Employees have not gotten a raise in more then 5 years but upper management keep getting – more... nice bonuses. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good bank, favoritism occurred too frequently.
Loan Documentation Specialist (Former Employee), Fairfield, CAJanuary 10, 2014
It was okay working there but since I was young and in shape many of my co-workers harassed me by complaining about my clothes and honesty. I would get sent home if my pants showed my ankles. I was a floater and could do just about any job there but my co-workers would hate on me because of it. It is a good company but the employees are questionable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace.
Branch Service Officer (Current Employee), Santa Rosa, CADecember 26, 2013
Pros: flexibilty
- Opening procedure. Officer (me) with teller in dual do morning rounds (process night drop and atms, prepare cash shipment). Morning reports which consist of NSF, KITE suspect, and OD accts reports. Supervise tellers, and assist with transactions. Open -accounts, review customer accounts and cross-sell products.
-Opening of all types of consumer business – more... accounts.
-Have a flexible manager who cares about his employees, I assist in the coaching of the tellers.
-Not being to find a solution for a customer.
-Being able to do beneficial cross-sell of our products that the customer will truly benefit from. Great customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in sales an meeting new customers
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Emeryville, CANovember 6, 2013
Pros: incentive pay, worked hard and had fun
Cons: needed more branches in the bay area
I have involved myself in working side by side with my co-worker opening a teller cash can, balancing atm machine, vault, and balancing the branch cash. I have been involved with the architect in building branches from the ground up, scheduled for Brinks cash ordering, managed tellers, sold and traded stocks and bonds, sending outgoing wires to various – more... domestic and international wires, prepared loans for underwriters, reviewed Financial Sales Officer pipeline for prospects and customers in cold calling for appointments and called customers on their accounts for non-sufficient funds and overdrawn accounts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Senior Teller (Former Employee), lafayette caAugust 9, 2013
answer phones, teller transactions, open new accounts,balanced the atm, learned about the different positions in the branch
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst job I ever had
Teller (Former Employee), central valleyApril 24, 2013
Pros: 401k match
Cons: everything else
Run for the hills! This place is horrible. They want you to sell banking and products from the 70's! Very stressful work environment, everyone gossiping about everyone. Horrible pay. No room for advancment and this companies ethics suck. They break all the rules for the wealthy customers such as reversing fees cashing checks that should not be cashed – more... etc etc etc... and treat the smaller accounts like they are worthless to them. I would never work for this business ever again. The ONLY pro is they match your 401k contribution 100% – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVE!
Teller (Former Employee), Rancho Cordova, CAApril 6, 2013
Pros: great values and awesome place to work.
Cons: the pay isn't that great.
I really enjoyed working for this company! They train their employees before you are even inside of a branch, the co workers are great, management is amazing. The only downside is the pay isn't all that great. But I would deffently work for this company again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No real room for growth
AVP-Customer Service Manager/AKA Branch Manager (Former Employee), Grass Valley, CAJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: everyone knows everyone
Cons: no real room for advancement
It is a customer service based branch but charges for everything including online services. It is a hard sell, especially when you have huge commercial banks giving it all for free. It is really hard to advance because of the locatons of the branches. Far to travel to the next branch if there were other growth opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Bank Teller (Former Employee), Napa, CAJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: great job training
Cons: the pay is not good at all
this company was so great to work for. Everyone got along together very well. the training that this company gave was the best, very very friendly place to work at,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Company
Teller II (Former Employee), Turlock, CAJanuary 15, 2013
Pros: good pay and hours and good benefits
Cons: sales and balancing customers in person and over phone
I loved working for Westamerica Bank; good hours, good pay, good values, and room to suceed. Entailed alot of sales, required to meet monthly sales goals as well as entering information and verifying. Customer Service is very important to this company, employees need to be able to balance helping customers infront of them as well as multiple phone calls – more... helping other customers. – less

About WestAmerica Bank

Annie get your checkbook? Maybe not as wild as Buffalo Bill's West, but Westamerica Bancorporation still shoots high with its subsidiary – Read more