Westat Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
MAILOUT ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDJanuary 22, 2018
Good environment to work at. The management is no critics. I learned to work according to the deadline. Every typical day at work is a team work moment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and competitive
Field Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDJanuary 17, 2018
Outlined and planned travel locations, persuade clients to participate in surveys to help the community, being persistent, and the most enjoyable meeting and speaking to different people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WESTAT Research
Interviewer, PATH (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDJanuary 16, 2018
I was paid well when I worked at WESTAT in Colorado but took a 3 dollar pay cut when I moved to New Orleans, LA. My job was enjoyable but we did not have enough participating clients to keep me working in the field.
Pros
the job was interesting
Cons
difficult to advance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If your safety is important, don't work here!
Field Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALJanuary 13, 2018
The job is easy, and most things are good. I had an FS that repeated asked for me to do less than safe things, such as door knock after dark... alone... at homes not expecting late visits....even though I had several life-threatening experiences, and had expressed the lack of clear vision at night makes for unsafe situations. Dogs can't be seen, "no trespass" signs can't be seen, homeowners feel unsafe.
Pros
decent pay
Cons
terrible management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good company to work with
Survey Clerk (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDJanuary 8, 2018
I had no nice people around me and it was only a contact job and i would not approve of anyone else to go work there.I moved on from there when i found better employment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Help desk technician (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDJanuary 8, 2018
Westat is a great company to work for, also there is room for advancement and growth. Everyone is friendly and understanding, the supervisors and even hiring managers were great!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a good Company to work for as a second job
PROJECT MANAGER/TRANSLATOR AND INTERPRETER (Former Employee) –  Research Blvd Rockville, MD 20850January 3, 2018
Good Company to work for if you are looking for a second job.
Westat has a call center where many Customer service Representatives interview prospects in a large variety of Languages. Such as Korean, Spanish, French, Japanese, Chinese, etc.,
Pros
Ability to work at home when not able togo into the office
Cons
The pay is extremely low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Westat is a great company to work for. They work as a team and are appreciative of your efforts.
Field Interviewer (Current Employee) –  OhioDecember 18, 2017
Westat provides paid holidays, sick leave, dividends and 401k contributions.
They provide free training at various locations across the country and everything is paid for, including your meals.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well organized
data collector (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDDecember 18, 2017
1 I call respondents to collect data for research surveys.

2 Patience, maintain focus on job at hand

3 I work extremely well with management via phone

4 Strong team effort to ensure everyone is well informed.

5 There is no hard part.

6 Self gratification knowing my job was well done at the end of my shift.
Pros
Able to set your own schedule
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for part time/flexible hours
Field Staff Data Collector (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDDecember 7, 2017
Worked on a variety of research studies from education to healthcare.
Supervisors were generally reasonable and easy to work with.
I liked the flexibility and variety of studies offered for field employees.
I have been working for them since 1999.
Pros
Flexible working hours; make your own schedule.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Front Desk Receptionist Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 7, 2017
This was a excellent company to work for, I did not choose to leave, was let go due to a staff reduction. I worked at the front desk as the receptionist.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Web Developer (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDDecember 4, 2017
awesome company to work. I am still working at westat. I learn a lot of IT staffs withing a few month practice. The best place to get experience.Graphic department is my work field.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Data Collector/Field Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDDecember 2, 2017
Very good for self paced employees. Atmosphere was generally good with good employees to turn to in the event of a question or concern. Need to have a degree to go full time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDNovember 28, 2017
Excellent place to work! Fantastic location. Corporate environment. Adequate parking. Offered all the amenities. Clean at all times. Always updated with best accommodations.
Pros
Great environment
Cons
Fantastic cafe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I find that working at Westat is balanced and fair
Data Collector (Home Based) (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MD 20850November 15, 2017
I find that working at Westat is balanced and fair, Management is there to assist you when needed. Supervisors are always willing to assist you when you are in need as well.
Pros
Supervisors are always willing to assist you when needed.
Cons
Programs are short
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Field Interviewer (Former Employee) –  VirginiaNovember 11, 2017
Wish I had found this company long ago. It was one of the best jobs I ever had but at 76 I decided it was time for me to slow down. Met some really good people and had terrific Supervisors
Pros
Flexible schedule, good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
FIELD INTERVIEWER (Current Employee) –  KYNovember 11, 2017
WESTAT is a great place to work. The most enjoyable part of the job is the flexibility it offers. The hardest part of working for WESTAT is that it is temporary.
Pros
home office, flexible work hours
Cons
temporary positions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Clinical Research Analyst (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDNovember 6, 2017
was typically good, learned a lot, management was good, culture was relaxed, job wasn't hard, i enjoyed working at the company and the coworkers were great
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career
Field Director (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDOctober 31, 2017
Westat is a company that places interviewers in the field for government paid research projects. Expect to be paid hourly with no benefits as an interviewer. Minimal staff at the supervisory level received benefits. The work is home based and usually capped for pay at 40 hours a week for supervisors. Expect to put in more hours than paid for. Industry pay is lower than average.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great entry level experience in data collection field
Field Interviewer (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaOctober 25, 2017
Company goes out of its way to keep good people busy by assigning heavier caseloads to those who can work them. There are dry spells and management sometimes tilts to the micro-management side, but overall, a good place to be.
Pros
flexible work schedule, can work more or less as you like
Cons
short-term assignment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Westat. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 280 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9