Find companies:
WESTAT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
102 reviews

WESTAT Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company provides great job security and travel. Management is unresponsive and uncoordinated.
Facilities Manager (Current Employee), Rockville, MDDecember 9, 2014
Being given the freedom to set my own schedule in the first phases of the jobs is fun and relaxing. Being on call 24\7 get stressful.
Getting to learn things from a lot of different areas of life is a major plus. (i.e. geography, electrical, semi-truck\trailer info, medical equipment and information) The home office management is out of touch with what – more... the field employees need and the best way to actually manage them from across the country, causing poor moral and confusion among staff. The hardest part of the job is also the most fun- getting see the entire country. But moving every 9 weeks and living in hotels means you can have no normal life or sense of home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Field Interviewer (Former Employee), Rockville, MDDecember 2, 2014
Pros: excellent bonuses and great management
Cons: the jobs are only temporary
There is nothing typical about a workday as a field interviewer for Westat. Everyday is different exciting and challenging. They are one of the best companies I have worked for Bar none.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short lived environment
Telephone Interviewer (Former Employee), Rockville, MDDecember 1, 2014
Pros: good salaray at the time
Cons: non personal management
Sketchy work assignments. No personal contact with management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very average company.
Project Assistant (Former Employee), Rockville, MDNovember 28, 2014
I worked with Westat for a brief project a long time ago, so I cannot give a truly accurate account of what working there is really like. I would suggest finding a review from someone who has spent a substantial amount of time working for the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job!
Field Interviewer (Current Employee), CANovember 24, 2014
Pros: work from home
Cons: not enough hrs :(
This is a great part time job!!! You can work from home! Make your own schedule,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work independently from my own home office.
Validation Clerk (Current Employee), Rockville, MDNovember 15, 2014
Pros: working from home, flexibility, saves me gas, great management, great coworkers.
Cons: gets lonely, not enough hours, no benefits, temporary
A typical day at work starts between 10-12 AM and ends between 4-5 PM. I work independently from my own home office, which has taught me to be very self motivated. The management is really good. I keep in touch with my boss and other upper management through phone and emails, same goes with other coworkers. The hardest part of the job is working alone – more... all day every day, I like the company of others and being able to work as a team. The most enjoyable part of the job is how laid back it is, at first it was stressful learning how to do everything properly, but after learning everything it's a low stress job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Bilingual Field Interviewer (Current Employee), Rockville, MDNovember 4, 2014
Management is excellent and the ultimate goals are to improve peoples lives
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed talking to people from different places.
Telephone Researcher (Former Employee), Merced, CAOctober 29, 2014
My first and only desk job. I learned data entry. It was fun talking to and learning about new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job very rewarding
Field Interviewer (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDOctober 29, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: no benefits, not enough pay/hours
Very prejudice to African Americans, the job was rewarding in the field but supervision and management were very prejudice
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Field Interviewer (Former Employee), Rockville, MDOctober 26, 2014
Working for Westat was a rewarding opportunity.
Being a field interviewer offered flexibility.
I enjoyed meeting new people everyday.
I was fortunate to have been awarded opportunities to travel with Westat.
I would work for this company again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work.
NAEP Help Desk (Current Employee), Rockville, MDOctober 14, 2014
I really enjoy the campus style work environment, with everything from a gym to multiple cafeterias it really allows you to balance work and life efficiently. The office environment is professional, friendly and positive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee Owned company
Systems Analyst/ Programmer (Former Employee), Durham, NCSeptember 24, 2014
Westat is headquartered in MD with offices all over the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work and learning enviroment
Bronx/Manhattan, HSIS-Bilingual Interviewer (Former Employee), new yorkAugust 22, 2014
was an interesting learning experience that I will keep in mind during my whole life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company and good people
Medical Record Abstractor or Field worker (Former Employee), Rockville, MDAugust 18, 2014
Pros: good place to work
Cons: i wish there was more people working with me
The manager and lead is very helpful and nice. They trained me very well and I was able to do my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding opportunity to work with children
Assessment Administrator (Former Employee), Rockville, MDAugust 9, 2014
Pros: good pay and good people.
Cons: not a permanent position.
This was a great opportunity to learn a whole new talent. The management was very helpful and had all the knowledge to help you be your best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative place to work if you like to work from home. In house climate friendly and relaxed.
TRC INTERVIEWER (Former Employee), Rockville, MDJuly 28, 2014
Log onto your computer and your particular database. Computer automatically rings phone, you answer and ask questions as they are presented, while typing in answers given by person on other end read verbatum.. (Government questionaires....
Learned to be quick and to not show any emotions while speaking w/respondents. Management and co-workers very helpful – more... and sociable.
Hardest part of job was not to be emotional in any way/nor to take it personal when someone yelled or hung up on you.
The most enjoyable about job was helping to get real infomation for various agencies of the government and knowing the people I worked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding job.
Field Interviewer (Current Employee), Rockville, MDJuly 16, 2014
Pros: meeting interesting people
Cons: on bad weather days i'm not able to work the field (interviewer people).
A typical day at work would be meeting (in person) a variety of mixed personalities that you would have to adjust yourself in communication to each individual's. I work from home and receive my work from Home Office through secure online website. I do report once a week to my supervisor and have conference calls once a week. I work alone and don't have – more... a co-worker that I associate on a daily bases. The hardest part of my job is trying to convenience individual's to participate in taking the survey. There's three part of the survey that you would have to convince each individuals to participate. The 1st part would be collection information to see if anyone is select if so then the 2nd part would be interviewing the selected person and the 3rd part would be collection Bio samples. These three step may seem easy to accomplish but it really isn't easy. I enjoy my job, I drive a lot but I enjoy meeting and getting to know people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Westat cares for its employees - Very flexible work environment - Exceptional work/life balance
Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Rockville, MDJuly 10, 2014
Pros: flexibility, great management, life/work balance, interesting projects.
Cons: not much room for advancement and low pay.
The only issue with Westat is their compensation. Their salaries are a lot lower than the competition in the area, specifically in the IT field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer!
Field Research Interviewer (CAPI) (Former Employee), ChicagoJuly 5, 2014
Pros: freedom, set your own schedule
Cons: no medical benefits
I worked as a field interviewer for Westat for about 12 years total. The Last project I worked was The Medicare Current Beneficiary Survey. They kept me pretty busy, 20-40 hrs. per week and good pay! Also, the hours are very flexible. If you want to take a day off, you can as long as you don't have any pre-set appointments. Only drawback was that I – more... needed health insurance, which they do not offer. Otherwise I would have given this company 5 stars. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work independently with little direct supervision
Field Interviewer (Former Employee), Twin Cities, MN, home office Rockville, MDJune 30, 2014
Pros: working independent in the field
Cons: working in the cold
My first assignment I loved it, had an awesome supervisor & great working rapport with supervisor. My second supervisor was inexperienced in supervisor role and it showed, so the Lead supervisor started micro managing all the field interviewers on this team and it effected everybody's work. Not pleasant working conditions.

1 2 3 4 5

About WESTAT

Survey the market research business, and you'll find Westat among the leaders of the pack. A statistical survey organization, – Read more