Westcare Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Westcare Inc.
Volunteer Administration Clerk (Current Employee) –  Stockton, CANovember 2, 2017
It's an awesome place to work. I learned how to work well as a team and that communication is very key in any environment. I welcome new clients and update all of the group schedules. I help maintain the joy of being part of a community as a whole. I enjoy working with staff and clients and my passion is working with others.The staff is all very friendly, welcoming and positive minded. It's difficult to see people struggle but it is rewarding when I see them bloom and flourish. I love to give back to the community and while helping people.
Pros
Working in a environment that has an uplifting human spirit.
Cons
There are none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVOctober 31, 2017
The nursing environment is supportive and everyone is willing to help one another. The workflow is steady for the patient population. The hardest part of the job is making sure that patient safety is not compromised and close eyes are kept on patients with seizure or severe medical history.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Way to restart life
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Stockton, CAOctober 25, 2017
Working for westcare is a challenge. But it brings out the best in a person. it teaches you how to grow and learn to be a better you. you learn to be truthful with yourself and others.
Pros
breakfast, lunch, and dinner
Cons
health care could have been better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hardest part of the job
Volunteer Prep Cook (Current Employee) –  Stockton, CAOctober 2, 2017
I love the work I do here at Westcare. I feel like I'm able to teach but also learn from the people around me.I volunteer my time so that I can make a difference in someone's life.
Pros
Great learning environment
Cons
To time consuming
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer work
(Volunteer) Food service, pastries chef, prep cook (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 28, 2017
I volunteer here at west care on my spare time, this is the reason I don't get paid or have any insurance.Its a good place to volunteer and to practice inter action with clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a wonderful place to volunteer.
(Volunteer) Residential Advisory Board (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 25, 2017
This was a job that has taught me a lot about myself. Hands on wonderful people who come together as a team to get the job done. The women here at West Care are really doing what they need to do to better there life. I am one of them women.
Pros
Vocational training, food service skills, maintenance work.
Cons
heath care.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exprience of joy
Outreach Worker (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WISeptember 15, 2017
Very fun and a new learning exprience for my first job. Can't wait to get back into the work force. I am a junior in high school but also learn fasttt
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull
Counselor Technician (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CASeptember 15, 2017
Unfair working conditions. Managers relied on hear say and rumors . Managers didn't take into account the extra mile employees went for the clients. Staff not properly trained and understaffed most of the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fulfilling
Cook 1 (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 23, 2017
I absolutely LOVE ...LOVE...LOVE my job. Ive been here 5 years and because we are non-profit, we don't get raises. I need more money in order to raise my Grandson.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and Productive
Volunteer prep cook (Current Employee) –  Stockton, CAAugust 17, 2017
It was great to work here as a volunteer and I have learned a great deal from this Company. This company works with individual that are working on themselves and is continuing to change their lives with the help of Westcare.
Pros
Working with people
Cons
Volunteer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm very energetic fun to work with a good team player.
contruction (Former Employee) –  Atlanta Georgia on Hank AaronAugust 13, 2017
I just want to learn new things I want to see new things I would like to work with different people learn different work ethic's be more job oriented don't really like to stay home I work hardand above all have to get to the all of this so I can live comfortably
Pros
I just want to learn new things
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A helpful program to get inmate back on the right track
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  St. Petersburg, FLJuly 25, 2017
I think Westcare is a really get place of business because they help people that were once convicted . Westcare make sure these people stay out of trouble and stay drug free.
Pros
Job Search, Free Housing, Free Food
Cons
I didn't really see any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I made a mistake leaving for the county
Community Services Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAJuly 17, 2017
While initial training was minimal and my supervisor was new to his position I really enjoyed the job. There were stressful aspects, but it was balanced by a relaxed atmosphere. If there was an issue, my supervisor had my back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment and rewarding job
CBT Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Vacaville, CAJuly 7, 2017
The job was very rewarding and educational but due to poor management at this location it made it very difficult to advance in this position. Due to this companies effective counseling techniques i am very interested in continuing with this position in a different location.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Energy
Kitchen Assistant/ Maintenance Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CAJuly 3, 2017
The westcare kitchen is fast paced, high energy good for growing as a person and self-discovery. The kitchen leaders are very professional and understanding.
Pros
food hook-ups
Cons
miscommunication among management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WestCare has its ups and downs. Advancement is always possible in the company.
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJune 17, 2017
The work day is busy. Often you have to do more then what is in your area. It is a good thing to learn a variety of tasks making you a value to the company.
Pros
easy going
Cons
large turn over rate with staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair
Counselor technician (Current Employee) –  Stockton, CAMay 31, 2017
I enjoy working here. The program is helping a lot of people. The tasks are easy to learn and get the hang of. Management is friendly and fair, but the pay is too low. No raises or room for advancement.
Pros
easy tasks
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would never recommend WestCare to anyone.
Counselor II (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FL 33705May 29, 2017
I gave Westcare 1 star in every area I would give them a half star if possible. I found management to be very unprofessional and their is a 30+ years friendship that Lord's over staff. No real training hire quick and make you feel trapped and over worked. Most employees talk negative behind Westcare's back but due to the fact that they need their job, they keep this behind closed doors. Very low moral and ethical issues. You meet your clients which is usually more that originally discussed due paper work facilitate 3 groups per week.
Pros
Easy to get a job here
Cons
30 minutes lunch, 5+ hrs negative meetings every week, no support from anyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Medical Assistant Intern (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVApril 15, 2017
I enjoyed westcare, I learned how to be patient and take everything with a grain of salt. I enjoyed the people who taught me and helped me grow. everyone was kind
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to enjoy helping other with the things they need.
Volunteer Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CAApril 4, 2017
Working there was a great for me. The people were kind and friendly.
Everyday was like the first day. Always happy times. Great food,
great people. Very clean as well.
Pros
Free lunches and snacks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Westcare. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 65 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8