Westcon Industries Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 10 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst
Iron Worker (Former Employee) –  Scio OhioFebruary 27, 2014
One of the most unsafe places I have ever worked in a long career They have useful safety meetings every morning. I give that up.They mean NOTHING. Upper management seems to be the least experienced men on the job......Watch your time fellows.....cover YOUR butts......and Never trust management.....their turn over rate in Ohio is 100%. Be safe, get your check, make up your own mind.....I sincerely hope you have a positive opinion in the end......Iron Heads RULE!!!!!!!!
Pros
pay check if you can get it right
Cons
they make up the rules as they go.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviroment
Safety Director (Current Employee) –  Lorraine, KansasJune 19, 2012
My day starts with safety meetings.
We dicuss some of the issue that typically happened the
previous day at work. From the management level down,
we have for the most part, created a safe work cultral. Some of the difficulties we are experiencing now is the heat. Summers are always hard to get use to. Now the best part of my day comes when our team goes home injury free. Thats my driving force!
Pros
seeing everyone go home the same way the come to work
Cons
hot!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant traveling and offer alot of overtime
Construction General Foreman (Current Employee) –  Bismarck, NDJuly 5, 2012
Company is growing at a great rate. Based out of North Dakota and requires traveling. Great compensation on pay. Alot of work in power plants. Company is a mechanical natured with emphasis on piping systems.
Pros
great wages
Cons
constant traveling away from family
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Safe Environment To Work In
Monitor (Former Employee) –  Great Bend, KSMarch 14, 2013
A typical day would be to walk around in my designated area and monitor the gases in the air making sure nothing could catch on fire or explode. I learned alot about safety in a work place and to pay attention to all my surroundings. My foreman was very helpful when needed and very nice to work for. The job was not hard at all the only bad part of the job would be the fear of not knowing if you would be blessed enough to return home everyday being it was a gas plant which is a dangerous place to work. The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to work with my husband so we were able to be together everyday.
Pros
very safe company to work for.
Cons
no health insurance.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Tig Welder (Former Employee) –  Fort Dodge, IAOctober 30, 2013
I learned alot at Westcon. I got to work with alot of people from all over the country & everybody has thier own little tips that they give you to help better you in your career.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place, knowledge gained
Ironworker/Rigger/Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Williston, NDAugust 10, 2012
experience that i gain from working for them benefited me in becoming a better industrial ironworker and will make me an assest to the next company that i work for
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, steady, once in a while they buy everyone lunch
Class B Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Clarksville TennesseeJune 20, 2012
A typical day at work was, stay moving and be productive and be safe.
Pros
pay scale was pretty good
Cons
nothing not to be expected at construction job's
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Westcon was a great start for feild exerience
Iron Worker (Former Employee) –  Scio OhioApril 27, 2013
Safety Meeting , begin workday and work with other Westcon Employees to have a productive day.
Pros
Great employees to work with
Cons
Lacking incentives for hands
Was this review helpful?Yes10No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Pipe Fitter Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Fort Dodge, IAOctober 30, 2013
This wasnt my favorite company to work for. Living expenses are too high.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
3.0
Culture
3.0