Find companies:
Western & Southern Life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Western & Southern Life Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very helpful people
Financial Representative (Current Employee), Tampa, FLAugust 20, 2014
Enjoy working there tremendously. The managers are extremely hands on. You will learn a lot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from Whack & Shady !!!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Ohio, Muncie, Richmond, LayfayetteAugust 17, 2014
Pros: benefits (although high the 1st year ) nice staff, flexible
Cons: lack of coaching, slow underwriting, fees, call sessions and wasted time. knife wound.
It is a good dream for weeks 1-7 then after 8 the nightmare and realities begin. I didn't receive my exclusive field time and development because the office had more agents suffering then thriving. Later found they weren't suffering at all they just didn't try or care they had other income. Staff was fun and nice lots of laughs they were bad influences – more... though. Most of them admitted to not setting 12 appointments or working no more then 25 hours a week if that but the manager made up numbers too sometimes. The staff managers were nice and knowledgable but had a lot going on so the office wasn't ran effectively at times . To keep his job he was spread other places and was even less available. A couple of times out in the field I ran accrossed things that I wasn't trained on and I felt like I was setup to fail .Some district meetings with other managers showed that different managers bought about different results. I see people write about free lunch that is only the corporate office nothing is free. Starting from the things you need to start your career on. You don't get mileage, pay for a computer postage, and more. Couldn't even get a Kleenex or bandaid, and it was dirty. If you talk about quitting intervention is coming with a half the day lockdown don't want to lose people empty office = empty pockets for managers. The management was unprofessional with an account of mine it costed a client money unnecessarily and after months of time just stopped calling. So they went else where and was done in one day. You spend a lot of your time doing maintenance to old messed up accounts explaining they need more money. Also book of business is like the valley of dry bones picked clean over worked and by time you get there your calling the paid up, broke, sick people clients and they feel harassed. Underwriting is a slow joke nobody gets. As if products aren't limited if declined the guaranteed alternative takes them from affordable to outrageous. A 1/4 of the insurance @ 3x the price. The agency manager twofold mission is failing. This company has an high outrageous turnover rate for a reason save your time money and effort. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best advice--stay away
Former financial representative (Former Employee), Raleigh NCJuly 12, 2014
Pros: health insurance
Cons: everything else
Joined W & S solely for the health insurance. There was so much about the job that deserved a "D" or an "F" grade that I later used the health insurance extensively. Turnover is high, but that's true for insurance sales in general.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive place to be.
Customer Sales Representative (Former Employee), Parkersburg, WVMay 2, 2014
Pros: helping other people.
Cons: when it doesn't work out, to be able to help other people.
Always learning the ins and outs of what is going to be the best solutions for your needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well established company.
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Springfield, MOMarch 13, 2014
Very little training offered to new people in the business, although much was promised in the interview process. Sales quotas were required the first week before I even learned what the products were.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sale Life Insurance
Financial Representative (Former Employee), Riverside, CAFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: benefits okay.
Cons: phones sessions mandatory. manegers are very moody.
Need to go to the office to do Phone Sessions 3 times a week.
Go In on Saturdays for Phone Sessions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to work at for an older person.
INSUARANCE AGENT (Current Employee), Portage, INFebruary 8, 2014
-Meet with your manager and clerical. Make appointments, calls, and prospecting.
-I've learned a lot about life and health insurance.
-Management there is great.
-Hardest part is getting in front of people/Appointments
-Most enjoyable part is after you make a life insurance sale you feel like you did a good job by helping a family out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Financial Representative (Current Employee), San Diego, CADecember 5, 2013
A typical day involves assisting current clients with policy changes and meeting with potential clients to present plans and policies to them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fine work place
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Columbus, OHNovember 20, 2013
Contact and secure appointments with prospective and existing clients for the purpose of sales, conservation, and service. I learned the art of prospecting in various ways for new business. The management for this company is unlike others companies I've worked for perviously, they are exteremly supportive and encouraging. My co-workers worked as a team, – more... there was competitiveness but everyone was always willing to help each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
phone call
Sales & Service of New Clients (Former Employee), Elyria, OHOctober 27, 2013
Pros: help people
Cons: to many no's
sales meeting Phone room people I work with no support to many phone calls
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked office location and the independence/flexibility of the job
Insurance Agent (Former Employee), Evansville, INOctober 4, 2013
Pros: flexibility/good wages during the training period
Cons: lead system was very weak retirement benefits were cut in half residuals were cut
Always reported to the office each day. Launched at the computer to prepare reports and check on status of policies submitted and if there were any corrections that needed to be made based on not passing the screening process. They sometimes needed more information. I learned about life policies and the different variety available and determining which – more... products best suited the customers needs. I learned to do presentations and to do annual policy reviews; conduct field underwriting. Co-workers were all great to work with. Offering support in understanding the products and what features to focus on when confronted with customers that were in the market for they protection they offered with the benefits some had. Hardest part of the job was getting customers or leads. They didn't advertise and so no one was too familiar with the company even they had been around for so many years. So we had to put out the expense to make them more known to our vicinity. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting the appointment(s) and traveling to follow up with them and putting together what they were looking for in protection needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Financial Representative (Current Employee), Rocky Mount, NCSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: commission only
Western & Southern is a great company to work for if you have other income. It has a wonderful work environment with a very friendly clerical team. The management is the best. The benefits that the company offer is excellent. The hardest part for me is the commission only, I need a stable income, because the charge backs on a lapsed life policy can – more... really set you back. I hate to leave this company. I love working with my co-workers. But I need a reliable income. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied
Insurance Sales Agent (Former Employee), Wauwatosa, WIJuly 15, 2013
A lot of driving. Prospecting, looking for new clients. Manage book of business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales is a tough position in this economy.
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Marion, OHJune 19, 2013
Selling yourself and product is a 24/7 job. a position I did love but the commission pay was not as rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent Agent
Financial Representative (Current Employee), Wauwatosa, WIMay 9, 2013
I report to our main office on Monday, Wednesday & Friday's, most days I am calling clients trying to make appointments to build my book of business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend to applicants - look elsewhere.
I.T. Support (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OhioApril 21, 2013
Pros: salary/benefits about average
Cons: difficult corporate culture / co-workers
Salary and benefits about average for industry. Otherwise not a very good company to work for in my opinion. Unhelpful, sometimes rude co-workers, especially the long-timers. Limited lines of business and insurance for sale to customers. Very political, bureaucratic management type of environment. Decreasing benefits for newer employees. Overbearing – more... HR department. Free lunch is provided, then managers and supervisors say that there is 'no such thing as a free lunch'. (Company is deeply into very annoying corporate psychology). If looking for employment in insurance or financial, my opinion is to not apply at W&S, look somewhere else. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Book on Life Insurance if you want to learn how to sell Financial Products
Life Insurance Agent (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCMarch 2, 2013
Pros: training/motivation/respect for others and for what you do for a company
Cons: needs a financial institution to grow the company.
Calling on cl;ients to set up appointments and do presentations.
How to sell life insurance on needs basis.
learned how to team work and doing work as motivated to accomplish quottas and produce results.
Team work, Mangement trainig to enhance communications.
To sell life insurance require a lot skills, motivation and desire to be the best,
Working – more... on fun environmental culture. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had to invest more $ than you were making.
Licensed Agent in Indiana (Former Employee), Richmond, INFebruary 9, 2013
I got my license to sell policies. Due to the economy being bad and buying literature to start up was costing more than was making. I did enjoy meeting with new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training is not up to par!!
agent (Former Employee), panama city floridaJanuary 27, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: micro management, lack of training from experienced management
They will sell you on the idea of excellent training. I would disagree. My SM was in the insurance biz for a little under a year before being promoted because the previous SM retired. He was not capable of training his team the way we NEEDED. I liked the job and pay but, be prepared to be micromanaged and forced to cold call 4 times a week during phone – more... sessions. The job has a lot of potential but management is kinda clueless. – less

February 6, 2013

Most of these insurance companies get you in the door by selling the training and support. Many times you have inexperienced leaders who have no clue how to develop people.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Insurance Agent (Current Employee), Fort Myers, FLJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: friendly office environment
Cons: straight commission
Western & Southern is a great company to work for. When I started I was timid, unexperience and basically right out of college. We took a chance on one another and I have to say the results has been rewarding. Management and employees all had fun because we were able to joke in the office while focusing on our main duty: sell insurance. The hardest – more... part was calling people trying to get appointment for them to see me, the most enjoyable part is knowing that I am making a difference on someone life. My best friend mother passed away 10 months after I sign her up for life insurance, had it not been for the policy I sold her.. She would have had her hands tied. – less