Find companies:
Western Dental
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
100 reviews

Western Dental Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive place and good work place
Receptionist (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAJuly 14, 2014
Pros: great team of employees and management
Cons: had no snack bar
Schedule appointments as well as all general work office, The employees and management were great. The hardest part was when we couldn't find files but the best wa when we found the files.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Brother watching/listening to every move/call you make.
New Patient Representative (Former Employee), Orange, CAJune 30, 2014
Pros: 6 weeks of paid training.
Cons: the job itself. it is so not a "happier place than disneyland" as they claim during training!
Clock in and immediately receive calls which are ALL recorded and graded on. As soon as a call is ended one beep a second later and another call is already on. No break between calls. Management is a joke. Period. Co-workers just as stressed out trying to meet quotas for the up-selling of Ortho WD NEEDS to make the real money. Hardest part of job is – more... the up-selling and most enjoyable part of the job is clocking out and going home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
organized, good work, teamwork
Receptionist (Former Employee), Claremont, CAJune 30, 2014
it was a new experience for me but I had the ability to learn new tasks and skills, my days were pretty much the same everyday which would be paper work and answering phone calls, making appointments and taking payments. My coworkers were al wonderful and were always helpful when I needed them. The hardest part was probably just having to multi task – more... but nothing I couldn't handle the things I enjoyed were just having the ability to meet and help people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful!!
Accounts Receivable Clerk / Billing Clerk (Former Employee), Orange, CAJune 10, 2014
Western Dental is an awful place to work. Making it simple, not enough hours spent teaching us the basics of what our job consist of. Making new rules out of the blue. Review's don't match out wage. I worked my butt off and no raise EVER! I was promised a increase in my hourly wages never got one. I got moved to a different department without being – more... acknowledge, and they expected me to be great at it the first week. Management is awful. They hire just anyone as a 'lead'. When I was working there my 'lead' hardly speaks english, They only put her in that position cause she has years with the company. Not fair if you been working there for ten years and don't know nothing and somehow become a 'lead' but i come and exceed everything they throw at me and are more knowledgeable than the 'lead'. To sum it up this company is no good. Most enjoyable part of this company was the potlucks within our coworkers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Office
Collector (Former Employee), orange, caJune 5, 2014
Collection dept at Corporate office it was great working for Western Dental I decided to move on and pursue my career in the IT field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work just coming out of school.
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAMay 24, 2014
Answering phones, filing, assisting doctors and patients, making charts, follow up calls, collections, scheduling, billing, and closing the officce.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was the day in the Life of a salesman looking for something new.
Telesales (Former Employee), Orange, caMay 23, 2014
Overall this job was for someone that wants a cushy sit down relaxing place from home, I am not that type of person. I wanted to be out working with my hands at this point in my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lead Receptionist
Lead Receptionist (Former Employee), Tracy, CAApril 3, 2014
• Data Entry
• Answered multi-line telephone, routed calls, and took accurate messages
• Check in Patients for their appointments; including, follow-up care calls
• Train and assist externs to learn the companies policies and procedures
• Managed a money draw for payments including cash and credit cards
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fan of this job
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Santa Ana, CAMarch 26, 2014
I will be honest, I did not like working at Western Dental. I was thrown into sales and I prefer not to work in sales. The management was horrible and the employees were very unprofessional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
receptionist/ Medi-cal clerk (Former Employee), 23185 hemlock ave. Moreno valley,CA 92557March 11, 2014
sheduled appointmets
answered phones
filed charts
took payments
prepared daily bank deposit
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Billing Receptionist (Current Employee), Tulare, CAMarch 10, 2014
Pros: helping patients out
Cons: managment
The building is divided in two departments ortho (braces) and general. If both departments are open at the same time it gets extremely busy. Both departments must work together to provide best customer service. The hardest par of the job would be management because they so not have enough incentives for their employees, at times the work required gets – more... overwhelming. Overall is a good place to work. The most enjoyable part for me is that you get to meet patients that sometimes are going thru difficulties and its great to be able to help them out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Supervisor of Collections (Former Employee), Orange, CAMarch 7, 2014
Pros: great work enviorment
Cons: revolving door policy
Great experince builder for laws and regulations for professional collection experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Payroll Clerk (Current Employee), Orange, CAMarch 1, 2014
Pros: great group of people
Cons: pay is lower than expected
Great place to work great people. Learing alot of new things. I love to learn new jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To high of a turn over in staff
RDA (Former Employee), Fairfield, CAFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: its a job
Cons: over worked, under paid
Overworked, and under paid. Over book patients giving them long wait times. Takes cash and good insurance patients first. State insurance patients are put last. Hardly allowed to take breaks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job as a dental assistant
Dental Assistant and RDA (Former Employee), Clovis, CAFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: free pizza once in a while
Cons: nothing
My typical day at work was to do x-rays on new patients. I learn so many things such as taking alginate impressions, assisting in root canal procedures and have kids as patients. The management was really nice and very polite, no complains at all. The co-workers were nice to each other, we always helped each other in case if we got too busy. The hardest – more... part is when we had to do root canals back to back. The most enjoyable part was when I had my birth day. They made a little party for me. It was very emotional. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Western Dental Review
Dental Assistant / X-Ray Technician (Current Employee), Palmdale, CAJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: excellent communication
Cons: low budget
A typical day at work including cleaning rooms and sterilizing instruments. Greeting patients and taking x-rays. Assisting the dentist during treatment. I learned how to assist during oral surgery, pediatrics, endodontics, and general dentistry. I was also able to advance my customer service skills. My co-workers and I always worked well as a team, – more... demonstrating excellent team work. The hardest part of the job was the extreme about of patients a day. Management did the best they could with what they had to work with. The hardest part of the job was having a low budget, leaving the doctors without critical instruments for treatment. The most enjoyable part of the job was satisfying the customers by working as an excellent team. I would consider my coworkers and even my patients family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly co workers, semi hostle work enviroment
Receptionist, Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Fairfield, CAJanuary 27, 2014
Everyone usually deals with the public in one way or another and like most places you will see friendly and not so friend, patients, customers or clients. Western Dental received most of the not so friendly patients, that job required thick skin and a strong personality to handled what came through the doors. I was able to learn more about insurance – more... and ordering more inventory to stock supplies for not only the doctors but the RN's and office manager and staff. The most enjoyable part of the job was the friendly co workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not work for this company
Western Dental Front Office Receptionist(Temp) (Former Employee), Santa Rosa, CAJanuary 27, 2014
Cons: short breaks and low pay
this company treats there emplyees like garbage.There is no oppertunity for advancement and i would not reccomend anyone here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 16, 2014
Great experience for first time employment. Everyone worked as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Dental Assistant (Current Employee), Madera, CAJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: company benefits, also lots of locations
Cons: low pay, no breaks, late hours
It's a love and hate relationship because if you're a new DA looking for experience than it's a great fit for you. If you have lots of dental experience than I recommend applying at a private practice. I actually enjoy my job because it's never a dull moment always busy keeping you from being bored at work. Down side the pay sucks! Also high turnover – more... rate for dental assistants but surprisingly doctors stay with the company for years. Honestly every doctor I worked with did great work and cared for there patients so that helps because as busy as it is at least you know the people you work for have morals. Bottom line it's for a person with no children and for someone in there early twenties who's fine with decent pay and long hours. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Western Dental

Need some TLC for your chompers out West? Western Dental can help if you're in Arizona, California, or Nevada. The company, which – Read more