Western Digital Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Mill Operator (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CANovember 30, 2017
interesting manufacturing processes
good people
long hours with rotating shifts
quiet break area
one free lunch per work week
OT available


poor music choice on speaker in work area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Good
PAID SOCIAL MEDIA MANAGER & PUBLIC RELATIONS (Current Employee) –  Irvine, CANovember 28, 2017
Fairly competitive with the shift in management and locations. There is always a fear we will be laid off, but that's corporate capitalism. Remain positive and you will be ok.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well Balanced
Technician IV (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CANovember 13, 2017
Management is great along with very supportive colleagues. Team bonding events are held to ensure everyone is comfortable. Schedules can be adjusted for flexibility as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be Worse
Senior Director (Current Employee) –  Irvine, CANovember 9, 2017
Could be worse but could be better. Atmosphere is very political and many managers are self-seeking. Company has been performing well and seems to be well managed. Top management is stuffed with white males.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace with ping pong table
Failure Analysis Technician IV (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CANovember 9, 2017
Typical day at work was collecting data from several test beds for the returns products from customers. Transfer data to network servers to find the root cusses and supporting engineering analysis/evaluation activities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
PAYROLL SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CANovember 6, 2017
good people to work with, and lots of overtime and travel arrangements are necessary, holidays are fun and friendly, and a very casual environment, jeans all day, lol
Pros
jeans all day
Cons
fast paced environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A short experience
SSD Firmware Engineer (Former Employee) –  Longmont, CONovember 6, 2017
I was part of a team that was dismantled less than 6 months after I was hired. As there were no jobs available at the local site, the only option to stay with the company was to move to a different state.
Pros
Cool industry
Cons
It was a short experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job but when the company is slow they lay off a lot of people
Device Manufacturer Technician (DMT) (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CANovember 6, 2017
Great job the schedule works with anything that you're doing with your in school or you're trying to get a second job the only downfall is it's a temp job so once the company slow it's a possible chance that you can get laid off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Good, but not bad Either
Staff Engineer (Current Employee) –  Milpitas, CAOctober 30, 2017
It is not a too bad place to work, but also not too good either.
Just a fair place to work with, pretty stressful and fast pace environment. 3 big company combined together, a lot of things need to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is productive job.
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAOctober 28, 2017
i enjoy my work there as i have experience to work as data entry clerk. But i have seasonal job they laid off when there is not much work to do.
we were working on the floor. it was manufacturing company and my job was to enter the entries how much work is done in my production line.
Management was good. it is very old company and has good name in market. they trained the employee so well to maintain their quality.
the enjoyable part of the job when we sits in the meetings. And management share the information about companies's financial positions and declare bonus.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my opions about my worksite.
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAOctober 20, 2017
I like to work at western digital although I have been through many sad and fun experiences such as too much pressure due to running many machines when my co-workers off or new products started on production lines.
Pros
free lunches on thankgiving, noel......days
Cons
i have no comments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
senior leadership (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAOctober 16, 2017
As a Professional Services Consultant I enjoyed my tenure on this project. The Sales organization are true professionals with great work ethics. Location is great and working hours are geared towards work life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much event for employees
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAOctober 11, 2017
The hardest part is deal with people
I learned all about the hard drives and coordinate the work plan, inventory.
The management there is not organize and fair for all the employees
Pros
Free donuts every other 2 weeks
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
OBIEE Consultant (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CASeptember 29, 2017
Western Digital Corporation is an American computer data storage company and one of the largest computer hard disk drive manufacturers in the world, along with its main competitor Seagate Technology.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work.
Technician V (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CA 95138September 26, 2017
Productive and team work ,leaned all ways work together to result
the problems. help compared to other technicians and was able to multitask and keep important jobs running during his later shift .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Sr. Hadoop Developer (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJSeptember 24, 2017
Pros
Good bonus and great team effort in the team. Also the amount of exposure that you get is great and I’m happy
Cons
The company does not provide any stocks or signing bonus which is the only disadvantage for this company. Also, since I’m in the rotation program, the yearly increase in salary is less
Advice to Management
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sending all our jobs overseas.
Technician, Level III (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CASeptember 19, 2017
Here looking for a new job after layoff in April. Spent the last 3 years dodging other layoffs but now my time is up. All our jobs have been sent overseas but we did get to pack up most of our equipment and train the new workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have no comments
Metrology maintenance (Current Employee) –  Fremont, CAAugust 25, 2017
I have no comments
I don't want to talk about this. Poor environment, bad management, stress. They lay off people many times. The night shift is from 5PM to 5am
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wafers Process
Wafer Fab. Process technician (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAAugust 19, 2017
People don't like mandatory overtime and the manager schedule over time without asking your availability. You will get write off if you don't do over time.
Pros
off four days.
Cons
mandatory O.T.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable big manufacturer
PRODUCT DESIGN ENGINEER (Current Employee) –  Fremont, CAAugust 8, 2017
Western Digital is a stable manufacturer with solid business. Work load and life balance are highly dependent on teams. Can be super busy and 24/7 on call if you are related to production line. It used to keep a start up style with fast moving attitude and less politics. However, after integration with HGST and San Disk, everything has changed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Western Digital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 234 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7