Western Express Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over the road trucking company
Driver (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJanuary 15, 2018
Drove tractor trailer over the road to pick up and deliver product to customers,did paper logs and record keeping,customer service and communication withshipper,reciever and dispatch
Pros
none
Cons
lots of sitting in parking lots waiting on loads for hours or day with no pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liars & xyz"s
Driver (Former Employee) –  Wheat Ridge, COJanuary 13, 2018
While I had my issues, I was constantly told "this our slow time"! Perhaps true or my DM was just full of BS refusing to give me loads or being his day driver in downtown LA! Being a new driver I'd ask to get out of LA for it was wasting my hours! So, I just walked off! Western Express isn't a honest outfit!
Pros
Can't think anything good about xyz's
Cons
No miles. BS DM
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job for new drivers
CDL Class A Driver (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNJanuary 12, 2018
Good first job for new drivers. OK hiring process. Had an awesome trainer. Great way to earn miles for experience. Short orientation time. It's a place to start your trucking career.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Lack of respect for new drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganized. Dont care about drivers
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Allentown, PAJanuary 6, 2018
I was recently at their orientation in Allentown P.A and was told it would be 2 days. As of the 3rd day they had all of the guys sitting at their terminal for 5-6 hours or more. As of day 4 they still didn't have a lot of our drug test back. After speaking with a local company while I was waiting I decided to leave. After being gone for 24 hours they still didn't have my drug test back and didn't even know I had left. Each time I e-mailed my recruiter Abby she could not call me just small e-mails say nothing back yet on drug test. And this was the case with other drivers even the exdperinced ones as well. Very disappointed!
Pros
None
Cons
Don't care about drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former class a driver / used to be a trainer
Driver (Former Employee) –  Northeast RegionalJanuary 6, 2018
I'm grateful for Western Express hiring me, besides that this company is for people who need a second chance into trucking, the pay sucks! My trainer told me to get my experience and get out, just a stepping stone company.
Pros
If you have CSA points they will work with you
Cons
Pay sucks, terminal sucks, not family or ordinated
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company sucks especially the one in nashville tn
Sucks (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJanuary 3, 2018
Not worth talking about it was a waist of my time they is so fake and ignorant, no intelligence. I would never recommend no one to this company. They need to be shut down and everybody needs to be arrested for fake contracts .
Pros
None
Cons
Fakeness
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Otr big trucking company. Can't expect to much
Truck driver (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CAJanuary 3, 2018
Dispatcher's in Fontana are really cool people. They will keep you moving as long as you prove yourself. Most trucks r good, no mechanical problems just not taken care of sometimes but you don't have to change trucks unless your gone for more than 4 or 5 days. You get a truck assigned. Being a trainer pays off $. It's a big trucking company like swift, cr England. But it's what u make out of it. You can gross over a thousand a week doing teams or being a trainer, it's all up to you
Pros
good starter company, amazon accounts, my first trucking job, making over 1k gross a week after getting out of trainers truck
Cons
Pay for solo drivers, breakdown pay and all the other layover pay etc., it's an otr job
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing but problems !!!!
Over The Road Driver (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNDecember 30, 2017
A typical day always started out great and ended hectic. Always looking for a place to park late at night or trying to find and empty trailer. I learned a lot about travel miles and hours, how to fix small problems with tandems and brake pressure. The hardest part of the job was sitting every weekend at a rest area or truck stop with out either a load or an empty trailer. The most enjoyable part of the job was going home, in which I rarely did.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not much to report
Driver (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNDecember 29, 2017
many obsticles and trails to move over but I did my best to get through the hard times and the challenges and the managers were over worked sometimes.
Pros
luches and parties
Cons
not really much to report
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A starter company I would say.
CDL Class A Driver (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNDecember 28, 2017
Atypical day would be trying to make a delivery which was suppose to be delivered a day or two ago. I learn that I will not suggest this company to no one I know. They were to laid back in there office bull pen. The hardest part of the job was trying to make delivery on time. there is nothing enjoyable about this company, but that's just my opinion
Pros
senerey
Cons
communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You are just a number
Company driver (Former Employee) –  Easton, PADecember 21, 2017
Western express uses you as a number if you dont agree with what they are telling you or forced extensions they make it clear that someone is waiting for your seat
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to name
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNDecember 19, 2017
great enviroment the people that ran the company had a great concern about there workers they were also very family oriented and they cared about your opinion
Pros
great co-workers
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traveling learning workplace
Flatbed Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNDecember 19, 2017
Good way to see how beautiful the country really is and get paid for doing it seeing different places also learning about the product you are hauling your delivering and what it is used for
Pros
Get free showers and food asst pilots and flying j's
Cons
Health benefits and certain miles extra pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always running and making money til you wanna go home
Driver (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNDecember 19, 2017
Good starter company coming out of school for beginner drivers and good opportunity to advance to become a trainer to make more money and have a dedicated run
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company. Treats drivers like manure
Driver (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CADecember 6, 2017
I feel Recruiters at Western are paid to and told to lie. Pay is horrible and dm's and pre planners don't care about the trucks being safe and drivers doing his/her job properly. They just want to move freight. Company does not care about driver comfort and family life and well being and drivers living and eating right on the road. Company is cheap as far as I am concerned.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
western express
Company Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNDecember 5, 2017
working for this company was a good experience but I wanted to take a chance for a better opportunity. now I am in the miami area looking for a local position that can suite me better
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and is providing experience
Class A Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  TennesseeDecember 3, 2017
The job is providing experience, my typical day includes driving to and from loads. I have become more efficient with the qualcomm. The best part about the job is being routed home.
Pros
Paycheck
Cons
Consistency
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Western Express is an average company to work for
Customer Service Representative/Call Center (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNNovember 29, 2017
Western Express had it ups and its downs. The were good days and there were bad days, A typical day usually involved arguments, some fun and a lot of work to get done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great instructors
CDL Class A Driver (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PANovember 28, 2017
Nice company to work with they are always ready and willing to give you a short to launch your driving career. i will always recommend the company to anybody who is trying to start there career in driving to roll with western express.
Pros
the hospitality
Cons
short break
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for beginner but doesn't paid trainee like they should
Driver (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNNovember 28, 2017
Western Express have plenty trips up there sleeves so be aware if you trying to work with those Cons .Those recruiter and those Dm doesn't do anything but lies , and not just that Western will try to slip in a contract that you not aware of instead of presenting it to you.Its takes up to 2 hours to get your Dm on da line if you can't get them you would have to call someone in another department to contact them ,or send someone to da weight room to find them just didn't make any sense.Then if you do get in contact with them da first thing they ask ,what's your truck number? instead of asking how are you today? What ?they don't realize is if it wasn't for da drivers they can't make money
Pros
Room has bed bugs
Cons
Don't forget to ask what is their top pay for driver and watch how they hestiate
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Western Express. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.5
Based on 393 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.3
Compensation/Benefits
2.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.5
Management
2.3
Culture
2.4